We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
03/12/2017 04/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Hostal Mamallena

    Casa 7-62 Calle Primera | Perejil, Panama City, Panama
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    03/12/2017 04/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    USD 22*
    View Deal
    Traveller (46)
    Room & Suite (9)
    Dining (1)
    Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
    1,197 reviews
    #19 of 115 hotels in Panama City
    1.5 km
     
    Waldorf Astoria Panama
    1,306 reviews
    #13 of 115 hotels in Panama City
    1.3 km
     
    Euro Hotel
    145 reviews
    #78 of 115 hotels in Panama City
    0.2 km
     
    Hotel Costa Inn
    299 reviews
    #100 of 115 hotels in Panama City
    0.2 km
     
    Overview
    • Excellent48%
    • Very good29%
    • Average14%
    • Poor5%
    • Terrible4%
    Travellers talk about
    “san blas” (56 reviews)
    “private room” (46 reviews)
    “free pancakes” (21 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast included
    Airport Transportation
    Kitchenette
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (495)
    There are newer reviews for Hostal Mamallena
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    201 - 205 of 420 reviews

    Reviewed 18 January 2014

    I stayed here for one night and it was really nice. The common room has windows and doors that are always open which is great since it's so humid. This hostel isn't the best place for meeting people. Everyone mostly kept to themselves.If I come...More

    Thank lifeisapancake
    Response from Casa762, Owner at Hostal MamallenaResponded 19 January 2014

    Hey, really glad you enjoyed the place but a shame you might not come back. Meeting people can be a hrd thing, it often depends on the group that are there and on you yourself, so its very subjective. It can be hard when you're...More

    Reviewed 15 January 2014

    This hostel disappointed in every regard. Rooms were dirty, air conditioners didn't work, staff was rude, and the location was not the best. Also, they plan trips to San Blas and other places, but use caution because they do not plan them well. Total disappointment...More

    4  Thank Alex M
    Response from Casa762, Owner at Hostal MamallenaResponded 19 January 2014

    Well, at least you are the sort of person that follows through on your word. When you threatened to put a bad review on Trip Advisor if you didn't get your way we weren't sure if you would follow through after we did all we...More

    Reviewed 10 January 2014

    friendly staff, good pancake breakfast, nicely decorated to make it a pleasant place to stay, especially in the communal areas, that offer books, films, games, and travel info. The only downside were the small rooms that were very hot and had noisy airconditioning.

    Thank Eliene V
    Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

    Great location, great vibes, great staff! And *bonus* free pancake breakfast, lots of places to chill and relax in hammocks, and tones of movies, books, with dorms or private rooms which have air conditioning!!! Definitely recommend hostel Mamallena!

    Thank RJsThoughts
    Reviewed 22 December 2013

    This review is in regard to the sailboat booking service offered by this hostel. They're probably fine if you don't have any questions beyond the information they provide, but if you do, prepare for multiple insults. They say they welcome questions, but if you dare...More

    1  Thank vamosalaplaya333
    Response from Casa762, Owner at Hostal MamallenaResponded 29 December 2013

    We're sorry that you felt this way about our service. its a shame that you didn't contact us directly so that we could find out exactly what happened and which staff member it was. Coming to us first is usually a sign that you'd like...More

    Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
    1,197 reviews
    #19 of 115 hotels in Panama City
    1.5 km
     
    Waldorf Astoria Panama
    1,306 reviews
    #13 of 115 hotels in Panama City
    1.3 km
     
    Euro Hotel
    145 reviews
    #78 of 115 hotels in Panama City
    0.2 km
     
    Hotel Costa Inn
    299 reviews
    #100 of 115 hotels in Panama City
    0.2 km
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Airport Transportation
    • Breakfast included
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 13 - USD 28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette
    • Number of rooms
    • 20
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Panama >
    • Panama Province >
    • Panama City
    • Also Known As
    • Mamallena Backpackers Panama City ,
    • Hostal Mamallena Panama/Panama City
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (46)
    Room & Suite (9)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (58)
    Family and Play Areas (7)
    Bathroom (2)
    Nearby
    Waldorf Astoria Panama
    1,306 reviews
    1.33 km away
     
    Hotel Costa Inn
    299 reviews
    .18 km away
     
    Euro Hotel
    145 reviews
    .22 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Da Stefano Trattoria
    11 reviews
    .72 km away
    Boulevard Balboa
    125 reviews
    .81 km away
    Rinos Ristorante
    52 reviews
    .29 km away
    Simplemente Frances
    18 reviews
    .36 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Cinta Costera
    1,402 reviews
    1.00 km away
    Avenida Balboa
    1,988 reviews
    .86 km away
    Iglesia del Carmen
    359 reviews
    1.26 km away
    Avenida Central
    72 reviews
    1.05 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Hostal Mamallena staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "I stayed in a private room and it was nice."
    Read review
    "maybe call ahead just enjoy?"
    Read review
    "Only book here to stay in a dorm - Look somewhere else for a private room"
    Read review
    "If you can afford the private rooms during the stay...well worth it."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing