We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Managua Backpackers Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Managua Backpackers Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Managua Backpackers Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 164: English reviews
Mayo, Ireland
Reviewed 29 May 2015 via mobile

Myself and my wife just arrived after 16 hours travelling to be left standing at the desk by the member of staff just finishing his shift. I had e mailed in the morning before we started our journey to ask if they had space for 2 people arriving late that night. While in transit I received a mail back to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DF2013
Mayo7121, Owner at Managua Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Unfortunately between the time you contacted us that day to inquire about the availability and when you arrived at the hostel later in the evening, we filled up. This is why we always recommend that our guests make a reservation at least a few days ahead of their expected arrival in order to avoid this kind of surprise. We...

St Denis, La Reunion
Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

There are some obvious good things about this hostel, such as the facilities, that you can read about in other reviews, however my friends and I had several issues during our stay. I arrived with my friend in the afternoon, and we were expecting her boyfriend on the evening flight. We had booked and paid for a $15 shuttle to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank virapira
Mayo7121, Owner at Managua Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Our sincere apologies for the problems you and your friends encountered with the shuttle. We always try our best to make sure the transport we offer is trouble-free. In this case, we certainly let your friends down. As for the drunk guy taking your bed and assaulting you, we find it completely unacceptable that this would happen in our...

Reviewed 12 May 2015 via mobile

the staff except for roberto are absolutely useless. roberto, however, is a shining gem in a pile of lumps. he is friendly, chatty, helpful and generally delighful. if he's not behind the desk, save the oxygen you would have used trying to talk to one of the other staff. the beds are comfortable, there are fans in the dorms that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank XelaGringa
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 20 April 2015 via mobile

So I went here after a trip to the hospital Vivian pellas. When I got there they were full so the guy at the reception said he didn't want me walking around the streets without a place to stay. Ok nice I appreciated that, he said I could sleep on the couch for 5 dollars. It was my birthday but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gringofuerte
Mayo7121, Owner at Managua Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Just to clarify this situation. I remember this quite clearly because we spent a lot of time that day trying to locate your phone and wallet, unfortunately without success... What actually happened though was that you were offered a couch by the evening receptionist, due to the fact that we were completely full and you had made no reservation....

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 17 April 2015

Stayed here because I was coming in late from Tica Bus, but leaving on chicken bus the next morning. It is not close to Tica, but was easy to catch a taxi to the local bus station the next morning. The dorm room was clean and cool, but didn't have screens to keep out the bugs. Walking distance to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpowell91
Reviewed 14 April 2015 via mobile

Especially after coming from EXPENSIVE Costa Rica, this was a very nice change. The hostel is full of other backpackers, welcoming and easy to talk to. The hostel offers complimentary wifi, two tvs with Netflix, computers, a big jug water to refill your personal bottles safely, a fridge, a grill, a pool, and some basic cooking ware. Not to mention...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NickyG213
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Backpackers Inn Managua First stop in Nicaragua was Managua. Not really a reccomended tourist destination but a stop along the way. A little searching and i made it to "The Backpackers Inn" Roberto at the front desk was an incredible host. With a great smile and positive attitude he quickly showed me around the place and gave me the lowdown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark c
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2015

Reading some of the previous reviews, I feel like I must have stayed in a different hostel! We arrived at around 8 in the evening as we had to get an early flight the next morning. We checked in with ease, and the room was large (4 beds, all clean, tidy with clean sheets etc.) The bathroom was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terri P
County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 8 February 2015

I only spent one night here as I was passing through and found it to be a really good hostel, not the prettiest but that's not really important. The guy who checked me in was one of the friendliest people I met on my trip. The female only dorm was a nice size and had a huge bathroom. Two fully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 345jennied
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 17 January 2015 via mobile

We arrived in the evening, after haggling with the taxi driver, who originally tried to charge us $20 for the drive. We ended up paying $8, which is still overpriced considering the short distance. There were apparently no dorms left, which was total bull****. We had just checked a few hours earlier online and saw plenty of vacant rooms available...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nicole F
Mayo7121, Owner at Managua Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

Regarding the overpriced taxi ride...this is very unfortunate, but we always recommend to our customers that they negotiate the cost of the trip before they accept the ride. $20 would have been an acceptable amount to charge from the airport for example, however it was too much to charge for a "short trip". In any case, this is between yourselves...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
3.0 km away
Hotel Los Cisneros
Hotel Los Cisneros
#49 of 52 in Managua
38 reviews
0.4 km away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
0.3 km away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 52 in Managua
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#24 of 52 in Managua
84 reviews
2.6 km away
Pandora Hostel
Pandora Hostel
#3 of 52 in Managua
44 reviews
0.9 km away
La Bicicleta Hostal
La Bicicleta Hostal
#1 of 52 in Managua
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We, the owners and staff, have created Managua Backpackers Inn to serve backpackers and budget travelers of all ages as part of our vision to offer a hostel in Managua that provides the services to support the modern traveler . Whether you're just passing through Managua at the start of your trip or if your planning on spending an extended period of time in Managua, we offer the perfect social environment for the modern traveler. We are open 24 hours/365 days and are centrally located in the heart of the new modern downtown Managua. At 'MBI', we pride ourselves on being the best option for travelers in Managua. We offer a variety of room types including private rooms and dormitories to suit any budget along with FREE WIFI and shared computers. The neighborhood surrounding MBI is very clean and secure allowing guests to explore at any time taking normal safety precautions. We are just a short walk, bus or taxi ride from all major national sights, markets, and transportation terminals. In less than 10 minutes you can walk to the MetroCentro Shopping center, cinemas, parks, casinos, supermarkets, Zona Hippos, and over 50 restaurants, bars, and nightclubs. We also offer two shared fully equipped kitchen, large swimming pool, air conditioning, CCTV cameras in public areas, Netflix movies, 7/24 airport shuttle service (must be booked in advance), FREE Pancake breakfast and much much more. We also have 'Happy Hour Everyday' FREE STUFF includes: -Swimming pool -Wireless high-speed internet -Use of shared kitchen -Netflix access -Filtered drinking water -Secure Lockers -Gas BBQ -Book exchange -All Towels and Bed linens -Use of Shared Computer Our reception staff are all local Nicaraguans and are fully bilingual and will be happy to assist you in either English or Spanish. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Managua Backpackers Inn

Address: Colonial Los Robles, 3era etapa, Casa # 56 | Monte de Los Olivos, 1 cuadra al norte (lago), 1 cuadra al oeste y ½ cuadra al norte (lago), Casa #56, Managua, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Price Range: $13 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Managua Backpackers Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Managua Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Managua Backpackers Hotel Managua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Managua Backpackers Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 month ago
Charlottesville, Virginia

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Managua Backpackers Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Watch your head! The bottom bunk in our room was a double bed. It has a bent ladder which is helpful for climbing, but I smacked my head on it in the middle of the night. My own fault, totally. Just be aware! ”
 of 5 bubbles jasonxkeller, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“wifi idoes not have a good signal only at the comun areas .”
 of 5 bubbles 634karlac, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“None I had a dorm”
 of 5 bubbles SammyBready, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check the fan.”
 of 5 bubbles J13Piper, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms (even dorms) have private toilet”
 of 5 bubbles jaraf2014, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay