Rainforest Eco Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Rainforest Eco Lodge

Princes Road Opposite Police Post, Suva, Viti Levu Fiji
Traveller (143)
Lovely dining views, and there's fish inside the quarry
Dining (29)
Swimming pool
Pool & Beach (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#5 of 16 hotels in Suva
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suva's Chill-Out destination Escape the heat, retreat from the beaches and city madness and embrace the peace & tranquillity of the Rainforest. Rainforest Eco Lodge, is located right on Princes Road, Colo-i-Suva , opposite the Police Post and next to the fabulous Colo-I-Suva Forest Park. Rainforest Eco Lodge is approximately 15kms from the airport and 9kms from Suva. Trips to town are easy, either by taxi or local bus (the bus stops right outside our door), Rainforest Eco Lodge offers a whole range of accommodation choices. And all in an unspoiled rainforest setting brimming with Fiji birdlife fully at ease in its natural habitat. With Accommodation options ranging from a simple room and shared facilities to a well-appointed Lodge and Queen-size 4-poster, you’ll feel right at home too. All accommodation is fully serviced daily and every guest has all-day access to an indoor/outdoor lounge, restaurant and bar
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
242Reviews7Q+A48Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 84
  • 71
  • 45
  • 24
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lusiana W wrote a review Jan 2024
Murray Bridge, Australia42 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a warm welcoming, with such a friendly team and under new management!
They were more than happy to help us with all our needs. Our only thing was the budget rooms can be noisy, especially during the night.

Definitely pack an extra towel for the pool & kayaking! You'll need it!

Laundry services are available, which is handy as you don't need to travel to Suva or Nausori. $15 FJD

The front desk is open until 8pm at night and carries all your extra essentials you may have forgotten.

The 8 pool table works for a bit of fun but needs updating as the wear and tear is obvious.

The Establishment Restaurant has a friendly team, they cater breakfast, lunch, and dinner. As well as room service for an additional $5 FJD. Moderately priced, and you can sit on the balcony of the pond and feed the fish.

The Eco Lodge dogs are friendly and always appreciate a bite to eat, even if it's just leftovers!! They give amazing company too!

There is also a paintball field about 5mins drive towards Nausori if you're looking for some fun with friends!

Colo-i-suva waterpool and rainforest walk is about 5mins drive towards Suva.

Nausori Markerts are worth a stop too! The biggest markets in the south pacific!!

All in all, The Rainforest Eco Lodge is the perfect place to stay in between Nausori & Suva and we would definitely recommend it!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wildlifetrekker wrote a review June 2022
Phoenix, Arizona4 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff could not have been kinder in allowing us to move from a budget room the first night into a quiet and lovely bure for the rest of the stay surrounded by beautiful tropical plants; the fan was more than sufficient to keep us cool, the bed was super comfy, and the room had a fridge, kitchen sink, bathroom, and wrap around deck. Our goal was to do some birding and we hired Vili to show us endemic birds for 2 mornings. He also took us to his village, which was an added bonus to learn about the culture. Wonderful staff members Solo and Phee (spelling) were kind enough to introduce us to kava and spent a good part of the evening telling us about kava cermony customs and answering our many questions. The ponds surrounding the lodge and restaurant added to the charm. The adjacent restaurant was a big open air traditional structure that made us feel like we were in the tropics. The restaurant staff was very friendly. The Rainforest Park is within walking distance and good place to look for birds or enjoy the pools.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Go for the quiet and tropical-feel bures rather than the budget rooms, unless you want a budget...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda J wrote a review Jan 2023
21 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was nice and quiet, even so near the city and on a busy street. The individual bungalows are tucked away nicely up a path and once you get to the door and inside you feel like you've been dropped in the middle of the rainforest. The gentleman at the front dest was incredibly kind and all of the workers that I encountered were very friendly. The windows are screens with wooden shutters which was great because you get fresh air and the rainforest sounds, but there was a family with two very loud children in a nearby bure and the noise was pretty disruptive. It is in/near the city so the hotel manager recommended I not walk alone outside of the hotel property as I was traveling alone, so I didn't make it to the nearby rainforest park. If you're traveling (especially outside the city) and you want to explore the city I would recommend renting a car during your stay here. Additionally I had a flight booked from Nadi to Suva at 7:00 one morning and the hotel manager arranged a taxi for me to leave the hotel at 4:30. When I walked to the front gate of the property the gate was locked and no one was available at the gate. The taxi also never came so I'm not sure what happened, but I wouldn't have been able to get out anyway. Make sure to work out any details like this if you have travel transfers arranged. Overall really nice and peaceful hotel with a nice restaurant and charming employees, a great place to stay and overcome my jet lag at the beginning of a Fijian vacation!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laisa Bulatale wrote a review Aug 2020
Viti Levu, Fiji77 contributions267 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
1. Morning tea and afternoon tea menu for the two days were the same thing. Sandwiches, assorted pastries and fruits. The coffee, powdered milk and sugar packets the hotel gave us looked like it had been sitting in the cupboard for months. We had to ask them to give us a packet of milk and sugar in a container.

2. The lunch menu for the first day looked okay on paper but it was terrible when you actually eat it. The rice was soggy which clearly indicated that whoever cooked it didn't know how to cook rice. There was too much water in the rice. The sweet and sour fish dish (don't ever order it), it had a odd after taste and the sauce tasted really bad. The chicken they served was too tough. The only dish I ended up eating was their wedges and salad. Day 2 lunch menu was better. They switched the fish and sour dish to fried fish and tata sauce, and the rice was cooked better.

3. Our interns stayed the night at the lodge and overheard some white lady who I'm assuming is of some managerial role say "oh those terrible people from....." and mentions the organisation I'm from. As customers, we shouldn't have to hear a person whom we are giving a business too, more so during this COVID-19 time, say things like that. That's just being rude and honestly, to this date, we dont know what we did to even deserve such comments. If the lodge is angry that we made a constructive criticism about how you could make your lunch menus better, then that's on you because your food was below standard.

Overall experience: unsatisfactory.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, Owner at Rainforest Eco Lodge
Responded 5 Aug 2020
Thank you for your review. It’s sad that you did not make any attempt to talk or discuss with management any of your issues when you were here – and that you had every opportunity as your group was here for two days with three participants as house guests for four nights? Nevertheless, although we are not 5 star and have never professed to be so, we are professional, clean, and provided excellent services - whilst other social media posts back this up - we have great reviews, obviously you were not happy; but to set the record straight – not one comment to management while you were here? We have called the agency that made your booking and we have expressed our disappointment in the manner in which a representative of a “rights group” chose to become a keyboard warrior rather than discuss any or all concerns with us directly - Trial by social media is grossly unfair and unethical. Our stock does not sit in the cupboard for months, unfortunately given the rainforest’s high humidity/climate here packets can become damp – management was unaware there was a problem with this but on investigation staff dealt with this quickly and efficiently. As a matter of routine my co-owner and I always taste the food that is served on a buffet and – strangely enough, commented that day on how tasty the chicken and fish was! We found nothing wrong with the rice or any other dish. On extended meetings there are lunch menu options and the second day menu of fish and chicken was chosen specifically by your group. It is our personal rule to check with guests that the food is satisfactory, if for any reason management is off the premises then staff will do this for us – on both days we were assured your group was happy. Your racist overtones (we object to the reference to as ‘some white lady who I am assuming is of some managerial role’) – is unbecoming of the Women’s Rights Group you represent. The person, is the owner and always jokes with guests in a similar fashion and it has never been taken in the wrong way or as being offensive. Our Duty Manager – a Female - was with her when this happened and has confirmed this. Interestingly, in the comment ‘whom we are giving a business too’ as I am sure the writer did not contribute in any way to the cost of the meeting, we have also know she was not present at the time the alleged offensive comments were made – but then posted a derogatory comment purely on hearsay. As we say, let’s not let the truth get in the way of a good story.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul M wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been staying at the Raintree on and off since 2005. It has gone through some challenging periods. I can state after my trip this month it is back on top of the game!
Raintree has a range of options from budget to "full" fare and I have stayed in all of them . I travel for business and this location is quiet yet very close to all the destinations I need to visit in Suva. Typically nowhere in Suva is more than 30 minutes away (rush hour excepted!).
The new staff are excellent and the split business format (Restaurant is a different business unit) took a minute or 2 to figure out the service and quality was good.
I was saddened to discover the original builder/owner Tom Davis had passed away last year but if he is watching from somewhere he will be happy it is in good hands!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: In summer time the air conditioned room makes for a more comfortable stay.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bran Ka wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently went to Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort in Fiji from Melbourne for a holiday and I was very disappointed with the service I received. Originally, the room we booked was supposed to be something completely different than we got when we arrived there in the middle of the night! After one hour of discussion with the staff member, we got another room, a bit better but still not the one that we paid for. Plus the hygiene all around the whole place including the rooms was very poor! The next day they give us the room that we have paid for, and we stayed there for three days, after which they moved us again to the previous room!! I was very angry and I asked for a refund, I didn't want to stay there anymore, but the same staff member, I think he is the manager of the place, he said no! Then we booked a room in another hotel by ourselves in the city and on our way out from Colo I Suva Resort, the same stuff member asked us for $100 for the covid tests that he never used on us. He was supposed to test us a few times but he didn't, and then at the end, he asked us to pay for something we never got!!! Disgusting, rude, and disrespectful. In the end, after discussion we paid and we left. I definitely would NOT recommend this place to anyone.” - Bianca
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joanna wrote a review Mar 2022
16 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Pied-a-terre was not clean and dust everywhere. Soap residue in the shower and hairs. When cleaning staff came around to fix it they didn't even bother using cleaner, just a brush. Shower didn't have warm water and leaked.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Request for a bure
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AnnikaSund wrote a review Nov 2022
Gothenburg, Sweden26 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff was friendly but our room was really bad. Smelly (sweat and smoke), no air con, shared balcony with two other rooms, extremely hard and uncomfortable pillows, old smelly blankets and the toilets were in another building on the first floor (our room was on the second floor). Restaurant was overpriced for the location and the quality and the sizes of the food. Pool was closed our whole stay. The pond on the back was course but we do not recommend this place even if staff was nice. Sorry.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Georgina W wrote a review Apr 2024
Melbourne, Australia127 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my friend came to stay for a few nights - a big contrast to a resort stay, in the best way. We stayed in a spacious lodge with air con. We had a view of the lake, on which you can kayak for free! The staff were all very friendly, and the food we enjoyed at the restaurant was delicious.

Only a short walk from Colo-I-Suva rainforest park, this accommodation was so peaceful.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neil S wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The place needs considerable maintenance, but the manager is onto it. Broken beds were replaced, but still not particularly comfortable. Basic rooms, ceiling fan working OK. Shared shower and toilet area (also needing maintenance) a bit of an inconvenience at night. Pleasant surrounds with view of pond and vegetation. Not much else available in Suva at the price on offer here. Cool breeze on the deck of the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Brian R
Suva, Central, Fiji12 contributions6 helpful votes
We did answer your question - i am not sure why it is still showing unanswered. please email us anytime - search for our website look for Colo-I-Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
Answer from wmef4d
Novato, California34 contributions20 helpful votes
One of the queens is air conditioned with private patio. We preferred the queen will loft bedroom. Although it only had a fan it was much cuter and roomier and cheaper. Both had private bathroom. Be sure to hike rainforest park across the street
Suva, Fiji2 contributions
Dear Dawn, we have been in contact with you and we confirm that a management review of the issues has assisted in resolving the matter - we again apologise for our staffs laps of service on this occasion but we do hope that we will be given an opportunity to welcome you back again some time soon
Suva, Fiji2 contributions
Hi, thank you for your questions, Taxi's are relatively cheap in Fiji, a taxi from our Resort to Suva is approx FJD$18 to $20 - make sure you have the taxi put in his meter on, Buses are very cheap, we have a bus stop directly outside the door of the Resort, week days & Saturdays they travel every 20 min between 6:30am to 6:00pm then every 40 min or so until about 9:30pm ( Sundays they travel at about 40min intervals) , Bus fares are FJD $1.15 and the express bus is FJD$2.00 per person - the bus ride to Suva is about 20-25min if you need any more information please contact us - we'd be happy to help
Zariyah A asked a question Apr 2017
5 contributions12 helpful votes
are pets allowed and whats the price?
Suva, Fiji2 contributions
Dear Traveler, Unfortunately, unless its a service animal (guide dog etc), health and Liquor licensing regulations forbid pets to be allowed in our accommodation, food and guest traffic areas in our Resort.
wildlifetrekker wrote a tip June 2022
Phoenix, Arizona4 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for the quiet and tropical-feel bures rather than the budget rooms, unless you want a budget room that overlooks the pond."
Read full review
Paul M wrote a tip May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"In summer time the air conditioned room makes for a more comfortable stay."
Read full review
Joanna wrote a tip Mar 2022
16 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request for a bure"
Read full review
Mesu wrote a tip Mar 2022
Suva, Fiji1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask/ Book for a room with balcony"
Read full review
F B wrote a tip Feb 2022
Roissy-en-France, France13 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't rely on the pictures provided by the hotel.....very misleading"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Suva area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$44 - AU$88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Raintree Lodge
LOCATION
FijiViti LevuSuva
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RAINFOREST ECO LODGE (AU$44): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Suva, Fiji) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Rainforest Eco Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Rainforest Eco Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Colo-I-Suva Forest Park (0.5 km), Indulge Wines Fiji (centre Point) (5.5 km), and Fiji Coffee (7.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rainforest Eco Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Rainforest Eco Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Rainforest Eco Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rainforest Eco Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eden Bistro & Bar, The Galley, and Rudy's Italian Trattoria & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rainforest Eco Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Rainforest Eco Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Does Rainforest Eco Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars