Dolphin Island
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Dolphin Island

Traveller (10)
Guest Bure Suite
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#64 of 99 hotels in Viti Levu
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located just 20 minutes by boat from shore, on the tip of Viti Levu, Fiji, Dolphin Island nestles like a precious jewel, surrounded by crystal-clear waters. Following arrival at Nadi International Airport, guests can travel for 2.5 hours by private car (included within tariff), or choose to transfer by float plane or helicopter to Dolphin Island. The island's own private boat will then transfer guests to their own private island retreat where on arrival, they will be immediately enveloped by the beauty and luxurious accommodation that awaits.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Infinity pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Boating
Babysitting
Kids pool
Spa
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Diving
Hiking
Snorkelling
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Walking tours
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour check-in
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Room service
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Seating area
Separate living room
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English

Location

20 Minutes Off Rakiraki, Viti Levu Fiji
11Reviews2Q+A2Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Darren E wrote a review July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Starting with the booking process, the service was great. They organized memories that no one can ever take away from us. The Nabelasere Waterfall, the diving and especially Dolphin Island. All very special. If you want a first class vacation where you will be pampered and cared for, this is a great place to do that. However. that description does not do the Dolphin Island experience justice. It is authentic. There are so many places in this world that you can just throw money to get great service surrounded in a bubble. The experiences at Dolphin Island embrace not only the beauty of Fiji but also the inner beauty of its people. Dawn and her team are amazing and real people. They made my daughter feel like the smartest and most beautiful young woman on this planet. If you want real and not just a place to throw your wallet, this is the place. If you treat the people with kindness and respect, you may he amazed at what you get back-something that money cannot buy. Thank you Dawn, Susan and the team.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susan Magi, Marketing at Dolphin Island
Responded 17 July 2022
Darren and Emily thank you so so much for your very kind world it was wonderful to welcome you to the island and work with you form the beginning to make this a special holiday for you both. Take care and look forward to seeing you again in the future, kindest regards Susan, Dawn and team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stewart H wrote a review Mar 2024
Hamilton, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to Dolphin Island for our 30 th wedding anniversary. 6 nights of luxury and we cannot recommend the resort enough. Dawn, Maxine, Bunny and the crew looked after us so well, attentive to our needs but not overly so.

The food was truly excellent, the only problem being we ate too much of Dawn’s cooking, and probably put on a number of kilograms. The accommodation and combined areas are lovely, sunsets, snorkeling and the serenity cannot be matched.

We loved it so much we’re going back next year.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susan Magi, Marketing at Dolphin Island
Responded 6 Mar 2024
Stu, we are thrilled you both had such a great trip. It was a pleasure to welcome you, thank you for the review and yes Dawn's cooking can be a problem, a good problem to have - we would love to welcome you back for your 31 ST year, kindest regards Susan and team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RelaxWithMax wrote a review Apr 2012
Melbourne, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In The Beginning..................

And on the eighth day God Created Dolphin Island and then he looked at it and said " let there be the finest of hospitality staff in all the world working here" and it was done, then God said " let there be seven star accommodation, the finest of which shall manifest there and let there be an abundance of the most delicious plants and sea creatures drawn to this island for man to harvest" and it was done - it was all done !! and then God rested again................

In The year 2012.............................

Our two helicopters had been flying in close formation on the 30 minute flight from Nadi international airport to Dolphin Island, along the way below us we saw the lush tropical foliage which typified the Viti Levu landscape as we darted over" the gap" and the ranges towards the north of the Island.

On the last leg we followed the coastline, the bright, tranquil waters of the Pacific glistening a beautiful Gold reflection in the setting sunlight below us.

Finally, we cleared the north end of the Island and we came in low over the water to land at Dolphin island. Chopper one made a direct approach, while chopper two banked and completed a right hand orbit of the Island before settling on the pristine sandy beach. - We had arrived !!

My wife and I have visited Huka Lodge in Taupo NZ several times and found it to be one of the most wonderful places in the world that we have visited.- So when a special invite arrived in the mail from Alex van Heeren, founder and owner of the Huka retreats, suggesting that we try sister property Dolphin Island, we thought why not !

As the choppers dusted off and cleared the LZ's, the dulcet tones of local Fijian's singing to welcome us soon filled the air. Dolphin Island manager Dawn Simpson welcomed us all and informed us "you are home now" - We soon found out what this meant.

It takes you a little while to realize what is happening on Dolphin. It is nothing like going to a hotel or resort, instead it is a life experience. - First, you must adopt outside in thinking in order to understand your situation. - By that i mean you have to forget everything you understand about being a hotel or resort guest and start again. - This is because, the normally twenty strong staff in attendance when the Island is occupied have only one purpose whilst you are on the Island - You !

To put it simply, a visit to Dolphin Island is like hiring or owning your own private island with a luxury resort on it and then hiring 20 experienced and highly professional hospitality staff to look after you whilst you stay there. That is In addition to buying or hiring all the toys that you may wish to play with whilst on the Island !

Dolphin is a private Island of 13 acres. You can book between 1 and 8 people to stay there at a time, regardless of how many in your group you will have exclusive use of the Island. Even if only 2 of you book, nobody else can book to stay whilst you are there despite there being more capacity.

It forms the Fijian arm of the three Huka retreats owned by Dutch businessman Alex van Heeren. Mr Van Heeren is a banker with interests in a variety of businesses globally including several merchant shipping lines. - He prides himself on creating resorts which deliver what many fine resorts aspire to achieve but cannot. - The promise of an emotional reward for those who partake in their offerings.

The guest list at the "Flagship " Huka Lodge NZ stands testament to the standards of excellence guests can expect in his establishments. - The guest list from this wonderful place is littered with royalty and dignitaries from all over the world, HRH Queen Elizabeth 2, Bill Gates, Rupert Murdoch, Bette Middler, just to name a few.

Mr Van Heeren acquired Dolphin Island in 1984 along with two other parcels of land on Islands nearby.

On Dolphin, everything revolves around you. Meals, entertainment, what time you want things is the time they are delivered. - The things you want that is, not what they want you to have. Everything you want is brought to the Island, you don't have to go anywhere for anything. - Want jet skis? - They bring them to the Island for you to use. Want to water ski, same thing. Your music is played, you pick. your favourite food? they cook it for you on demand. - You want, they get, you have. - No problem.

Every morning around 5.00AM the Dolphin army arise. Beaches are raked, lawns are raked, sun lounges appear on the beach, by the pool, in front of your Bure. Fresh beach towels adorned with freshly pick flowers are rolled up by the dozen and deployed near sun lounges everywhere. Eskies fully stocked with ice, alcohol and soft drinks are rolled out to the beach sun lounges ready for use if required, kayaks, catamarans, flippers, snorkels, wet suits, life jackets - all rolled out and set up on the beach whether or not you need them or want them, paths are swept, pillows fluffed, everything is pristine and ready for use before you get up.

Breakfast. - This occurs when you get up, early or late it doesn't matter, staff are ready and waiting, just for you. As soon as you sit down you are greeted and served. Feel like pancakes today? - no problem, eggs benedict? of course, fresh tropical fruit, cereals, yogurts, leg of lamb if you like ?? - Woteva ! you can have it, hot breakfast cooked to order right then and there, no waiting.

Once staff see you are eating, this is when your suite will be made up and completed by the time you finish eating. - Doesn’t matter what time you eat they just wait. - Any laundry? - This will be taken and cleaned and pressed and returned a few hours later.

After breakfast, the Roman orgy of food that will become your lunch is discussed. - Every meal is a Roman orgy of food here - Unless you say otherwise of course !

There are no menus on Dolphin, just tell us what you want. One day i mentioned that i liked a particular crab linguini dish that one of my favourite restaurants served so they rang them up, got the recipe and made it for me for lunch that day !

Two chefs run the Kitchen with support from as many staff as they need to "fetch things" for us that we want to eat from the main land.

They have fishermen on staff whose job it is every day is to catch what we ordered for our next meal !

Typically, we ate a lot of coral trout, reef cod, crabs, crayfish, prawns, squid, Tuna, served in a variety of different ways, with a variety of different supporting salads, vegetables, rice, breads, etc. - Not to mention the accompanying Vintage French champagne and matching vintage wines by the gallon of course !

In addition, we requested Indian food one night, no problem ! - Lamb Korma, Butter chicken, naans, Dahl soup, sizzling garlic prawns, woteva you want.

Plenty of meats in various varieties of styles available as well. – In addition Thai, Japanese, you name it they cook it !

The chef's not only cook delicious meals of five star restaurant quality, but in addition they are quite healthy in the style that they cook them ( unless you want otherwise), so whilst you are gorging yourself on food, you are at least eating a balanced healthy, nutritious delicious meal !

The suites: beautiful Bure's form the accommodation. Two buildings each side of the main Bure house two couples suites each. Each suite consists of a bedroom with a comfy King size bed and refrigerated A/C. These overlook the ocean and have bi fold doors which open up on cooler nights. The Bure's are decorated by the same interior designer who created the Huka lodge suites and everything in the interior just works and they have a soft inviting feel of ambience. Cathedral ceilings throughout in in the Bure's create a feeling of spaciousness.

As you walk through from the bedroom towards the bathroom suite a huge open wardrobe situated on each side provides plenty of room for his and her individual clothing requirements, past that lies the bathroom which has individual vanity basins and mirrors on each side adorned by beautiful furnishings and soft sandstone tones. - Power points, mirrors, hair dryers and amenities are placed in each vanity area. Just behind them, a huge bath sits in the middle of the floor, further on bi fold doors open up to a tropical courtyard which is fully tiled and features a rainforest style outdoor shower. - Many happy mornings spent here in my private rainforest, surrounded by tropical plants and birds having a high pressure shower using my coconut/Pineapple scented scrub ! - Deluxe !

There is also a Bure situated at the far end of the island. It features a four poster bed with silk mosquito nets and has its own shower and rest room. a lounge area sits in front of the bed area. The Bure takes advantage of the rising sun and you can lay in your king size bed and watch the sun come up. Staff equippe the outdoor Bure with lanterns, candles, drinks in eskies and food if you require. - It is very private and romantic.

The grounds are beautiful. Manicured, lush green lawns flow around the main bure and in the evening oil lanterns start appearing by battalions. Ground staff bring these out on trollies every night and place them all over the jetties, lawn, pool sitting area and around the accommodation Bure's. - There are Hundreds of these sprawled all over the property brightly flickering during the night.

The main Bure is used for meals and entertainment, or just sitting around relaxing any time of day or night. Fijian tapestries adorn the entire Cathedral style ceiling and stylish and comfy furniture is strategically placed in it to provide separate areas for reading, sitting and watching the ocean roll by, watching the wide screen TV or eating meals on the large dinner table situated near the bar and kitchen. Interesting and unusual books fill shelves and litter coffee tables. Bi fold doors surround it and it can be as open or closed as you like. The main Bure never closes and we spent nights sitting up listening to music and talking, playing monopoly, watching movies and reading. – Whilst in the main Bure you have full access to the wine fridges, main fridges and pantry and you just help yourself to whatever you want day or night because everything is included. – No pesky mini bars to refill, no bar accounts to be set up. Once you are there you just have whatever is there at your leisure, that is on those rare occasions when the staff do not serve it to you. – Just like being at your own home !

The staff: Before leaving Dolphin we were asked to write in the guest book. First we read it from cover to cover. The underlying theme of all of the comments was the warmth and affection that each of the guests felt towards the staff. After staying there ourselves we could easily see why and agree.

The manager Dawn Simpson is not only an exceptional front of house manager, in addition she would have to be one of the most beautiful human beings that we have ever met. She has an inner beauty and kindness that draws you to her. Together with her staff they reminded us all just how wonderful human beings can be when they set their minds to it. In a helter skelter world filled with self-interest and violence it was refreshing and humbling to meet some fellow human beings that reminded us of the qualities that we all strive to project and possess. Warmth, kindness, humility, dignity, respect for self and others but to name a few.

Some of the many,many examples of the staff going the extra mile would have to be firstly the extravaganza that became my wife’s birthday party whilst we were there. Not only did the staff unleash a surprise evening fireworks display on the beach that would rival NYE in Melbourne, but all during the day various surprises in the form of thoughtful gestures were afforded to her that topped up the seafood feast on the floating Jetty complete with Fijian singers that was already in play. – A birthday she will never forget.

One morning I was looking a bit flat after breakfast ( nothing to do with going to bed at 3.30AM with a few bottles of Chardonnay on board I’m sure !). Dawn immediately sensed I wasn’t right and no sooner had I migrated to the beach lounges with the family Dawn re appeared with Leila, one of the Fijian ladies on staff. Dawn advised me that Leila was going to give me a pressure point massage on my hands and feet whilst she ground up some local plants for me to drink to “settle my petals “ – Within 30 minutes I was feeling much better !

Sitting around the pool one afternoon, we started talking about feeling a bit peckish. – 5 minutes later a staff member appeared with a large platter of nibbles ! – That’s what they do ! – They are always near you without being intrusive but watching and listening to see if there is anything you need and providing it. They actually try to anticipate what you might want next and offer it to you before you ask for it !

Late one afternoon we thought it would be nice to get a bottle of French bubbles and walk up to the Bure at the end of the island and have a twilight drink. Before we knew it Dawn had mobilized a catering advance party to head up there and set up candles, lanterns, mosquito traps, ice buckets filled with French Bubbles and other beverages and a three piece band to sing to us. – All this before I had a chance to walk up from the pool and arrange a bottle myself. – Gob smacked once again at how they had immediately acted on what one of us had suggested might be nice.

In summary, the whole experience there reminded me of a number of things that I hold dear. Not the least of these being, Family is sacrosanct, friendship is everlasting and money is only worth the pleasure it brings you. – That’s what I mean by a visit to Dolphin a life experience. Dolphin Island is a place that brings families closer together and reminds you of what is required in order to be a decent human being.

As with any good business, it is not the bricks and mortar that make or break it, it is the culture of the staff that work within the business and Dolphin Island staff set new benchmarks for this that leave most other places light years behind. – This, for us was the secret ingredient that set Dolphin apart from others.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Just Go - Thats the Tip !!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
islander02 wrote a review Aug 2017
Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose Dolphin Island over other Fiji destinations with high expectations given it's association with Huka Lodge NZ. It did not deliver though. The staff were lovely and attentive, the interior decorating impressive, but it stops there. The owners of the island seem happy to receive income without commitment to their Huka Lodge standards. Gastroenteritis/food poisoning on day 6/7 made the situation worse and plans to travel home impossible. Very disappointing and we will not return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tash L, General Manager at Dolphin Island
Responded 29 Aug 2017
Dear islander02 We thank you for your review and honesty we were surprised by the content given that we have always had such positive feedback about experiences at Dolphin Island; reinforced by a loyal number of return guests. Whilst we do have a sister property in New Zealand we are proud to offer at Dolphin Island an authentic and truely Fijian experience which showcases the very best produce, seafood and service that Fiji can offer. I also understand that you were unwell on your last night with us, of course this was unfortunate and I am gratified to hear that we were able to secure a doctor at short notice. Although the nature of this illness may never be determined, we trust it was a quick recovery. In closing I have observed that your review history, notes similar comments in what we consider a similar level of quality property in Fiji. I would like to politely suggest that if you are considering a future stay you contact us so that we can determine the best way to deliver the experience you desire. Kerry Molloy General Manager The Huka Retreats
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Doug L wrote a review Sept 2016
Sydney, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My Wife and I have recently returned from Dolphin Island and trying to explain it to other people really does not do it justice, in fact trying to write a review will probably not do it justice but here we go. Arriving by seaplane we were greeted at the jetty by the delightful Dawn and the rest of the staff. I enquired as to how many other guests were staying on the Island only to find out that we had misunderstood the situation and we were the only guests on the island !!.
Dawn explained that we were "home" and to treat the resort as such. Suffice it to say after we had been taken to our absolutely exquisite room and had then sat own to a beautiful prepared lunch and subsequently had kicked back enjoying a very nice Chardonnay staring out across the bay we really started to get our minds around the situation.
Dawn explained that breakfast was when we wanted it, lunch was when we wanted it and dinner was when we wanted it and anything we wanted in between was by no means a problem.
We stayed at the resort for 4 days and 5 nights and the days just rolled beautifully along with exquisite meals, beautiful wines, fantastic service and just a general dose of Fijian charm at it best.
My wife and I have been fortunate to stay in some very fine resorts and hotels all around the world but this place is something else. The attention to detail is as good as it gets, the accommodation is absolutely first class as is the main Bure at which you take your meals, relax on the lounge, make a menace of yourself around the kitchen and lounge by the pool.
All of the staff were lovely and I wish I could have taken Vulo home as I got very used to the endless glass of wine served with a smile and a laugh !!.
On the last night we were treated to our own private Fijian dance display and a fabulous traditional feast which really topped off what was a magical magical stay.
Noone could write a review about this place however without making special mention of Dawn. What a host.
Gracious, professional, warm, hilariously funny and the most amazing cook.................she's got the lot.
Not a lot more we can say other than just go there and find out for yourself. You simply could not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jason G wrote a review Aug 2016
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose Dolphin Island as the place to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary along with some close friends. It was an unforgettable experience, one that will truly be remembered for years to come. The accommodation is first class, the food unbelievable but most of all the staff and attention to detail is second to nothing I have experienced before. I can not speak highly enough of the resort and its people. Stunning in every way..........!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leah W wrote a review Nov 2016
Los Angeles, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dolphin Island is a magical place. It is a private island paradise, with a max of 8 (4 rooms) total. The magic of DI, is the staff - namely Ms. Dawn, who is an absolute gem of a General Manager. She takes such amazing care of the guests and makes sure that every details is managed to create a perfect experience for you. The rooms are wonderful - well furnished, comfortable. The bathrooms are wonderful too. Large tubs, outdoor shower option. The food is exceptional and the decor of the main living area (public area) is just exquisitely decorated with artifacts and tasteful decor. There are wonderful water activities included on property and a lovely traditional performers that come the night prior to departure to entertain. Dolphin is truly a wonderful getaway for those seeking privacy and small, intimate setting. Perfect for family reunions or couples that want to get away - and have a 'buyout" of the property. It's amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: There are 4 rooms! None is a bad room! All heavenly!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Traveler400584 wrote a review Nov 2016
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We began our honeymoon at Huka Lodge then headed to Dolphin Island. We stayed with Dawn and her crew for 4 days during our honeymoon. We have been all over the world and this was our best experience to date.

Dawn and Vulo were true gems. Between the amazing lobster tails at every meal to the over the top breakfast display, this team makes you feel blissful and relaxed.

If you are looking for a perfect getaway Dolphin Island is for you.

Highlights:
-stunning rooms that are cleaned and maintained multiple times a day
-tapas fabric making class
-food! Food! Food!
-hand-line fishing experience
-island snorkeling and kayaking
-friendly and welcoming staff that makes you feel right at home
-weather
-Fiji dancers performing
-we could go on and on

We will be back next year for our anniversary!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
golfatola wrote a review Apr 2018
phoenix
5.0 of 5 bubbles
But the star of the show is Dawn. She runs the place and nobody does it better. Whatever you want, Dawn will make it happen. Loved the paddleboards, snorkeling, and little sailboat. Right out your front door. The island had been hit by a severe hurricane and foliage had been greatly impacted. But by now it is surely back. We visited in November 2016!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tash L, Sales and Marketing at Dolphin Island
Responded 22 Apr 2018
Dear Golfatola, Many thanks for your kind feedback, we truly appreciate you taking the time and will be sure to pass this onto Dawn and the team at Dolphin Island. We look forward in having you stay again at Dolphin Island. Best Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marisaforestry wrote a review Aug 2016
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
To stay at Dolphin Island you basically book the whole island out - it can fit up to 8 people but I stayed with just one other person and had it all to ourselves. The rooms are brilliant - we stayed in a gorgeous bure which was beautifully decorated in turquoise, white, washed wood, shells and had a huge bed. The bathroom was also fantastic as it has two sides with incredible mirrors made out of shells, a bath in thee centre which allows you to look out onto the sea and an outdoor shower as well as indoor. The central building is both gorgeous and cosy with huge sofas inside, dining both in and out and then it goes out into a private infinity pool and soft bed sun loungers.

Nothing was disappointing about Dolphin Island - they were still recovering from the major cyclone in terms of land repair but that did not detract from the beauty - turquoise sea all around, mountains in the distance, great look outs with views for miles and lots of different places to sit and take it all in. Everywhere you go there are towels, drink coolers filled and equipment for snorkelling etc.

The best bit is the hospitality all run by a last called Dawn who is charming, organised and seems to telepathically know what you want. She is an excellent cook even managing to cater for my vegan diet despite late notice and my companion had the best fish, prawns and so on and endless amounts of it. We felt like we did not stop eating for our entire stay! Dawn was brilliant at knowing when to be around and when not to be so we felt like we had privacy and yet she catered for us consistently.

Dolphin Island is not cheap but it fully lives up to expectations and if you spend the money you will come back feeling it was well spent and that you have created some unforgettable memories. I would fully recommend a night here so you can experience living like royalty in your own island with everything you could wish for.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hankbauer asked a question Feb 2017
Castle Rock, Colorado275 contributions194 helpful votes
Is snorkeling available?
Answer from Karien v
George, South Africa173 contributions24 helpful votes
Yes Dolphin Island offers snorkeling. With an own private island as a playground guests often do not feel the need to ever leave. A Hobie cat, sea kayaks and snorkelling equipment is available on Dolphin Island for guests to use. Aquatic adventures abound, with warm, clear waters and coral reefs providing the perfect habitat for amazing marine life and the surrounding area has some of the best diving in Fiji, with divers travelling from all over the world especially to experience it. Guests can snorkel, tank dive, swim and fish with carefully selected operators whose local knowledge is invaluable. Cultural visits to nearby villages and areas of historical interest can be arranged, as can pampering massages and facials. Cultural lessons Guided walks/tours Kava ceremony Kayaks Musical And Cultural Entertainment Sailing – Hobiecats Snorkelling
Malsywalsy asked a question Nov 2016
Sydney, Australia56 contributions79 helpful votes
Hi do you have facilities for kids or are kids allowed. Our kids are 5,7,9
Answer from Karien v
George, South Africa173 contributions24 helpful votes
The Island is perfect for children as you have the island exclusively to yourselves. All activities are tailored to your needs and the children can also be taken care of by the team. Included in the rate are the following; paddle boards, kayaks, snorkeling and hobie cats. May I suggest you have a look at the website or contact us directly to help further. Regards
Leah W wrote a tip Nov 2016
Los Angeles, California39 contributions71 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are 4 rooms! None is a bad room! All heavenly!"
Read full review
RelaxWithMax wrote a tip Apr 2012
Melbourne, Australia401 contributions171 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just Go - Thats the Tip !!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Viti Levu area.
LOCATION
FijiViti Levu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DOLPHIN ISLAND - 2024 Reviews (Fiji/Viti Levu) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Dolphin Island
What are some of the property amenities at Dolphin Island?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Dolphin Island?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, extra long beds, and a pool view.
What food & drink options are available at Dolphin Island?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dolphin Island?
Yes, guests have access to an infinity pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Dolphin Island?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Dolphin Island have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Viti Levu HotelsViti Levu Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Viti Levu
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars