We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Club Raro

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Club Raro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Club Raro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 156: English reviews
nz
Reviewed 4 May 2015

if you are on a budget then this is the place for you. Rooms basic but were clean. did not eat here as we were always out. We had a garden room at the back which was quite. We rented a car which we needed as when to other side of island to snorkel and not much to do at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank leighNz
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana leightNz, Club Raro is a great base to stay if you are around and about most of the time. We offer rental cars and scooters at reception which is just a call away from booking. The location of Club Raro gives that advantage of being is great places within minutes.... Muri Beach - 7 mins and Town, 3...

auckland
Reviewed 26 April 2015

Who hasn't heard of Club Raro? Well I would never had checked in here but my bookings were muddled! So I checked into the nearest place. The service was not particularly friendly in the first instance. The evening staff much nicer. However, as time went on and they recognised me, it thawed. Room 15 was an upgrade. I'd hate to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jen101Auckland
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana jen101Auckland, Thank you for your comments and honest feedback. The Manager has personally taken your comments on board and is working with the housekeeping staff to better the service which is standard internationally. Our goal is always to improve and rectify our service downfalls. We thank you for your comments as this will help to improve us. Our...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 April 2015

Club Raro is motel-style accommodation at best, definitely not a resort (some of the locals referred to it as a backpackers). Thankfully our stay there was for a business trip, so we didn't have to spend any time there, or foot the bill. The place is very run down. The pool was dirty and surrounded by uneven and cracked tiling,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sagittariustravels
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana SagitariusTravel, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you have given us honest feedback and will take these issues on board. We are a basic hotel which caters to budget conscious that want a resort & room with basic needs, restaurant & bar, pool, amazing views and lovely staff. Our product serves its purpose well, but we...

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 April 2015

Nice place, not too busy as it is not a huge commercial Hotel like some on the island. You would be hard pressed to complain. A swimming pool with swim up bar and nobody in it. I loved it. Would rather a place like this in Raro than a busy noisy bustling place. If you want flash and expensive, this...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Surpha
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Im glad you enjoyed you stay in our basic holiday hotel. We tick to box for basic holiday and that is our specialty. Location is perfect, close to town and muri beach! Our breakfast is basic, but you can take advantage of asking the chef to do something different for you. They can do that on request. Check...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2015 via mobile

"Arrive as a guest, leave as a friend" - very true! I stayed here for a week, two years ago. Loved the place! There is a lot of ants, but they are not limited to Club Raro. The staff were very friendly throughout my stay. The rooms were very tidy and comfortable. The food and drinks were delish! This time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Te-Hirata
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana Te-Hirata, Thank you for returning. We are glad you came back and it was lovely to see you again. Our product has improved hugely from what we had a couple of years ago and we are going around, doing more to make it better. Im so glad you loved your stay again and hope to see you back!...

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 April 2015 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for 6 weeks while on a student placement. We had one of the studio apartments which fitted us and suited is well. Whenever we had any questions or if something was missing or broken, it was quick to be replaced or fixed. Loved the swim up bar, which is a special feature of the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank oliviasian
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana oliviasian, Glad you had a perfect holiday. As a return guest you now have access to return guest bonuses when you come for another holiday with Club Raro. contact Mili in reservations and she will hook you up with that. We look forward to having you visit again Regards Charleen Heather

Reviewed 6 April 2015

We have not long returned from our stay at Club Raro and all I can say....it was perfect for us. The food you could not fault, definitely got your moneys worth there. Happy hour at the pool bar...love it. Cocktails were yummy especially the pissed parrot. As for swimming in the ocean at the resort, we spent an afternoon snorkelling...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank chrissyaw
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana chrissyaw, What better place to be than at Club Raro Resort?? Wow! I love your comments and its great to hear you love our food and famous PISSED PARROT!!! Its our signature cocktail which everyone loves. Club Raro is great for kids and I know they will love it. Take advantage of the 5 night packages with children...

Tammisaari, Finland
Reviewed 3 April 2015

After staying 5 nights at Aitutaki, Paradise Cove, this was a real "hotel". Upgraded myself to beachfront room, that was my luck! The rooms by the pool are without air,hot, locals were celebrating Valentine's Day. Pool was a mess! Went in just do try diving gear. The beach is not for swimming--when you reserve, read carefully what you get- Chessi!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kaisanuppu
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana kaisanuppu, Thank you for your comments. We have taken it on board. We hope you will return to the charms of Rarotonga again as it is unique to itself with its culture and people, different to Mexico or Maldives. Embracing the culture and seeing the real beauty we have to offer in the Cook Islands, is what will...

Queensland
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Luckily we only booked to stay here for 2 nights, our first and last night. To put it bluntly this place is a dump! Very old and run down, horrible atmosphere and just plain awful really. Reception area is very unappealing, breakfast was dismal, not a nice beach and pool very small and unappealing. We stayed in 2 different garden...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Chezzi
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana Chezzi, Thank you for your comment. Let me apologize for your stay. Like all disappointments, we encourage our guests to approach the Manager to discuss this as it is important that your stay is comfortable and satisfying. We have an open door policy with our guests and encourage this. With that note in mind, we have taken all...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 March 2015

I have just returned from Club Raro....... literally and I am already planning my return because I loved it so much and I found it extremely hard to leave! This was my first time visit to Rarotonga & I had no idea what to expect. The standard rooms are big and spacious, the staff are just fantastic a big shout...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Trish T
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana Trish T, Im so glad you enjoyed your entire stay and got to know our lovely team. Our goal is to deliver quality service and product, which you have highlighted in your response. Thank you! Please contact Mili is reservations on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and she will give you access to our return guest bonuses we have available. We look...

186 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
6.8 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
7.0 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
496 reviews
7.7 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
The Islander Hotel
The Islander Hotel
#3 of 5 in Avarua
173 reviews
6.8 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
6.4 km away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kia orana from all of us at Club Raro, We love what we do and what our resort offers. From the early 1990's we have been delivering great holidays, weddings and events for our guests and we welcome you to our friendly, sensibly priced resort that suits all who want an excellent value for money experience in the Cook Islands. Our stunning views off the lagoon front, make the ideal setting for a fantastic relaxing point for all meals and cocktails.Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Avarua township, 8 minutes from popular Muri Beach, and 10 minutes from Rarotonga International Airport, Club Raro Resort is a great place to base yourself and explore the island of Rarotonga, or take some time out to relax with a good book, refreshing cocktail and the welcoming friendliness that will have you coming back time and time again. Club Raro is a friendly Resort offering 68 guestrooms ranging from Standard Rooms: Comfortable and tidy these rooms offer great value for money. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. With a small patio for you, a ceiling fan and air con this room type is a great low cost option. Poolside Rooms Framing our pool these rooms are a popular option with a small patio overlooking the gardens and pool area they are a perfect option for couples, families, and group stays. With ceiling fans and air con these rooms are comfortable and we can configure to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. Self-Contained Rooms these rooms are limited and fill up quickly. A simple and convenient space again another great value room with air-con a kitchenette and a shared courtyard set in the gardens it really works for our budget savvy guests. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. Our studio apartments are an excellent option for our guests who want a good deal and are perhaps a larger family or a group of friends or someone who is thinking of staying a little longer. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks and with ceiling fans , air con, and a kitchenette your stay is comfortable and affordable. The premium Lagoon front Rooms with a view of the Pacific Ocean these rooms are our premium and well liked by all. They are a studio style bedroom with a Super King bed, with air-con and a spacious bathroom, a private patio that overlooks the sun decks the Lagoon and the Ocean. Heaven! All rooms are comfortable with an interior decor that reflects a Polynesian, tropical influence. All rooms feature:• Air-conditioning • Ceiling fans • IDD phone • T.V• Refrigerator • Tea/Coffee making facilities• Private bathroom with shower • Daily housemaid servicing Self-Contained rooms feature:• Kitchenette (cook top, microwave) • Daily housemaid servicing. RESTAURANT & FACILITIES We think part of the joy of being on holiday is not having to cook so dining out is something we can make easy for you. Our Chef and kitchen staff are talented and have created great menus that offer excellent choices that incorporate fresh local produce. Couple great food with Happy Hours with great deals on Cocktails, Mocktails and beverages your stay at Club Raro is just what we say it is - an excellent value for money experience in the Cook Islands Our Food is delicious and reasonably priced! We have an a la carte Menu running that offers a brilliant combination of local and international food. You can dine in our Palms restaurant or take a table along our waterfront and poolside areas. We also have a Tapa's menu that RUMBA offers from 4pm - 9pm. Club Raro offers plenty of options for you so if you are one of our in-house guests or just decided to pop in and try and our menu we welcome you. If you're lucky during May to October you may see the humpback whales on their migration through the Pacific, swimming right past Club Raro Resort! Guests of all ages will enjoy the convenience of resort facilities and services which include:• Alfresco dining over looking the lagoon • Happy hour daily from 5-7pm Sunday-Friday and all day Saturday, includes $10 cocktails • Swimming pool with swim-up pool bar • Toddlers pool • Car, Scooter or Bicycle Hire• Tour desk • Pool table & Table tennis• Internet booth • Wi-Fi internet access • Currency exchange• 24 hour security • Guest laundry • Postal service • Free on-site parking Also available:• Snorkeling gear • Reef shoes• Tennis equipment For more details, contact our friendly team. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Club Raro

Address: PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Price Range: $107 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Raro 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Club Raro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Resort Avarua
Club Raro Cook Islands/Rarotonga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Club Raro staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Club Raro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely get a lagoon room, and skip poolside because it's too noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles LittleBitOfLisa, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose another resort.”
 of 5 bubbles Jendeano14804, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Def book lagoon room but keep expectations low”
 of 5 bubbles lockvale, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Family apartment was spacious and serviced daily.”
 of 5 bubbles tinagunn2015, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“upgrade to an ocean view room”
 of 5 bubbles MissChe, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay