We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Munay Tika Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Munay Tika Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 43: English reviews
Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a 3 beds room for a night with breakfast . The hostel is very pretty with lovely flowers and decorations. It is a 3 minutes walk to Ollantaytambo, 7 minutes walk to the train station with cafes, laundry service and mini mart around the corner. Breakfast is simple but nice. The staffs are friendly. We borrowed a hairdryer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L H
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We only stayed one night then took the train to Aguas Calientes. Pluses: it's centrally located (easy walk to train and restaurants), nice courtyard, clean, good breakfast, hot water. Minuses: staff wasn't particularly friendly; there was a modem right outside our room but we still had to go to the lobby to get internet. We arranged airport transportation but there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mayasalaama
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Very poor hotel. Understaffed. But convenient and relatively inexpensive for a one-night crash to take train to Machu Picchu the next day. The train station is a short walk away. No TV. Breakfast choices poor, although staff tried to help as much as they can

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Enrique D
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 2 June 2016

This hotel has a good location in between town and the train station. It has a beautiful courtyard and nice breakfast as well. The rooms are basic but adequate, and the price is very reasonable. Good place to stay for a night or two.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 13 January 2016

We value the size of the rooms because we are sort of a big group; we checked out the rooms and were not only smelly and disorganized. Can't say much about the internet on that area but I was promised with internet all around the hotel. Got there and they tell me that internet is only available on the lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teach_me_senpai
MunayTika, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Munay Tika Hotel, responded to this review

We're sorry you had this terrible experience. Your opinion is important to us because it helps us improve. Thank you

Glyfada, Greece
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Great hotel to spend the night for early train ride to Machu Picchu. The room was standard, clean. The staff were o.k. Wifi was available at the reception and it was very slow for uploading. The village is nice for an afternoon stroll.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magistros
MunayTika, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Munay Tika Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback as it helps us improve. We hope your stay has been pleasant . We will wait for you. Thank you

Panama City, Panama
Reviewed 19 November 2015

We chose this hotel because of the proximity of the railway (we had our train at 5am). The rooms are clean but can be very cold at night. Wi-Fi doesn't get to our room (second floor). very nice garden and staff very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmi4ka
Oakfield, Wisconsin
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Halfway between train station and downtown. Clean rooms and friendly, helpful staff. A restaurant/bar is across the road. Courtyard in back for relaxing. Don't know if they had breakfast, because we left early in Am to catch 1st train to Aguas Calientes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allabord56
Varna, Bulgaria
Reviewed 10 November 2015 via mobile

Very good looking building halfway between railway station and central square, approximately 200 metres. No TV in the room, no heating, hot water is limited. Great views to the garden and nearby mountains and ruins.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dimitar P
Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2015

yes it is basic, but the rooms are big, bathroom good. Grounds nice to sit in and stroke Chico (the cat) breakfasts were really nice. Good location near square and not far from railway. Very, very friendly staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
alan f, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Munay Tika Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Esperamos que tu experiencia haya sido de tu completo agrado. Te esperamos en tu próxima visita! Muchas gracias por confiar...

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.3 km away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#3 of 18 in Ollantaytambo
348 reviews
0.4 km away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 18 in Ollantaytambo
1,429 reviews
0.3 km away
Hostal Los Andenes
Hostal Los Andenes
#11 of 18 in Ollantaytambo
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#4 of 18 in Ollantaytambo
123 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
#9 of 18 in Ollantaytambo
79 reviews
0.6 km away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 18 in Ollantaytambo
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Munay Tika is located in the Sacred Valley of the Incas Ollantaytambo, the largest city in this valley as it is the gateway to Machu Picchu grabbing.Only within the village, which is why it has spectacular views, is certainly a place with the best location to enjoy the majestic Andes and the clouds that cover the sacred mountains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Munay Tika Hotel

Address: Avenida Ferrocarril 118, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Price Range: $55 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Munay Tika Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munay Tika Hotel Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Munay Tika Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Munay Tika Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Third level with view of the mountains and terrace outside the door is a great room”
 of 5 bubbles louisez474, 19 Mar 2015 | Read review
“If you must stay, try and get a room without a dirty bathroom or broken floorboards and away from the reception and breakfast areas.”
 of 5 bubbles Dazbro, 8 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Rooms closer to main office have best wifi but really enjoyed #303 with excellent view but out of wifi range.”
 of 5 bubbles BPlayfair, 27 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Ask for a ground floor room facing the garden”
 of 5 bubbles Willichuck787, 6 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Most of the rooms are very adequate and of standard quality. Further back in the hotel might be a bit quieter but this is not a noisy location.”
  • Outdoor lounge with a view
 of 5 bubbles MelOshawa, 18 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay