We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pirwa Colonial Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pirwa Colonial Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 71: English reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here before our trek and were disappointed with this hostel. We were unable to lock our room from the inside. Our first night a guy came barging into our room. The place is very loud and cold. The staff were really nice but after staying at other hostels I wouldn't recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_thailand
PirwaHostelsTeam, Manager at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We regret that you were disappointed with your stay, although it's nice to know that our staff was an exception for you. As we mentioned in our reply to your companion (the following review), our shared dormitories cannot be locked from the inside or outside because...

Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We had a thankfully short stay here. Our room didn't have a working lock from the inside which allows for unwanted visitors all hours of the night. Bar was super loud and open way too late. Food menu was mediocre. Bathrooms were disgusting by the morning as the water gets turned off at night. Common areas with no roof didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaan L
PirwaHostelsTeam, Manager at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, and thank you for leaving a review for Pirwa Colonial. We didn’t actually turn the water off. For two days last month, the local water company, Sedacusco (our next-door neighbors), only turned on the water in the mornings, and an announcement was made that it was due to maintenance. We have an emergency tank that we use in...

Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

The hostel itself was really cool, loads of interesting rooms and really chilled atmosphere. What really set it apart though we're the staff. On my first night I had altitude sickness and passed out. I woke up with 4 or 5 staff members doing everything they could to make sure I was okay, bringing me oxygen, fetching things from my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oli H
PirwaHostelsTeam, Gerente at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good morning Oli, and thank you so much for your review. We're happy that you were pleased with service in the hostel, although it sounds like you went through a lot during your stay in Cusco- we really hope that you had a great trip in spite of the altitude shock, which unfortunately can be quite dangerous for some people,...

Palm Coast, Florida
Reviewed 6 January 2016

The shower doesn't even work. It's always so cold in there and I had trouble sleeping for two nights. I advise you to bring an extra blanket. The internet worked fine but not in the rooms. I also advise you to get a global plan for your phone because in case for emergencies and you need to call out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
PirwaHostelsTeam, Manager at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good morning Mary, and thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We’re sorry that you suffered issues with our showers. Because it’s an electrical system (we can’t add pipes to a historical home as it’s protected), it works a little differently than the type of showers you may be used to. We recommend that if anybody...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

we were so exhausted by the time we reached the room & the second we opened the blankets saw the dirty sheets filled with hair as if no one had changed them for new customers!!! it was very cold and indeed they do provide dirty blankets ( again filled with hair) if you think sleeping with dirty blanket is better...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KubraRmk
PirwaHostelsTeam, Manager at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good morning Kubra, and thank you for your review. We’re sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hostel. It is true that during the wintertime it can get cold, as we’re located in a historical colonial building made heavily of stone; for this reason we have large heaters in the communal areas, portable heaters in the private...

Reviewed 7 October 2015

We recently stayed at the Colonial, were very pleased with our choice. Staff were amazing at this hostel. Super breakfast. Cleanlyness good. All is perfect in this hostel,we like so much. Good kitchen fully equipped to cook. Good wi-fi in the bar. The food in the restaurant is ordinary at best, so I strongly recommend .What a great room, lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brando B
PirwaHostelsTeam, General Manager at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Brandon, and thank you for your comments. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in Pirwa Colonial and hope that your tour to Machu Picchu was unforgettable. We'll be introducing some new food offerings soon that we think will be great- hopefully you can give them a try on your next visit!

Reviewed 2 October 2015

The hostel is very beautiful "colonial architecture". Inside the hostel has a bar, where you have opportunity to meet people from all over the world. The bathrooms are spacious and clean. The Wi-Fi is very good and I really enjoyed my trip at this hostel. The hostel itself is exceptionally clean and the staff are friendly. They helped me a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
PirwaHostelsTeam, Gerente at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good morning Gary, and thank you so much for your kind comments- we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in Pirwa Colonial Hostel, and that our travel agency was able to assist you with services as well. We hope that you had an amazing trip!

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2015 via mobile

The hostel building itself is fine but the hostel is cold and one of the dirtiest hostels I have been to. No sheets on the duvet on my bed and the bathrooms are disgusting with overflowing bins and grubby floors. Not as sociable as other hostels we have stayed in either. In a place where there are so many other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
PirwaHostelsTeam, General Manager at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good evening Sarah, and thank you for your feedback. We regret that you were disappointed with your stay. We do what we can to fight the cold (using alpaca blankets and down comforters on each bed, roofing the interior patios, and positioning portable heaters throughout the common areas), but it’s no small task during the Andean winter (June-July-August) in a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Great Place to stay and surper friendly staff” Great location and the staff made me feel like part of the family as I was traveling alone. The rooms are great and clean and breakfast was very good. Thanks Pirwa Colonial.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John J
PirwaHostelsTeam, General Manager at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Hi John, and thank you so much for your feedback. We were glad to have you, and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that Cusco and Machu Picchu were all you dreamed of- happy travels!

Escazu, Costa Rica
Reviewed 9 June 2015

Colonial Hostel was a very good experience overall, the rooms and the bathroom were clean, the staff was helpful and the wi-fi was a little slow but it worked. The only thing is that the bar, that is right in the middle of the hostel, is open every night and the music can get a little loud if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arrianga
PirwaHostelsTeam, General Manager at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Pirwa Colonial. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay for the most part. In regards to the bar, we did end up closing the rooms that were next to it in order to avoid any noise issues. Now they are used only for volunteers and staff, so that guests can enjoy a great night's...

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 km away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#110 of 163 in Cusco
77 reviews
0.3 km away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 407 in Cusco
713 reviews
0.9 km away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#153 of 407 in Cusco
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Casa Ananta Family House
Casa Ananta Family House
#59 of 339 in Cusco
43 reviews
0.7 km away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#51 of 339 in Cusco
53 reviews
0.2 km away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 407 in Cusco
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pirwa Hostels is a budget hostel chain offering economical lodging in private rooms and shared dormitories, in locations throughout Peru and Bolivia. Pirwa Colonial Hostel is located in Plaza San Francisco, two blocks from the main square of Cusco, Peru. It boasts two interior patios, a TV and game lounge, bar, guest kitchen, and fast food stand. Services include a free continental breakfast, internet + wi-fi, luggage storage, hot water 24/7. There are occasional activities and parties. Reception is on call 24/7 and there are security cameras within and without. There's also security lockers in the shared dorms for your backpacks, and extra, smaller lockers outside of the rooms for any belongings you want to take special care with. There's also an information desk staffed by Pirwa Travel tour & transport specialists. Pirwa Colonial is a one-stop shop for backpackers! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pirwa Colonial Hostel

Address: Plaza San francisco 360, Cusco 000000, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Price Range: $17 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pirwa Colonial Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Pirwa Colonial Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirwa Hostels Backpackers Hotel Cusco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pirwa Colonial Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Pirwa Colonial Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“best value is the 8 bed dorm, there was never 8 people in this dorm”
deanybee, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“What a great room, lots of space and comfort. Super breakfast. Cleanlyness good.”
brandob314, 6 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The bathrooms are spacious and clean. The hostel has a Bar with Great Design and Atmosphere.”
starwarss, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
“the top floor might be less noisy than the bottom.”
Mgoodman88, 16 Apr 2015 | Read review
“If you wanna know people is best book for a dorm, they have a Dorm x 13 people that is very good for that...”
917fernandau, 23 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5