We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Happy House Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Happy House Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

666 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Happy House Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 296: English reviews
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

Pros - Spacious private rooms with solid breakfast. Anderson at the hostel was really helpful and went out of his way to help. Cons - Common area was deserted making it hard to meet people. The hostel abd other staff could be more pro active in giving tourist advice with things to do and places to see.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prath K
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Prath, We appreciate the time you have taken to write your review, however, we expected a better qualification according to your cooments. Common areas some times seems to be deserted despite the hostel is full because they are so big and spacious, not a bad thing at all or something to be criticized. We wish you the best and...

Niseko-cho, Japan
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

Beautiful building, great decor, clean facilities, amazing free breakfast (2 fresh juices, fruits, yogurt, cereals, oats, milk, coffee/tea, eggs cooked to order), nice lounge areas, A POOL, computers, free wifi, a clean kitchen, and friendly 24hr staff. Seemed like a bit of an older crowd in general and was pretty quiet for most of our stay. They have information about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe P
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Zoe, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

Doesn't feel like a hostel, more like a hotel. There was confusion at check in because I thought breakfast was included but it was extra. Also they wouldn't let me use the Get South coupon because I made it on their website online...? Other then that the dorms had a lot of space and it was very clean. Would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gemeucci
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Gemeucci, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. Just to clarify 2 things. Dorm basic is the only rate which doesn`t have the bkf included, so probably you booked that one and had to pay the...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately I would not recommend anyone staying here for a number of reasons: 1. Upon arrival at 1:30pm after a 17 hour bus ride we were informed we could not check in until 3pm as this was the rule despite the room being available. 2. The rooms are small and very like a sauna with no fans or air conditioning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomthebomb_12345
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we feel sorry if you didn`t enjoy your time at our hostel according to the points described, however, we strongly disagree with many of them. First of all, the check in time is transparently informed on all the booking engines we work with and also on...

Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay for the most part. The floor and bed were very clean but the room itself was very dusty, likely due to dust coming in from the road through the beautiful, large balcony window. It was very very loud at night. Even with the window closed we could clearly hear people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RuthWiens
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Ruth, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We are already working on the noise situation described by getting better windows for the rooms next to the street. We wish you the best and we will be...

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 19 February 2016

This hostel looks more like a hotel: the house is beautiful and so are the rooms, terraces and swimming pool. The shared places are nice and spacious. The kitchen is well equiped and clean. I really loved it! Best hostel I went so far.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LotVG
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear LotVG, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 27 January 2016

All in all, it was alright. Just don't stay in a room on the first floor. The entire place is wooden floors and we could hear everything that went on at the front desk. New guests dropping their bags on the floor, conversations about places to visit in the city, the staff having a lively conversation late at night. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zach p
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Zach, We appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we also feel sorry about the noise disturbing you during your stay with us, it`s not something that happens very often at our place, however, we will review this situation especially with the staff according to your description. We wish you the best and we will...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 27 January 2016

We spent 3 nights at this hostel and found the experience to be delightful. There were 3 of us and we had the first floor room on the left as you enter the hostel. The room was large and beautiful. The staff were consistently helpful; the accommodations for a hostel were impressive. We selected this hostel based on a recommendation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Sandy We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Las habitaciones privadas con baños privados eran bueno y cómodo. Lo unico era que los espero en los baños no tenían luz para que una persona pueda afeitarse viendo todo bien. Las habitaciones compartidas o estilo dormitorio tambien tenían camas cómodas, pero el espacio entre la cama abaja y la cama arriba era ajustada y un poco incómoda. La geréncia...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie W
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Charlie, We are very happy to have received your great and detailed feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again soon. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Ripponden, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights with my husband and 14 and 16 year old children. The location is great - just a short walk from good restaurants in Barrio Brasil and a 15 minute walk into the centre of Santiago. The building and decor is impressive and funky. All the rooms have individual themed decor and very comfy beds. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline T
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Caroline, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

353 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (175)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#91 of 197 in Santiago
580 reviews
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#5 of 197 in Santiago
255 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 470 in Santiago
773 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#5 of 470 in Santiago
900 reviews
La Casa Roja Hostel
#9 of 470 in Santiago
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Happy House Hostel An Oasis in the heart of Santiago. Located in Moneda Street in the middle of the historic part of the city and just steps from government palace, main square and the main tourist attractions of Santiago. Happy House Hostel offers a high quality service due to obtaining Q seal of quality the S seal of sustainability granted by SERNATUR (National Tourism Service of Chile), besides having an impressive infrastructure, facilities, long market experience and strong commitment of the staff with each of its guests. Our services are: Buffet breakfast, 24 hours of reception, free internet access (Wi Fi and stationary computers), safes in private rooms and lockers in dorms, tourist information and reservations for tours of the season, free luggage storage, laundry, mini bar at reception with 24 hour service of drinks, mineral water and beers, bilingual staff (Spanish - English), recreational and cultural activities (Dancing classes, Chilean BBQ, movie nights, free tours around town, etc.), bike rental, online bus tickets reservations, organization of transport services (only from the hostel to the airport or elsewhere), free national service calls from reception, book exchange, heating in rooms with private bathroom and common areas (winter season), late check out (asking for availability in advance at reception) and a lot more. Our facilities are: Fully equipped kitchen, comfortable and spacious terraces and living rooms, swimming pool, TV rooms with international signal, outside bar, entertainment area (pool table, tennis table, mini football table, chess table and table games), wine cellar with tasting sessions of national strains, BBQ area (including free use of grills) and a lot more. We wait for you :) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Happy House Hostel

Address: Moneda 1829, Santiago 8340493, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Price Range: $26 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Happy House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy House Hotel Santiago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Happy House Hostel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Happy House Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The dorm room is fine for solo travelers -clean, quiet, safe.”
 of 5 bubbles Antonio8069, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There is something for everybody. We liked the colonial style rooms on the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles keesv32, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Nothing special to say about the room ”
 of 5 bubbles jeanfran_oisp980, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor room 23 is great with private bathroom. nice view from bathroom window, quiet”
 of 5 bubbles XXX2588, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“make sure the window shutters are closed too, it can be pretty draughty in the hostel which is not a good thing in a Chilean winter”
 of 5 bubbles besty8, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
*
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Hostelworld.comUSD 69
Priceline
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates