We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Happy House Hostel

Booking.comUSD 22*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 102*
USD 22*
Great Deal
USD 52*
USD 35*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Happy House Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

685 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Happy House Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 305: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Stayed at the Happy House during a ski trip through southern BC. Great space with a well stocked kitchen (fridge space was a little tight), within a 1min walk to grocery and liquor stores. The hosts were very accommodating, it rained to the top of Red Mountain and they offered a full refund when we cancelled our last night to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carter C
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Carter, Thank you very much for your great evaluation and comments. We actually now have 2 big fridges at the guests kitchen in order to provide more space for storaging food. Glad to know you´ve enjoyed your stay with us :) We wish you the best and grettings from the entire Happy house Hostel team

Rouen, France
Reviewed 1 March 2017

While we were in Santiago there was an earthquake. One night everything rumbled and tumbled in the room for five minutes. We were on the third floor and did not know what to do. Fortunately those old Santiago buildings can take an earthquake or two. There was obviously nothing anyone could do about that but we nevertheless changed for a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean-François P
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Jean - François, Many thanks for your great evaluation. Unfortunately Chile is one of the most or actually the most seismic country of the world, however and as you said, our building is definitely solid to take the movements. We wish you the best and grettings from the entire Happy House Hostel Team

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Fantastic way to end 6 mos in South America, one of the best hostels we stayed in over the whole trip. Such a peaceful and welcoming hostel. Solid kitchen, friendly and helpful staff. Easy transit to the airport. 5 stars, for sure!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Melissa, Thanks a lot for your 5 stars evaluation :) We are very proud to know that our hostel was the best one you stayed in over your whole trip in South America. We actually would like to become the best one in the area, so thanks for your kind comments which proof that we are doing things right....

New York City, New York
Reviewed 28 February 2017

I stayed with my mum in 2 separate rooms in this hostel on and off through 4 weeks of traveling through Chile. I stayed here 3 times all together and loved the breakfast with the eggs or pancakes. the pool area is relaxing to hangout and write your travel journal if you happen to hold one. The rooms are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank XXX2588
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your great evaluation and kind comments. We are very happy to know you´ve enjoyed your 3 times at the hostel and we hope to receive your visit again in the near future. We wish you the best and grettings for you and your mum from the entire Happy House Hostel Team :)

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Decent character building. Pool was a nice addition. Great breakfast. I'd like to add that this hostel could have been cleaner (bins and toilets not emptied often during my stay). This let the over all experience down

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Matthew, Thanks for taking some time to leave your review. The evaluation is not actually what we were expecting but we understand your point of view, however and from our side, I must say that our cleanning procedures are very strict when our housekeepers are on duty and the cleanliness of the hostel one of our biggest pride, besides...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Ideal location, lovely decor, especially in the (very expensive) private rooms. The rear patio and balconies are the real main attraction of the hostel, perfect on a sunny day with its swimming pool, decked area and lounge seating. It has two bars, however, I have stayed at this hostel on three separate occasions, and I have never seen them open!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank besty8
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Besty, Thanks a lot for your great evaluation and comments. Unfortunately we´ve had some trouble to find some suitable staff to attend the bar, however, we always have a frigobar at the front desk where you can purchase beers, wine, soft drinks and mineral water. Besides you always have the option to bring drinks from outside without a problem....

Stellendam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 February 2017

This hostel is very close to the center of Santiago. You have also enough opportunities in the neighborhood. Here you can find little restaurants and pubs were you can eat and drink very well. The staff of the hostel is very friendly and very helpfull. The rooms are quiet and clean. Wifi is very good and fast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank poldcor
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Poldcor, Thanks a lot for your excellent evaluation and comments. Some time people think that our neigborhood doesn´t have a lot of things to offer, and actually it´s the opposite, it´s full of restaurants, pubs, public parks, day and nightlife activities, many of them social and cultural ones, lots of museums like the most modern in South America (The...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 February 2017

After traveling for a few weeks in South America I came to Santiago. I wanted to stay in a nice hostel. Happy house hostel had good reviews so I went there. It is really a wonderful place. A beautiful old mansion, lots of room in the house and in the dorms. The local staf was very nice. Breakfast in a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank isolde_indo
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Isolde, Thank you very much for your great evaluation and kind comments. It makes us feel very special to know that our property was the best place you stayed at in South America. We are actually working hard to become the best hostel in South America so again thanks for the compliment. We wish you the best and we...

Gatineau, Canada
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We past a realy good Time in your place, all the staff was friend l'y And handfull . They givre us all the information we ask, and more, the room price was fare. We love the architecture of the inside and outside , don't make any change on it !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denis L
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Denis, Thank you so much for your great evaluation and kind comments. No worries we are not changing anything, only improving things if possible :) We hope to see you back soon. We wish you the best. Grettings from the entire Happy House Hostel Team

Turku, Finland
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We stayed three nights in the hostel and had a very nice stay. Plaza Brazil, where many good restaurants can be found, is in walking distance. Might want to go early to eat breakfast, there was not a a lot to choose from when we went down to eat at 9 AM.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterU9699NO
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thanks a lot for your great evaluation and comments. You probably went for BKF in a bad time, for example after a big group of friends or similar, because our kitchen staff are always replacing the food from 8 to 10 am. Anyway we´ll keep an eye on it. We wish you the best and we hope to...

358 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (175)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#102 of 196 in Santiago
593 reviews
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#5 of 196 in Santiago
277 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 468 in Santiago
794 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 468 in Santiago
945 reviews
La Casa Roja Hostel
#9 of 468 in Santiago
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Happy House Hostel An Oasis in the heart of Santiago. Located in Moneda Street in the middle of the historic part of the city and just steps from government palace, main square and the main tourist attractions of Santiago. Happy House Hostel offers a high quality service due to obtaining Q seal of quality the S seal of sustainability granted by SERNATUR (National Tourism Service of Chile), besides having an impressive infrastructure, facilities, long market experience and strong commitment of the staff with each of its guests. Our services are: Buffet breakfast, 24 hours of reception, free internet access (Wi Fi and stationary computers), safes in private rooms and lockers in dorms, tourist information and reservations for tours of the season, free luggage storage, laundry, mini bar at reception with 24 hour service of drinks, mineral water and beers, bilingual staff (Spanish - English), recreational and cultural activities (Dancing classes, Chilean BBQ, movie nights, free tours around town, etc.), bike rental, online bus tickets reservations, organization of transport services (only from the hostel to the airport or elsewhere), free national service calls from reception, book exchange, heating in rooms with private bathroom and common areas (winter season), late check out (asking for availability in advance at reception) and a lot more. Our facilities are: Fully equipped kitchen, comfortable and spacious terraces and living rooms, swimming pool, TV rooms with international signal, outside bar, entertainment area (pool table, tennis table, mini football table, chess table and table games), wine cellar with tasting sessions of national strains, BBQ area (including free use of grills) and a lot more. We wait for you :) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Happy House Hostel

Address: Moneda 1829, Santiago 8340493, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Price Range: $15 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Happy House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy House Hotel Santiago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Happy House Hostel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Happy House Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a ground floor room on the east side for quieter floors”
arbrebleu, 28 May 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms are on a main road but the noise wasn't too dispruptive on the weekday nights of my stay.”
C4931KJjohnp, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The dorm room is fine for solo travelers -clean, quiet, safe.”
Antonio8069, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There is something for everybody. We liked the colonial style rooms on the ground floor.”
keesv32, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Nothing special to say about the room ”
jeanfran_oisp980, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 22* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUSD 52
Hotwire.comUSD 35
AMOMAUSD 102
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates