We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Santiago Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Santiago Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 132: English reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

I spent two nights here. Everyone was very helpful and the crowd here were great fun. There is lots of information on things to do. Everybody had great English. The BedRoom and bathroom were clean and comfortable. Thanks for the warm welcome and I will be back 😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheeclimber
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

This place is ok and reasonably priced, but we have stayed in much better for the same price (and would have in Santiago if not booking so late). The showers are warm and a reasonable pressure. The wifi is not very strong, and drops out in the rooms sometimes. The beds are very narrow, so hope that you don't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
Reviewed 14 August 2016

My stay in the Santiago Backpackers Hostel was very nice! The staff is very friendly and open. I stayed here 4 nights and every night i hung out with the staff and other travelers, we had drinks in the huge livingroom and watched the Olympics. Very comfortable hostel and nice people, in the best location in Santiago. And the breakfast.......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirsten M
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

I had an average experience here which was disappoints since it was my first night in Chile - very poor service when I initially checked in, the guy on reception didn't even look up from his computer & when I tried to approach him after a few minutes to check in he was very rude and made me feel like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank be_le_la_26
Arifurman, Propietario at Santiago Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi be_le_la_26, thanks for your review. We take each of them very seriously and I'm really sorry you had a bad experience on arrival, no one should experience that. I checked the roster and there is only one monday in July where a male receptionist worked at that time, so far we had nothing but good comments about him. I...

Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

the hostel itself is nice enough, with welcoming staff and a spacious kitchen but my friend and I were put in a tiny little cupboard room with just a bunk bed when we booked online for a twin room. it was cut off from the main hostel and out by a very loud courtyard. the room also had a leak...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jude S
Arifurman, Propietario at Santiago Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Jude, thanks for your review and for the nice comments regarding our staff and facilities. I would like to apologize for not reacting properly after the leak was fixed, that's our bad and we only wish you would have reported it to solve it in 5 minutes. Regarding the room itself, we offer a budget option which is clearly...

Blacksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

This hostel is pretty much everything a backpacker needs: safe, clean with informed and friendly staff. It is not fancy, but it is a hostel so that is not required. Unlike their website says, they do NOT have a laundry service. They are helpful with booking tours/making recommendations and are wonderfully flexible and easy going with schedule changes/early arrivals etc....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy A
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

This place is pretty good for basic backpacker needs but I wouldn't be expecting much more than that. We stayed in the twin room which was clean but it was not as good value for money as it could have been. Don't stay in the room facing the road as this is super noisy in the morning with the traffic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathonyfromsyd
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

Santiago backpackers is a great hostel. I initially booked 4 nights but ended up staying for 10 nights. I then went to Easter Island for a week and returned for a further 5 nights. Was able to leave the bulk of my backpack and belongings in the hostel whilst I was on Easter Island. Returned to find them the same...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank l300dub
Torino, Italia
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Booked a private double bedroom for four nights. We were expecting one of those nice and bright rooms you see in the pictures. How wrong we were. We were given room "Chiloè", a 1.5x3m hole with a dusty bunk bed and a microscopic window. No heater. You get in from a courtyard where people gather up at night, so noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PietroP91
Arifurman, Owner at Santiago Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Pietro, thanks for your comments. We have a new basic private room, labeled as twin and not double, that we opened this year for people who were looking for a budget private option. It is stated in each of our booking sites that this room doesn't have the standard of the other rooms, that it has a bunk bed...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

+Excellent hostel in Santiago! +Very friendly staff! +Nice and spacious building, relax athmosphere. Lots of charm in this old building. Common areas comfortable. Easy to meet other people. +Big kitchen with everything needed. +Dorms are spacious. +Showers worked very well. Hot water. +Clean toilets and showers. +Wi-Fi very fast. +One of the best breakfasts you will get in any hostel!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sbch1

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
La Casa Roja Hostel
#10 of 470 in Santiago
491 reviews
Santa Lucia
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#7 of 470 in Santiago
250 reviews
La Chimba Hostel
#15 of 470 in Santiago
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kombi Hostel
#40 of 470 in Santiago
200 reviews
Happy House Hostel
#4 of 470 in Santiago
666 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 470 in Santiago
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of Santiago's greatest hostel! Perfect location in downtown, 100-year-old restored unit, amazing facilities, extra large beds and more!We offer Furnished apartments, private rooms and cheap dorms to suit every traveler's need. Join our social activities and discover all Santiago has to offer ... more   less 

Additional Information about Santiago Backpackers Hostel

Address: Enrique Mac Iver 661, Santiago, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Price Range: $17 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Santiago Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Santiago Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Santiago Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick a bed away from window since street light and noise comes through at night”
 of 5 bubbles Kevintrotter123, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room facing road can be loud since busses pass by frequently, BYOB is welcomed”
 of 5 bubbles COGMarcus, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“dont get the one near reception, loud in the mornings!!”
 of 5 bubbles Lynagh14, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Take the dorm of 10, cheap and you get to know new people”
 of 5 bubbles matthF9604JA, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
“avoid the room above the kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles yumfook, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5