We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel 81 - Orchid

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel 81 - Orchid
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

395 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 230: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Singapore is a very expensive place for a hotel, this 81 orchid is very cheap 2 stars hotel with a clean room with 24/7 food stalls on literally every corner nearby. Area is a Singaporean red light district, and just right beside the hotel is 1 of the brothel on lorong 8. Singapore is a very safe place, therefore you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mario S
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I suppose the first surprise I got was when I was getting close to the hotel and the taxi driver informed me that I was staying within the bounds of Singapore’s “accredited Red Light District”. I’m far from prudish (bit hard to be a prude if one has worked as a bouncer in a strip club) but I was taken...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheOracleofOz
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Orchid, responded to this review

Dear TheOracleofOz, thank you for taking the time to share! We do hope to see you back with us again soon! The Hotel 81 Orchid Team will be happy with your kind comments!

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Its just okay, near/ walking distance to restaurants, stores and bus stop. Room service is good 😊😊😊 The hotel is known by taxis and you have to walk around 900 meters to reach the nearest train station.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paopao A
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Orchid, responded to this review

Dear Paopao A, thank you for taking the time to share this review with us! We do note that Hotel 81 Orchid is located in a great location where transport alternatives are easily available!

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Affordable price and room is nice. A lot of food stall near the hotel and just few minutes walk to kallang station mrt. The staff are very friendly specially Gary he helped us a lot on how to go around the city and even booked us a Grab so we wont get lost going to our destination.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ana s
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Orchid, responded to this review

Dear ana s, thank you for your kind review! The Hotel 81 Orchid team does work hard to ensure our guests enjoy a great stay with us! We will certainly convey out thanks to Front Office Executive Gary too!

Indonesia
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We stay there for two nights, the location is very strategic, near to bus station and taxi, food stall was available 24/7, there's a good halal mamak stall there and we love their foods. We enjoy our stay here and will be back for sure, probably next year, thanks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Himawan H
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Orchid, responded to this review

Dear Himawan H, thank you for highlighting the great advantage guests will enjoy by rooming with Hotel 81 Orchid! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Reviewed 27 September 2016

It is a OK hotel with this low price, this hotel is cheaper than the other Hotel 81, the location is good coz its near the bus stop. But since it is located in the red light district but you can see is red district only in the night , around have many cheap resto

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thany B
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Orchid, responded to this review

Dear Thany B, Thank you for taking the effort to write this review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Is my 3th Time in here . To get here you can walk from MRT Station Kallang about 10 minutes, or if you already have the pass, you can stop at MRT Station Aljunied and wait for the bus there. Stop at Opp Mohd Saleh Mosq bus stop, your hotel is not 5 minutes walk. The hotel itself are comfort,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keyo R
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Orchid, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments!

Reviewed 15 September 2016

I had a wonderful stay and great location! The room is very small but it was great and the staff are all so nice as well. Will definitely come back for another staycation. There was a bit of a smell along the corridor though

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 958nickyt
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Orchid, responded to this review

We do note your kind and positive comments above and we feel encouraged by them! The Hotel 81 Orchid Team will work hard to ensure that our guests feel comfortable and enjoy a pleasant stay with us! Thank you !

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We have enjoy our stay in this hotel. Consider this is a red light disctrict area by the local but we feel quite safe with the security cameras in this area. Kallang MRT is just 10 mins. walk away. A quick and easiest way to go around Singapore. Probably need at least 3 to 4 nights stay. Book your acommodation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Orchid, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

I would say it is a decent hotel. The rooms were small and not properly maintained. It is away from downtown, so it was relatively quite. However downtown main locations are 10-15 mins away in taxi. The facilities were minimal for the room that we took.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vipin V
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Orchid, responded to this review

Dear Vipin V, We do work to ensure our guests have a great stay with us. Please approach the Duty Manager or Front Office to see how we can assist in making your stay better regardless and we will be working to fix the issue mentioned. Thank you for your feedback!

299 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (38)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (225)
Viewed
Standard Room (47)
Viewed
Superior Plus (56)
Viewed
Superior Room (53)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)
Viewed
Twin Room (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Princess
Hotel 81 - Princess
#242 of 309 in Singapore
214 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Palace
Hotel 81 - Palace
#239 of 309 in Singapore
209 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Geylang
Hotel 81 - Geylang
#196 of 309 in Singapore
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#134 of 309 in Singapore
506 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 Hollywood
Hotel 81 Hollywood
#201 of 309 in Singapore
128 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
#129 of 309 in Singapore
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Geylang

Neighbourhood Profile
Geylang
Only a short journey from Singapore’s sparkling and polished city centre, Geylang is a world away. Here in one of the least touristy areas of Singapore, visitors are privy to an unfiltered glimpse of Singapore life. On Sunday afternoons, migrant workers gather in Geylang to let off steam after a tough week. At the eastern end of Geylang Road, families and friends happily enjoy picnics. By contrast, at the western end, a more colourful side of Singapore can be seen, as street workers mingle with Sunday revelers in outdoor coffee shops. Take a friend, grab a beer and a local meal (frog porridge, perhaps?), and settle in to enjoy the show.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Orchid

Address: 21 Lorong 8 Geylang, Singapore 399090, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Price Range: $50 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Orchid 2*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel 81 - Orchid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Orchid Singapore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel 81 - Orchid staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel 81 - Orchid staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some would say rooms a bit small but no problem for us.”
 of 5 bubbles 54najih, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Quite rooms..but small space..”
 of 5 bubbles Haide20, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Room 401 is well equipped for a wheelchair client plus 1 other adult-if you don't mind the seamy area-very well priced”
 of 5 bubbles 141sylviaj, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
“rooms at the 8th floor has exceleent wifi than the lower floor.”
 of 5 bubbles enjoyfunlovetravels, 22 Jul 2015 | Read review
“do not choose standard room if you want bigger room.”
 of 5 bubbles 732sallyf, 12 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay