We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

City Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
City Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 48: English reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

I was so impressed with the location and staff, but one of housekeeper she pushed me away when I was standing in front of the mirror for make-up and didn't say sorry or anything. Even they have CCTV but one of my friend was stolen money as well. Although, a lot of thing happened there I still recommend this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jijiiuus
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Im sorry for saying that. But if u r patient to listen to me, u will know why. I came to Sing from Malaysia in 16th July and i booked 1 room for 1 night in this hotel. When i arrived, they said the ac in the room was not working, we said: ok, fine. We can stay in fan...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hoa L
Terry G, Manager at City Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Ms. Hoa Le, Thank you for your feedback. We want to sincerely apologize about us not being able to accommodate you due to inevitable circumstances. Your comfort is our number one priority and not having an airconditioning unit is going to be a huge let down and so we have decided to relocate you at a different hostel. As...

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 25 June 2016

The location is great and the staffs were amazing. A little problem with the shower but you have an option to use the other floors shower room. Free breakfast and good wifi reception. Location is near clark quay and the golden shoe complex food centre in market street. About 20 mins walk to Merlion. its simple place with a very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ajula
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

The staff here are so lovely and helpful. The dorms are clean, comfortable and cool. Really good location right by Clarke quay (nightlife/shopping area). Free computers to use in the common area along with free coffee and toast to start off your day! Would definitely recommend to any backpackers heading to Singapore.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hebe A
Singapore
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Instead of going to Blissful Loft, I went to City Backpackers because I saw a seal of Trip Advisor at their entrance. The stairs were so steep that I have a hard time reaching the reception and even my dorm room. In the dorm, the floor space was not that spacious as compared with other hostel. The amenities were not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johann R
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

located nearby the center of clarke quay, this hostel is cheap, clean, recommended for staying with a group of friends. like any other hostel, they provide dinner, free wifi, and lockers. too bad they don't have female dorm. and there are not much toilet amd bathroom.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mety r
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 10 November 2015

I and my friend was arrive at hostel on the morning but can't check in yet so they recommended us for shower and go sightseeing...Staff so kind and friendly. In addition clean bed and bathroom.Really great location near to Clark quay just walk only 5 min

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarunyupa
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Reviewed 23 October 2015

My main reason to book this hostel was, Location. At Clarke Quay MRT. You will be at Central Mall, just across the road with bridge or walking, and then walk about 80 meters with the same flow with the cars. You will see Hong Kong Street, turn left and you will find the hostel. I arrive around 11.30PM then we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StevenHan8
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 13 October 2015

This hotel located in Hongkong Street (Clark Quay Area). You can go walking to some tourist attraction like Chinatown, Merlion (and can continue to Garden by the bay), Clark Quay river. The dorm room is average, bathroom/toilet enough. Wifi is quite good. And we can get breakfast free (breads and coffee). i got 24 SGD for 1 night which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wisnu S
Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

I may not say that this is the best hostel in Singapore. But the staffs are very accommodating and approachable. ROOM - Very comfortable. Comfort room/ Toilet - Naku! Nawalan ako ng tubig! Di tuloy natapos ang pagligo ko - Nasa 4th floor kasi yung room ko. Tapos sabi ng cousin ko nawalan din sya ng tubig habang naliligo. Ayan...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laurence P

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.1 km away
Jayleen 1918 Hotel
Jayleen 1918 Hotel
#162 of 309 in Singapore
245 reviews
0.1 km away
Jayleen Clarke Quay Hotel
Jayleen Clarke Quay Hotel
#188 of 309 in Singapore
21 reviews
0.0 km away
Fragrance Hotel - Riverside
Fragrance Hotel - Riverside
#140 of 309 in Singapore
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Beds and Dreams Inn Clarke Quay
0.0 km away
River City Inn
River City Inn
#14 of 219 in Singapore
784 reviews
0.0 km away
Blissful Loft
Blissful Loft
#161 of 219 in Singapore
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about City Backpackers

Address: 18 Hongkong Street City Backpackers, Singapore 059661, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Price Range: $21 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your City Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Backpackers Singapore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from City Backpackers staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from City Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Better to check first any hotel or hostel before checking in”
 of 5 bubbles johannr128, 27 May 2016 | Read review
“A quad room will be perfect for a family w/ 4 members...if privacy matter.”
 of 5 bubbles 409muhammad, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Pay a little more for comfort!”
 of 5 bubbles mustang808, 5 Aug 2015 | Read review
“dont choose any room. worst rooms ever.”
 of 5 bubbles 286beryll, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Trust the guys at the counter they know best”
 of 5 bubbles SteveGerard, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay