We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ovolo Southside

64 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Southside Drop off by car, limo or taxis - use Entrance on Yip Fat Street, Hong Kong China
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1864)
Room & Suite (696)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!HYGGE - UP TO 30% off room rate
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#56 of 603 hotels in Hong Kong
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Ovolo Southside is Hong Kong’s first New York-style warehouse conversion Design Hotel. Locatedin the centerpiece of the Southside region, the hotel is an interactive design stage showcasing contemporary art against a backdrop of industrial-inspired interior design. Ovolo Southside offers rooms ranging from cozy 20 square meter retreats to spacious 56 square meter haven, catering any needs. Ovolo Southside currently houses one of Hong Kong’s best authentic Mexican eatery and bar, with our beloved rooftop bar Above- a sky high oasis with amazing views of Southside. Conveniently located in the Wong Chuk Hang district, Ovolo Southside is easily accessible via the speedy South Island MTR Line, placing you just minutes away from popular shopping areas in Causeway Bay and a short 20-minute ride from the Central District and SOHO.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Rooftop bar
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Telephone
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
Hotel links
Special Price:HYGGE - UP TO 30% off room rate

Location

64 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Southside Drop off by car, limo or taxis - use Entrance on Yip Fat Street, Hong Kong China
Name/address in local language
Ovolo Southside
1811Reviews68Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,308
  • 347
  • 77
  • 40
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jane S wrote a review 24 Feb
3 contributions1 helpful vote
This was our 2nd stay, last stay was end 2019 just before Covid. The hotel is clean and well presented and the staff are great. Really helpful and attentive. We were there for 12 days so made full use of the laundry room which is great but as it was over Chinese New Year it was really busy. The gym is quiet, it's small but has what you need. Some changes since our last visit are the lack of breakfast buffet, the breakfast menu is good but not as it was. The evening meal menu has changed to Mexican tapas etc which is a shame if you want more. However, the Happy hour still goes from 3pm to 7pm with chefs special snack such as sweet potato chips. Unfortunately the roof bar is closed but hopefully it will reopen. Overall a good clean and friendly place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Horace Siu, Owner at Ovolo Southside
Responded yesterday
HI Jane S, Thank you for your wonderful review of your 2nd stay at Ovolo Southside. We are thrilled to have you return again and are delighted to hear that you had another great stay with us. Glad that you found are service to be consistent and made good use of our complimentary self-laundry facilities during your 12 days here. We truly appreciate your all useful feedback and always strive to provide a better guest experience for our guests at Ovolo. Look forward to welcoming you back once again in the not so distant future. Cheers, Horace Siu General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
huen wrote a review Jan 2023
Hong Kong, China3 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
The staff is nice and friendly. And, the environment is also good. All things are very good. The birthday celebration arrangement is well prepared. The view is nice as well as the restaurant is also good. It is a great experience in this hotel we will come again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Damian F, General Manager at Ovolo Southside
Responded 6 Feb 2023
Greeting huen0123, Thank you for staying and also for your amazing comments and rating :D We are very happy that you enjoyed the birthday celebration, we are so pleased we could be part of the special day!! Hope to see you again next time!! Cheers Damian General Manager Ovolo Southside
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Casey T wrote a review Jan 2024
Vientiane, Laos6 contributions1 helpful vote
Nice rooms, good service, excellent amenities (including a lounge with complimentary tea/coffee, pool table, laundry room). Near train station and bus stops. Based on my searching of other hotels, seems to be a much better value to stay here instead of in the downtown area. Takes about 20-30 minutes to get there and about 7 HKD by train or bus.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Horace Siu, Owner at Ovolo Southside
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hey Casey T. Thank you for your taking your time to share your wonderful experience at Ovolo Southside. Fun is the perfect word to describe our style as we are unconventional and never boring. Glad you enjoyed our amazing amenities and lounge space for our guests to relax. By being just steps away from the metro surely makes our location really convenient travelling to the downtown area. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Horace Siu General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
YanL wrote a review Jan 2024
Singapore, Singapore24 contributions20 helpful votes
Booked a mini twin room with Bonvoy points. I am a titanium elite member and was uograded to deluxe queen. The room was comfortable for 2. Very clean and has everything we need. The pillows are however too flat but there are no other types of pillows so we made do with them. The lounge is great. Love the espresso machine. Hotel staff regularly maintain and clean the machine. Also has a variety of tea bags and soda available for free to all guests. Super great. We love it. 3 washers and 3 dryers in laundry room but one washer and one dryer were out of order during our stay. There was a fair wait for washer and dryer in the evening but it was very useful as we were hiking and had a fair amount of laundry to wash. Location was superb. MTR was 3 minutes walk. Many buses available to bring you to causeway bay or Kowloon either at Wong Chuk Hang Road or at the bus terminus by the MTR station. Overall a wonderful experience and super good value hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Ask for room away from the highway.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Horace Siu, Owner at Ovolo Southside
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hey gdrlym, Thank you for taking your time to share your positive comments about Ovolo Southside. I am delighted to hear wonderful stay with us and found our room to be comfortable. Our goal is to provide an effortless experience at Ovolo by providing a clean room that comes with all the essential amenities and more. Glad you made use of our complimentary self-laundry machines, however they do get quite popular from time to time. Once again, it was a pleasure hosting you and hope to welcome you back again soon! Cheers, Horace Siu General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Brendan I wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
We stayed at the hotel using a Luxury Escape it had a number of inclusions that suited our family kids 12 and 14. We arrived early in the morning after our flight. They allowed us to check in early which was a huge relief. The breakfast was excellent and the service and assistance was great and couldn't be faulted. The outdoor dining area was really nice. The hotel is a little away from the city centre so it is important to note this.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Know that you will need to catch Mtr to get to town but the station is close
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Horace Siu, Owner at Ovolo Southside
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hey Brendan I, Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience at Ovolo Southside. I am thrilled to hear that your family had a great stay with us. Glad you were able to enjoy our flexible check-in time at Ovolo as we understand how tired you can be after a long flight. Appreciate your positive comments about our breakfast offering and service from the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Cheers, Horace Siu General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
J Oppenheim wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Went with family including adult teens/young adults. Rooms were clean and very cool! Great amenities including free laundry, coffee and area to hang out in including pool table. Breakfast included was a great deal. 5 minute walk to MTR. Price great. Hotel was very cool designed and always had 80s music playing (best decade ever!) would highly recommend due to above. Their staff is the best!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Pack lightly, they have free laundry facilities!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Damian F, General Manager at Ovolo Southside
Responded 16 Jan 2024
Hey Jtoppenheim Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at Ovolo Southside. We're delighted to hear that you, along with your family, enjoyed your stay. It's fantastic that you found our rooms clean and cool, and that the amenities such as free laundry, coffee, and the communal area with a pool table added value to your experience. We're pleased you found the included breakfast to be a great deal and appreciated the convenience of our location, just a 5-minute walk to the MTR. We're especially glad you enjoyed the unique design of our hotel, with 80s music adding a nostalgic touch. It's wonderful to know that you highly recommend us based on the mentioned factors. Your compliment about our staff being the best is truly appreciated. We take pride in providing excellent service, and it's rewarding to hear that our team made a positive impact on your stay. We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you and your family again in the future. If there's anything specific you'd like for your next visit, please feel free to let us know. Best regards, Damian General Manager Ovolo Southside
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dewi S wrote a review Dec 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Rooms are really cool, and the rest of the hotel is full of fun and helpful staff always around to help! Some extra perks were the free coffees available as well as a free minibar in room, highly reccomend!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Athena N wrote a review Dec 2023
7 contributions
+1
The BEST hotel AND THE BEST SERVICE in town! You can order takeout, eat at the bar or outside on the patio at TQM. Also, on the ground floor is a warmly lit and friendly receptionist. The Lobby floor has a spacious lounging area, self-service beverage counter, and lots of photogenic area with neon lights setting. We stayed at one of the themed suites: Bohemian Rhapsody with hygge package. Well appointed rooms with a 90s music era boutique aesthetic. All the staffs have such a down-to-earth personality and was very accommodating. The (social) happy hours are from 3-7pm, their Winter cocktails menu is off the chart! We ordered their Mulled wine and Irish coffee before having our Tacos dinner night. The hotel sits on an oblique corner of an industrial area.The interior is modern and voguish, a trendy and bohemian presentation with original exposed brick, vintage 90s vinyl soundtracks, and witty quotes. This truly felt like a vacation while it is also a great spot to wind down for a group after work/a bonding weekend getaway! We shall be back soon to enjoy amazing service again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Damian F, General Manager at Ovolo Southside
Responded 16 Jan 2024
Hey Athena N Thank you so much for taking the time to share your incredible experience at Ovolo Southside! We are thrilled to read your fantastic review and are delighted to know that we were able to make your stay memorable. It warms our hearts to hear that you enjoyed the various dining options, from the flexibility of ordering takeout to the inviting atmosphere at TQM. We are particularly pleased that you had a positive interaction with our receptionist and found the lobby area, with its self-service beverage counter and photogenic neon lights, to be welcoming. The Bohemian Rhapsody suite with the hygge package is indeed a unique and well-loved feature of our hotel. We're glad to hear that the 90s music era boutique aesthetic resonated with you, and we appreciate your kind words about our well-appointed rooms. Our team takes great pride in providing down-to-earth and accommodating service, and we're thrilled to hear that their personalities and efforts made a positive impact on your stay. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed the (social) happy hours from 3-7pm, and we're glad the Winter cocktails menu, including the Mulled wine and Irish coffee, exceeded your expectations. Your description of our hotel's interior as modern and voguish with original exposed brick, vintage 90s vinyl soundtracks, and witty quotes captures the essence of Ovolo Southside perfectly. We're delighted that you felt like you were on vacation and found our space to be an ideal spot for both winding down after work and enjoying a bonding weekend getaway. We can't wait to welcome you back soon and provide you with another amazing experience. If there's anything specific you'd like for your next visit, please feel free to let us know, and we'll do our best to make it happen. Thank you once again for choosing Ovolo Southside, and we look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again. Cheers, Damian General Manager Ovolo Southside
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Diana D wrote a review Dec 2023
9 contributions4 helpful votes
My husband and I checked into Ovolo Southside around 2:30am on Saturday morning after missing the last sampan to our houseboat. Perhaps it's urban myth, but I was always told there was a $500 special in these circumstances. The front desk attendant told me no such offer existed and the best he could offer was around $1500. I balked at the price, particularly at such a late hour, but he said I'd be surprised how many guests checked in at that time. You're right, I would be surprised, but left with no other choice we took the room. When we entered, there was a used toothbrush and open toothpaste in the bathroom and the amenities bag with slippers etc was undone and the contents strewn over the coffee table. Not sure if the sheets/towels were clean or not, the bed was certainly made, but the room itself was not properly cleaned/tidied. As if the $1500 price tag didn't sting enough. Won't be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mark M wrote a review Nov 2023
Singapore, Singapore78 contributions16 helpful votes
I try to be as honest as possible, so... The good .... Breakfasts are excellent, especially if you are a vegetarian. The freebies are unexpected and a nice touch. The staff are friendly, helpful and smiling, especially Elisha. The location to MTR and bus stops is excellent. The not so good .......I was in a room overlooking a main road. It was noisy and as sound travels up, I suffered bad sleep in my 14th floor room with only single glazing. Also, no ceilings meant than when water flowed in the pipes, that could be heard too. I understand from colleagues that rooms at the back are much quieter. Overall, I would stay again, but not in a room over the road.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the road!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Damian F, General Manager at Ovolo Southside
Responded 17 Dec 2023
Hi Mark M Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, but I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the external road noise, I could imaging how frustrating that would have been. Regarding the lack of ceilings - Ovolo Southside was Hong Kong's first Factory to Hotel conversion and as part of the design element we decided to keep a factory look to it which is why we have not concealed the pipework, but apologies it there was noise from them. We would love to have you come back and stay with us again, please do reach out next time you would like to come and stay and we will make sure you are in one of the higher category rooms facing the other side of the building. Cheers Damian General Manager Ovolo Southside gm.oss@ovolohotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hong Kong area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$165 - AU$251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ChinaHong KongHong Kong Island / Southern District / Wong Chuk Hang
NUMBER OF ROOMS
160
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OVOLO SOUTHSIDE (AU$165): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Hong Kong) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ovolo Southside
Which popular attractions are close to Ovolo Southside?
Nearby attractions include Retykle (0.2 km), artjamming (0.2 km), and Sens Gallery (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ovolo Southside?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Ovolo Southside?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ovolo Southside?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Ovolo Southside?
Conveniently located restaurants include Komune, I-O-N Wong Chuk Hang, and Bread & Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ovolo Southside?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ovolo Southside?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ovolo Southside offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ovolo Southside?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to Ovolo Southside?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tai Kwun (3.8 km), PMQ (4.1 km), and Former Kowloon-Canton Railway Clock Tower (4.9 km).
Does Ovolo Southside have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.