We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Garden Hostel

    Enter dates to see best deals
    Check In Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    More options
    View Deals
    We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
    1 room 2 adults 0 children
    View Deals
    Close 
    F1, E1, 13F, C1, D1 Mirador Mansion, 58 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
    Name/address in local language
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More
    Showing 19: English reviews
    Start your review of New Garden Hostel
     Click to rate
    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    First of all the hostel had not updated their info to the Hotels.com app and we were not able to find the reception the first night at all and had to stay in another hostel instead. (We had payed for the room in advance, and did not get any refund) The next day we finally found the reception and got...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank 696tiiah
    Sabah, Malaysia
    Reviewed 7 November 2016

    We booked under New Garden Hostel but we don't actually stay here due to during the check-in, since they have few other properties under one management, the reception told us that they can't guarantee our room will be in the same floor as we booked 2 rooms ( single & twin bed) and toilet will not be inside the room....

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank EffyLau
    Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

    its kind of a mixed experience. when we arrived to check in they gave us an explanation how to 'express' check in. so if you add them on wechat and like them on facebook you can check in quicker (dont know why we had to wait anyways) and if you write a positive review on tripadvisor or google (without even...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Sinead J
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
    Reviewed 30 May 2015

    I booked this because Ctrip had tons of positive reviews. I wish I had also looked at Trip Advisor’s, as here are more accurate reviews. The place is mediocre even for a college student’s standard while traveling in Hong Kong. One of the room’s AC units didn’t work, so they moved us somewhere else. The wifi, which they said would...

     Report
    Helpful?
    2Thank Mueller85
    USA_Jeffery, staff at New Garden Hostel, responded to this review

    But also, as you said, as hotels in Hong Kong, if you choose standard rooms are like this, there is no wifi no windows, luggage should be charged, but also very grateful to you this fact, this is mainly because the price determined to be here repeat because these are tips on the Internet, some guests did not see us...

    Macau, China
    Reviewed 8 September 2014

    The hostel is located within a large building full of other hostels and serviced apartments. The lifts are a complete nightmare and seem to be permanently full - there are a few lifts but each one only serves a few floors so there will be only one you will be able to take. The building is dirty and needs renovating....

     Report
    Helpful?
    1Thank Clare W
    USA_Jeffery, staff at New Garden Hostel, responded to this review

    Begin with an apology, no other to your satisfaction, your suggestion we will humbly accept, will go perfect, but this is a hotel, but at an affordable, courteous service, location and the famously, and we knew he could not luxurious compared hotel, but we can be the same area as the leading hotel and proud, we also believe that if...

    Luzon, Philippines
    Reviewed 1 April 2014

    Small Room, attached with bathroom with no locked AC Good Condition, Good Location Near In MRT Station but the room located @ 13th floor. Few Steps away to Avenue of star, Avenue of Comic star and Kowloon Park theres a lot of Malls in the area

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank JoeArcy
    USA_Jeffery, staff at New Garden Hostel, responded to this review

    As a hotel, we would appreciate your support, we are located in the Tsim Sha Tsui Mirador Mansion 13th floor C2, a dedicated reception desk, take the elevator to the 13th floor, you can directly in the hotel next to the United States. Our check-in time is after 2 pm, check-out before 11:00, office hours are 9:00 am to 1:00,...

    Reviewed 19 May 2013

    DO NOT STAY HERE. We booked through AsiaRooms.com and had no idea what we were getting ourselves into. The hostel is super sketchy - down an alley, up an elevator, around a corner, through a hallway just to try to find the reception. They took forever, then handed us towels, and had us follow a random girl around another corner,...

     Report
    Helpful?
    1Thank Amalea S
    Hong Kong, China
    Reviewed 11 June 2011

    The guys who run this place are migrants from Shanghai. Tourist places in China / Hong Kong often attract a quality of people from other places in China which are even by Chinese standards money greedy. Its cleaner tough than the Garden Hostel in the 3rd floor.

     Report
    Helpful?
    4Thank alexanderkn12
    Suffolk
    Reviewed 20 February 2011

    I can't believe this hostel is still going! Beware which hostel you book into in Hong Kong - many of the hostels in Mirador Mansions are linked, ie. if you book into one, you might get placed in a room that belongs to another one. This one is kith and kin to the 'Kowloon Hostel', I think, but they all...

     Report
    Helpful?
    2Thank Englishrose22
    bangkok
    Reviewed 21 April 2010

    I book online from hostelworld.com and see review 70% up comment about good location and cheap price i see the picture in the website think it not bad reasonable price. When i go to the hotel i suddenly surprise the size of room it look very small no window and no private bathroom must share with other.i ask for the...

     Report
    Helpful?
    1Thank intranee

    7 photos of this hotel

    Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

    Viewed
    All Traveller Photos (7)
    Viewed
    Hotel & Grounds (1)
    Viewed
    Room/Suite (2)
    Viewed
    Bathroom (2)
    Viewed
    Other (2)
    Check In Check Out
    Hotels you might also like...
    Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
    Tsim Sha Tsui
    Lis Hostel Hong Kong
    Lis Hostel Hong Kong
    #422 of 712 in Hong Kong
    8 reviews
    Tsim Sha Tsui
    Day and Night Hotel
    Day and Night Hotel
    #91 of 158 in Hong Kong
    101 reviews
    Tsim Sha Tsui
    Apple Hostel
    Apple Hostel
    #23 of 158 in Hong Kong
    157 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Tsim Sha Tsui
    Pearl Premium Guest House - Premium Guest House Limited
    Tsim Sha Tsui
    Hello Inn (Hong Kong)
    Hello Inn (Hong Kong)
    #9 of 246 in Hong Kong
    152 reviews
    Tsim Sha Tsui
    Cosmic Guest House Hong Kong
    Cosmic Guest House Hong Kong
    #76 of 246 in Hong Kong
    184 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices

    Amenities

    Additional Information about New Garden Hostel

    Address: F1, E1, 13F, C1, D1 Mirador Mansion, 58 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Kowloon Hostel)
    Region: China > Hong Kong
    Price Range: $30 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    Hotel Class:2 star — New Garden Hostel 2*
    Reservation Options:
    TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your New Garden Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    Also Known As:
    New Garden Hotel Hong Kong
    New Garden Hostel Hong Kong
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
    Claim Your Listing

    Questions & Answers

    Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New Garden Hostel staff and other travellers.
    4 questions
    Ask a question
    Questions? Get answers from New Garden Hostel staff and past guests.
    Posting guidelines
    Typical questions asked:
    • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
    • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
    • At what time does the pool open each day?