We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Cityview Hong Kong

Show Prices
#98 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,947 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Cityview Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,415: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Overall a decent overpriced. Thought the hotel was a little overpriced for what it had to offer. Chose to stay at this hotel because other friends were staying here. Upon check-in, the front desk upgraded me to a bigger suite for free for no apparent reason, and so that was a pleasant surprise. The staff were friendly and approachable, although...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Boris C
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you to The Cityview again.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 23 May 2013

All that is good about this hotel is probably only it's convenient location! Less than 2 min walk to Yau Ma Tei MTR station and surrounding this hotel are the famous spots - Temple St, Fa Yuen St & Ladies Market. So you need not worry about those late night supper cravings! Service isn't that excellent at the reception counter...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jade-Chew
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable comments concerning the services at Reception Counter. Our objective is to ensure all employees are totally coustomer-focus, and appropriate traning will be conducted. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you to The Cityview soon.

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Decent city hotel, room clean bed comfortable, smooth check-in/out, good location for excellent metro system, lobby bar comfortable with tasty snack menu and waist busting home made cakes, drinks not too expensive for a city hotel. Would stay here again if revisiting Hong Kong.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank shugmac62
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Your satisfaction mean a great deal to The Cityview. Thank you and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Cityview has got a great loaction at Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong. It is just a 5 min walk to the Yau Ma Tei MTR station. And right outside the MTR station is a local cafe where you can catch a nice breakfast. It is also within walking distance to a convenient store and the famous Temple St Night Market....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chris N
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

We are pleased to learn that you enjoy your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you to The Cityview soon.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 12 May 2013

While the rooms may not be fantastic, the location makes up for (almost) everything else. Located just 2 minutes' walk away from Yau Ma Tei MTR station, it was extremely convenient for shopping, food, etc. The rooms were on the small and old side, but at least it was still clean and decent. Prices were reasonable too. Soundproofing was poor...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Goomba81
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable comments and pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again to The Cityview soon.

Sydney
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 Nights and were given a deluxe room which was not even big enough to put our suitcases in. When we asked to be moved they showed us askedto be moved they showed us a smaller room, hence we stayed where we were. They are doing renovations and felt the jackhammer was going to come through...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rkkmc
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

As part of our on-going refurbishment programme, we are undergoing a process of renovation work, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that have caused you. The Cityview strives to provide high quality service and your satisfaction mean a great deal to us. I hope you will afford The Cityview another opportunity to serve you in near future.

Swan Hill, Australia
Reviewed 9 May 2013

So impressed with this hotel that we plan to stay when we return. No complaints about the room, we stayed on a higher floor, perfect, no noise at all. Great location, close to everything you'll need-full stop. Staff very helpful in every way, room was clean, more than comfortable. Read all of the reviews, they speak for themselves. A great...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dispeedie
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

We are pleased to learn that you had a great holiday here in Hong Kong and look forward to welcoming you back to The Cityview for your upcoming visits.

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of March (2013) as this hotel came highly recommended by friends. For the price and location, it definitely suited my needs. While the room was much smaller than expected, and not what I'd requested when booked, the staff were very friendly and as accommodating as possible considering the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Reenie312
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us at The Cityview and look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Singapore
Reviewed 4 May 2013

the hotel is well situated to temple street, ladies street and other tourism attractions. other pointers.. 1) very near to mtr station 2) walking distance to temple and ladies street that awesome! 3) ask for high floor 4) beware bed and room is small 5) exit at yau ma tei mtr exit D instead of C for shortest distance to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sor_Family
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you to The Cityview again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Great location in Kowloon, with Yau Ma Tei subway station just behind the corner. Decent room size. Good level of cleanliness. A/C a little noisy. Staff seemed to be always in a hurry, but overall friendly. They dealt with my issue (clogged shower drain) promptly and efficiently. Very helpful concierge team. Good value for money. The hotel also offer a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maxx-Orioles
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

We are pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and your kind comments regarding the Concierge team have been passed on to them. Thank you once again and we look forward to serving you again soon.

1,338 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (825)
Viewed
Room/Suite (235)
Viewed
Bathroom (80)
Viewed
View from Room (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (67)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (354)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (493)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (61)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (79)
Viewed
Premier Double Room (61)
Viewed
Premier Suite (88)
Viewed
Premier Twin Room (66)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 712 in Hong Kong
3,344 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#108 of 712 in Hong Kong
1,657 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Shamrock Hotel
Shamrock Hotel
#84 of 712 in Hong Kong
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#130 of 712 in Hong Kong
216 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#121 of 712 in Hong Kong
718 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#83 of 712 in Hong Kong
3,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Jordan / Yau Ma Tei

Neighbourhood Profile
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Jordan and Yau Ma Tei neighbourhood is where you will find some of the more authentic areas of Hong Kong. Not as glamourous or busy as its neighbours Mong Kok to the north or Tsim Sha Tsui to the south, Yau Ma Tei is often mistakenly overlooked by visitors on their trips to Hong Kong. Exploring parts of this area makes you feel like you’ve been transported back in time. A large part of the neighbourhood draws from the rich history of Temple Street, stretching from Jordan to Yau Ma Tei, where a mix of dai pai dongs (outdoor restaurants), market stalls, fortune tellers and old karaoke bars bring out the history and culture of the area. The neighbourhood is a showcase of diversity – different ethnicities, cultures, and a mix of old and new.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Book direct with promotion code "CVLP" to enjoy extra discount. Ideally situated in downtown Kowloon adjacent to the bustling Nathan Road, The Cityview is right at the heart of the territory's transport hub to all destinations. It's a 45-minute drive from the Hong Kong International Airport and just a minute walk away from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station with a host of popular chain stores and great dining outlets nearby for you to enjoy. Also, just 10 minutes away on foot are some of the most famous tourist and commercial attractions like the Ladies' Market, Jade Market, Temple Street Night Market and many others, making The Cityview the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers. The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry's leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Price Range: $123 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 422
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong
Hotel Style:
#53 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#81 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cityview Hong Kong staff and other travellers.
55 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (55)

Questions? Get answers from The Cityview Hong Kong staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask and you will be given.”
 of 5 bubbles , 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a premier room.”
 of 5 bubbles Lavern2014, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Perhaps a little noisy traffic wise. But I sleep with ear plugs anyway so wasn't a problem. The beds were very comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles 580judem, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher Floors will have better city views”
 of 5 bubbles M7253DDmichaelc, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“pay more money”
 of 5 bubbles ihuiw2015, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5