We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Reef Hotel Mombasa

Save
Traveller (399)
Room & Suite (75)
Pool & Beach (61)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good37%
  • Average22%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“pool bar”(14 reviews)
“live band”(5 reviews)
“haller park”(9 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (456)
There are newer reviews for The Reef Hotel Mombasa
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
80
108
82
24
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
80
108
82
24
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barlive bandhaller parkindian oceanmangotangapoolssafaridiscoanimatorsjoycenetsacrobatsalicetuskerrelaxationgrace
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018

This is the worst hotel that i have ever stayed in, we choose it for its location unfortunately it is the only good thing about it, The staff were rude and very lazy it seemed their policy is to avoid the customer or simply just...More

4  Thank diane1805
Response from GMReefHotel, Owner at The Reef Hotel MombasaResponded 5 March 2018

Hello unhappy customer. Its absolutely normal to be unhappy when you have a complaint but we suspect that due to the lack of absolutely any specifics , we really cant be sure how to react to your complaint. We are always here to assist, but...More

Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

If you want to get robbed and assaulted in and outside the hotel go there I have photos the security is a joke the management are aware of all this but do nothing and you will be intimidated in to paying for bad food bad...More

4  Thank Tony K
Response from GMReefHotel, General Manager at The Reef Hotel MombasaResponded 24 February 2018

DISHONESTY OF THE HIGHEST ORDER Your review is not accurate and does not reflect the truth in any way. You stayed in the hotel from 11Jan to 01st of February. During your stay (on the second night) your toilet developed a leak. You refused to...More

Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

I feel compelled to write this review to warn others about this awful hotel. This is my first review ever. We arrived late at night and were extremely tired my wife was holding my sleeping son, the check in took forever and we were the...More

5  Thank Azizi2018
Response from GMReefHotel, General Manager at The Reef Hotel MombasaResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Valued Guest, It is with a great deal of concern to note from your review that during my absence in Jan (i was on leave and out of the country)your stay at the Hotel was riddled with issues that should never have occured and...More

Reviewed 7 February 2018

Day 1. I was charged more than what was indicated on booking.com and their excuse was that the currency had gone up. Not my problem, I made a contract to pay the price indicated on the site the day I made the booking and got...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank noreenm66
Response from GMReefHotel, General Manager at The Reef Hotel MombasaResponded 10 February 2018

Dear Noreen, Thank you for taking the time to write to us. The rate you were charged on booking.com is the same rate that a guest is to pay on arrival or as per agreed terms on the site, we spoke to the cashier regarding...More

Reviewed 6 February 2018

Spent two weeks in the hotel. Had the same soft drink after meals through out. The pool is great. Poor internet connection. Very limited variety in cuisine. But the facility has great location, well laid out grounds and with small push it can give a...More

2  Thank geyMBUHG
Response from GMReefHotel, General Manager at The Reef Hotel MombasaResponded 10 February 2018

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Reef Hotel Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel for your vacation. We serve a variety of soft drinks from our menu of which guests can order anytime and any type ,if you wish to have a...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Mombasa
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beachfront
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free Parking
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Airport Transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Babysitting
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Tennis Court
Details
Price range
USD 79 - USD 134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 Best Value Hotel in Mombasa
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 79 - USD 134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 Best Value Hotel in Mombasa
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (399)
Room & Suite (75)
Pool & Beach (61)
Dining (25)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Philip F
25 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Lawrence N | Property representative |
yes its near ocean
0
Votes
chepkinoiyoagrovet1
4 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from joe e | Property representative |
Hi Dominic, Thanks for contacting us. Herewih find our contacts; Joshua Elloga Reef Hotel P.O Box 82234 Mombasa Tel: +254 703 446 940/ +254 722 205 918/ +254 736 474 005/ +254 0202 039707/ +254 0202 651230 Mob... More
0
Votes
nyarmusungu
23 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Amir H | Reviewed this property |
Rooms are ok, target superior rooms they are a bit better than standard rooms both are a bit poor. Good animation team and pool activities. All inclusive basis is amazing. Food is ok sometimes a lot of local food. Amazing... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Ask for sea facing rooms for best experience of the coast"
Read review
"beach views are the best!"
Read review
"ground floor has big family rooms"
Read review
"Choose a different hotel"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing