We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Reef Hotel

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Reef Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Reef Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 275: English reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

I visited the hotel for the first time from 23/12/16 to 27/12/16 with my family.On arrival i was well received and ushered in.The hotel has three big swimming pools and three baby pools so overcrowding is not an issues even if all the rooms are fully booked.4 Life guards are always on standby if need arises.The staff are friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrick m
Reviewed 28 December 2016

perfect location in nyali, however it seems the hotel was a bombshell some years ago but now it seems it would a lot of renovation, otherwise it would be a outdated. Frankly i think bad management is to blame. other than those few set backs the hotel is at a really good location nice popular beach, food was scrumptious especially...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank myke m
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Booked in on Thursday 15th December 2016 checked out early before the time i had intended to stay, i was in room 216, trust me, this hotel will soon be closed if this will be the trend. On that particular Thursday, my room had one bed so i requested for an extra bed for a young one, the room steward...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank alexmmusembi
tenga, General Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Dear client, Its is never great to receive such a review, but we do appreciate that you take the time to give us valuable feedback. The training os staff is ongoing and yes we can strive to improve and we do.It is nice that you also comment on the attitude of the positive staff you encountered. Some diners are theme...

Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Location is excellent but service is horrible. Staff are rude and very uncaring especially at the restaurant and bars. The rooms belong to a museum. We had booked and confirmed only to arrive and be informed that the hotel was full. The manager even had the guts to ask if we could share rooms. I wouldn't come back here for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KMugo
Nairobi
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Reef hotel is not what I used to know it for. From quality of food, to quality of service. The lawns are poorly kept to staff who were least concerned with my request to change the room. Inshort I just had my lastvisit there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B7192RKjosephk
tenga, General Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

We are always sad to receive such a complaint. We continue to receive praise for the quality of the food, atmosphere, entertainment and especially the spacious and luxurious gardens where clients can spread out .As concerning the request for a change of rooms, it likely we were full at that time and could not accomodate your request , however much...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 10 December 2016

The hotel has spacious rooms although with TV that doesn't work and bathrooms that flood, guest are mistreated at the "Tanga Bar" by the bar staff they only serve people who buy food first, avoid this bar if you are on all inclusive. They have good breakfast, dinner and entertainment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julieawino
Nairobi
Reviewed 26 November 2016

I booked to sleep here and a confirmation sent. On reaching there at 10.30pm, was told they are fully booked by a very rude and not concerned receptionist. I had sleep there earlier but that was the last time I will ever think of booking into that hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P6756PLgracem
Mauritius
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

The only downside was the rooms are dated and there were ants in the bathroom. The band at the beach bar was excellent and the pole dancers at the buffet were amazingly talented. The pool is huge and there is a lap area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank permanent-wanderlust
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The view was amazing. The food and entertainment were excellent. The staff was very helpful. The service was wonderful. Overall this was a great experience. We would recommend anyone to go here. Be sure to visit the gift shop across the street. It has everything you will need.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank danielsU4957LM
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 16 October 2016

I recently checked into the reef hotel, for the third time, hoping to experience some good service. I have before given this hotel a good review. But not what happened last month. I was booked into a room with non functional air conditioning. When it was finally repaired, the drainage failed leading to flooding at the door. To make it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allantheoutwardbound
joe e, Front Office Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Allan, Thanks for your detailed e-mail received. I must say that we are sorry for what happened when you checked in that night and what followed thereafter. The management would like to apologize for the chain of events that took place on said date. Housekeeping: The room steward who was on duty that day did not take all the...

347 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (325)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (129)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
4.5 km away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
941 reviews
5.1 km away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
520 reviews
2.7 km away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
342 reviews
4.6 km away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
126 reviews
0.9 km away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Reef Hotel Mombasa is a friendly, relaxed Hotel, professionally managed since 40 years by the same family to serve a mix of international and resident guests. The hotel offers a combination of resort facilities for beach holidays, as well as business services including conference rooms and corporate business facilities. The Reef Hotel Mombasa is conveniently situated on the white sandy beaches of Nyali overlooking the beautiful Indian Ocean. We are adjacent to the very best shopping areas, clubs, restaurants and golf courts and only 7 kilometres north of Mombasa city centre. The original Reef Hotel Mombasa was built in 1972. The hotel just had a significant renovation and has re-opened with new designed rooms and public areas. Reef Hotel rooms are air-conditioned, each with its own bathroom, balcony, telephone extension and TV. Buffets are the traditional way we serve meals with a international mix of cuisine. Enjoy our romantic candle-lit dinners on theme nights (African, Chinese, Lebanese, Indian, International, etc) and regular barbeques. A choice of 3 restaurants and 4 bars, and water sports directly on the beach assure you that the Reef Hotel Mombasa is ready for your holiday. With regular entertainment by our resident live band and disco, 3 fantastic swimming pools, Jacuzzi, tennis courts, relaxed sun-bathing and elegant evenings; yours will be a very special holiday in Reef Hotel Mombasa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Reef Hotel

Address: Nyali beach | off Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 82234-8010, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Price Range: $105 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reef Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Hotel Mombasa
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Reef Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Reef Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea facing rooms are not as large as the garden rooms so depends on individual preference”
370bhavnak, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have an amaizing ocean view”
pyramidm2017, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Apartments side are loud and near opposite the main road”
julieawino, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose this hotel the rooms are in need of renovation.”
allantheoutwardbound, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get the swimmingpool + lunch deal if you are with kids for 1500Khs.”
937abdulq, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5