We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Reef Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Reef Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 269: English reviews
Weinfelden, Switzerland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is near from the center, and the shoppingcenters. The place is directly to the beach, and the hotel have a big pool. The rooms are okay.. clean and basic. The breakfast buffet very big and good.. But be careful with the sour mangos :/

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 666melo
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wonderful staff, good food, though the pool bar could be quicker, and the amazing Moonshine Beach Bar made the Reef Hotel the perfect base for the holidays.Be sure to get the samosas at the pool bar, then plenty of cocktails, dancing and karaoke at the beach bar! We'll be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coufeyrac
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice pool, nice playground and ok restaurant serving a good variety of food. Also close access to the beach. The pool got quite busy and unfortunately I must complain about the 'slimy floor'. The pool of you step on the floor or swim underwater was really dirty making me get my kids out of there. Check your filters and clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aatifa e
tenga, General Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for making the effort to make a comment. Over the very busy xmas / new years period , we have 3 pools in use so I am not sure which one you are referring to, but we do clean and sanitize all of them daily. If i was to take a photo and send to you you eill...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Reef hotel is actually a very cosy hotel, it accommodates a cool beach lounge and a couple of restaurants that serve and offer tasty cuisine. However, the staff can be very arrogant especially the security manager called Festus who was extremely arrogant and racist. The hotel manager called Maulidi was very polite and humble. The arrogance and insult was not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Murtaza O
tenga, General Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

We always take criticism very seriously at the Reef Hotel, and racism is an especially disturbing complaint. However the Hotel management is 100% Kenyan African and the majority of our clients are Africans so I wonder how the Racism element comes into the complaint. Your complaint does not go into any details so its not possible to give you a...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the hotel for the first time from 23/12/16 to 27/12/16 with my family.On arrival i was well received and ushered in.The hotel has three big swimming pools and three baby pools so overcrowding is not an issues even if all the rooms are fully booked.4 Life guards are always on standby if need arises.The staff are friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrick m
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

perfect location in nyali, however it seems the hotel was a bombshell some years ago but now it seems it would a lot of renovation, otherwise it would be a outdated. Frankly i think bad management is to blame. other than those few set backs the hotel is at a really good location nice popular beach, food was scrumptious especially...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank myke m
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked in on Thursday 15th December 2016 checked out early before the time i had intended to stay, i was in room 216, trust me, this hotel will soon be closed if this will be the trend. On that particular Thursday, my room had one bed so i requested for an extra bed for a young one, the room steward...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank alexmmusembi
tenga, General Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Dear client, Its is never great to receive such a review, but we do appreciate that you take the time to give us valuable feedback. The training os staff is ongoing and yes we can strive to improve and we do.It is nice that you also comment on the attitude of the positive staff you encountered. Some diners are theme...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Location is excellent but service is horrible. Staff are rude and very uncaring especially at the restaurant and bars. The rooms belong to a museum. We had booked and confirmed only to arrive and be informed that the hotel was full. The manager even had the guts to ask if we could share rooms. I wouldn't come back here for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KMugo
Nairobi
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Reef hotel is not what I used to know it for. From quality of food, to quality of service. The lawns are poorly kept to staff who were least concerned with my request to change the room. Inshort I just had my lastvisit there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B7192RKjosephk
tenga, General Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

We are always sad to receive such a complaint. We continue to receive praise for the quality of the food, atmosphere, entertainment and especially the spacious and luxurious gardens where clients can spread out .As concerning the request for a change of rooms, it likely we were full at that time and could not accomodate your request , however much...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 10 December 2016

The hotel has spacious rooms although with TV that doesn't work and bathrooms that flood, guest are mistreated at the "Tanga Bar" by the bar staff they only serve people who buy food first, avoid this bar if you are on all inclusive. They have good breakfast, dinner and entertainment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julieawino

333 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (311)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Other (129)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
5.1 km away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
498 reviews
4.9 km away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
329 reviews
4.6 km away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#8 of 57 in Mombasa
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
115 reviews
0.9 km away
PrideInn Hotel Nyali
PrideInn Hotel Nyali
#12 of 57 in Mombasa
167 reviews
2.6 km away
Nyali International Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Reef Hotel Mombasa is a friendly, relaxed Hotel, professionally managed since 40 years by the same family to serve a mix of international and resident guests. The hotel offers a combination of resort facilities for beach holidays, as well as business services including conference rooms and corporate business facilities. The Reef Hotel Mombasa is conveniently situated on the white sandy beaches of Nyali overlooking the beautiful Indian Ocean. We are adjacent to the very best shopping areas, clubs, restaurants and golf courts and only 7 kilometres north of Mombasa city centre. The original Reef Hotel Mombasa was built in 1972. The hotel just had a significant renovation and has re-opened with new designed rooms and public areas. Reef Hotel rooms are air-conditioned, each with its own bathroom, balcony, telephone extension and TV. Buffets are the traditional way we serve meals with a international mix of cuisine. Enjoy our romantic candle-lit dinners on theme nights (African, Chinese, Lebanese, Indian, International, etc) and regular barbeques. A choice of 3 restaurants and 4 bars, and water sports directly on the beach assure you that the Reef Hotel Mombasa is ready for your holiday. With regular entertainment by our resident live band and disco, 3 fantastic swimming pools, Jacuzzi, tennis courts, relaxed sun-bathing and elegant evenings; yours will be a very special holiday in Reef Hotel Mombasa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Reef Hotel

Address: Nyali beach | off Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 82234-8010, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Price Range: $101 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reef Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, HRS, Jovago.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Hotel Mombasa
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Reef Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Reef Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Apartments side are loud and near opposite the main road”
 of 5 bubbles julieawino, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose this hotel the rooms are in need of renovation.”
 of 5 bubbles allantheoutwardbound, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get the swimmingpool + lunch deal if you are with kids for 1500Khs.”
 of 5 bubbles 937abdulq, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms over looking the sea are serene. Rooms are not modern but they are nice and clean.”
 of 5 bubbles 252graceo, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Sea - Facing rooms”
 of 5 bubbles R1243MKrachelm, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay