We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sekenani Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sekenani Camp
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 81: English reviews
Start your review of Sekenani Camp
 Click to rate
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We travelled to the mara for the first time with aged parents and all of us had a phenomenal experience. It has a rustic touch and the tented camps overlook a thicket with a stream running through it. At night one can hear the leopards serving each other and the lions roaring in the middle of the night. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abbanyenterprise
St. Helena, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had the pleasure of staying at Sekenani Camp a few weeks ago while visiting the Mara. Grace and Natalie were both absolutely lovely, and so accommodating! My tent was gorgeously appointed. One of the highlights of the trip was slipping into a hot bath in my very private tent, glass of wine in hand, watching wild elephants and giraffes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
Sekenani-Camp-Mara, Sales & Marketing at Sekenani Camp, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Thank you for the nice & kind review, we are really happy that you did enjoy your stay with us. We look forward to having you back some other time. Best regards.

Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Yet again Sekenani Camp ticked the boxes. Wonderful secluded location in a forest on a small river. Animals heard moving around at night and a profusion of birds during daylight. Great driver/guide in Simon who is very knowledgeable and made each game drive exciting. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good food and a warm fire pit to sit around in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm H
Karachi, Pakistan
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Excellent camp with v.good and obliging manager Grace, excellent service good and helpful staff clean and relaxing site and surroundings has a hanging bridge between rooms and tented camp small stream flowing in the camp, limited wifi and mobile network when no electricity road to camp from main road needs to be improved generator for electricity

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zahoorkhan
Sekenani C, Sales & Marketing at Sekenani Camp, responded to this review

Hi Zahoor Khan Thank you for the kind review. We are happy that you did enjoy your stay at Sekenani camp Maasai Mara. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future. you are most welcome back. Blessed times.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 6 January 2017

I absolutely fell in love with Sekenani Camp, is this the most luxurious experiences you will ever have? nope, but it is by far so authentic and comfortable that makes you want to stay there forever. I was there with my husband this past July and I was wowed. We were supposed to stay at the Mara Sarova but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magdaely
Sekenani C, Sales & Marketing at Sekenani Camp, responded to this review

Hi Magdaely, Thank you for taking your time out to review your stay. We appreciate this highly & hope to have you again at your convenience. Wishing you a blessed year.

Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Sekenani camp is a hidden Gem. We visited the place for honeymoon. It is well secluded and the staff were exceptional particularly Charles (the waiter) and Simon our tour guide. Simon was persistent until we saw all the big five in a matter of two days though we were there for three nights. He was also flexible to take us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mutha W
Sekenani C, Sales & Marketing at Sekenani Camp, responded to this review

Warm Greetings for the day Mutha, We hope you are well today. We apologize for the inconvenience you received over your vacation. As we spoke, the swimming pool had a leakage which had to be fixed. It's well operating now. We take all that you have taken in stride and will work to ensure that this does not happen again....

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 23 December 2016

When my husband asked Nick how we would know if a lion was nearby, he said, "Oh, you'll know." And later when we heard the lion huffing nearby, we knew. That's when we knew this was the real thing, the real safari experience. It was glorious.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sherryb678
Sekenani C, Sales & Marketing at Sekenani Camp, responded to this review

Hi Sherry, Thank you for the nice review. Nick has a great experience with wildlife, having his accompany is always memorable..! We were delighted to have you stay in our camp, Looking forward to having you some other time. Wishing you a prosperous year 2017.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

My daughter and I spent 4 nights here. The camp was practically empty while we were there, which just meant that we had excellent service from the staff, particularly Natalie, our waitress, and the chef, who tailored the meals just for us. Our tent was clean and well sited overlooking the valley, with visiting warthogs, elephants and birds. Simon was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
Sekenani C, Sales & Marketing at Sekenani Camp, responded to this review

Hi Stephen, Thank you for the kind remarks and we are happy to know that you did enjoy your stay with us. Yes, the roads have been poor, luckily there is a grader working on the same. The roads are better now. Looking forward to having you again at our camp. Blessed times

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Attentive personnel and staff. They helped us organizing our whole trip in África. Without doubt Sekenani is the best place to stay in Masai Mara where I would spend no less than 3 or 4 nights. Incredible place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosana_CL
Sekenani C, Sales & Marketing at Sekenani Camp, responded to this review

Hi Rosana, Thank you for the kind review, it was really nice to have you at our camp. We look forward to seeing you again in near future. Happy & Blessed New Year.

Comlumbia
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We spent an absolutely incredible 6 nights here . They picked us up in Nairobi and we had (yes it's a long day and the government needs to fix the road ....but we wanted to see the countryside .... flying is a simple option as well) We arrived -beautiful trip - and after 5 hours with the owner ( happened...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank togoandcomeback
Sekenani C, Sales & Marketing at Sekenani Camp, responded to this review

Hi Togo (Lisa), Happy New Year! Thank you for the kind review. We were really happy to have you at our camp. Blessings

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sekenani Camp offers an authentic bush experience for visitors wishing to get close to nature. Set at the source of Sekenani River, The camp offers a serene environment in which to relax, unwind and enjoy all the Mara has to offer. It comprises fifteen exceptionally well-designed tents set well apart for ensure maximum privacy. Each tent has a wooden floor and en-suite bathroom complete with full-length bathtub. The camp is accessible in five hours by road or a 45minute flight from Nairobi. Custom safari Vehicles are available by reservation. In addition to game drives in the reserve, guest may walk along the river or over the hills behind the camp escorted by Masai guides. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sekenani Camp

Address: 6 km from the Sekenanai gate, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $438 - $683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sekenani Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sekenani Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sekenani Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sekenani Camp staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Pretoria, South Africa

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sekenani Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms closer to dinnig room and lounge”
zahoorkhan, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“some rooms take to the stream where sometimes if you're very very lucky you can watch elephants going for a sip of water”
Magdaely, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“they're all good!”
melissabO9394IK, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All the cabins have good views. We liked #9 and #10 because it feels like your cabins are nested up high on a tree.”
1000HappyDays, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Fantastic views”
49carolh, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5