We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sarova Panafric

Show Prices
#19 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sarova Panafric
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

730 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sarova Panafric
See the most recent reviews
Showing 654: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

Good hotel, great rooms. Security on every floor .Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices.Dinner was a disaster,slow service.We had dinner twice hoping it would improve.The Indian dinner was so bad that I had to send it back . I was offered an alternative but I was too upset to carry on . The meat was so tough and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 7 November 2016

The room was quiet, clean, and easily accessible. The staff were helpful, kind, and very welcoming. The spa and pool were great as well and I enjoyed the breakfast buffet! I recommend staying here - it was a lovely home away from home.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hyperhobbit07
1David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review of our hotel. We appreciate your kind words. It gives us great joy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and this encourages us to even to be better. We would be excited to host you gain in the near future. Yours Sincerely, David Gachuru General Manager

Reviewed 6 November 2016

The hotel is old but in quite good shape. The most disappointing thing was the weak wi-fi- unbelievable for a hotel that is supposed to be so exclusive. However the room was comfortable and the balcony was big. The restaurant was good and the breakfast buffet had many options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek K
1David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review

Dear Derek, Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. We highly appreciate your feedback. Sarova Panafric is a Panafrican hotel with over 50 years in existence and we always celebrate our heritage throughout the hotel. We also appreciate your kind words on the comfort of the room and our breakfast spread. Thank you...

Canada
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We always enjoy staying at the apartments at the Panafric Hotel and this time was no different. We book the apartment for one month and it is very reasonably priced. The kitchenette is perfect for cooking your own food, which helps with the expense of eating out as well. But the Flame Tree Restaurant at the hotel is a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
1David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review

Dear Nicole, Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review! It gives us great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our serviced apartments are tailored to offer comfort and convenience for our guests at the most competitive rates. Our location is most ideal with ease of access to the Central Business District and major institutions. We...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The hotel was fine, but the real issue was the hotel charged us TWICE for a one night stay, and despite many calls, emails, promises of a refund and a dispute via our credit card, they will not refund our money. After booking the room on GetARoom (through kayak) and paying up front for our one night stay, they charged...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ethan S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This is a well-priced hotel in a central location of Nairobi; it's nothing special but is a clean and comfortable business hotel with a range of basic amenities. The room was clean, basic, and otherwise comfortable for a short stay (I stayed for 3 nights). The breakfast spread was impressive and the staff pleasant. It is nice that there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kereuter
1David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review

Dear Kereuter, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience of our hotel. We highly appreciate your analysis of our hotel. We are particularly happy that you liked the hotel upkeep as well as what we offer. We understand the issue of a few limitations such as another restaurant and we assure you that it is part of...

Amman, Jordan
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I'm realizing that choosing a hotel or more correctly to say the area, is largely influenced by the attractions you are planning to visit. As you know the traffic in Nairobi is getting worse and worse so to avoid it its better to choose a hotel close to where you want to go. I would say Panafric is a midway...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
1David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review

Dear Alex, Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. We highly appreciate your feedback. Choosing an ideal hotel in Nairobi for your business / leisure trip can be a daunting task from the very many options available. We are glad that you found Sarova Panafric strategically located within easy reach to all key areas and...

Perth
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We only stayed one night but the room was clean with good amenities and a comfortable bed Staff were courteous and the evening meal we had was excellent. The hotel was quiet despite this being a Saturday night We also enjoyed the excellent buffet breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Perthcott
1David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review

Dear Perthcott, Thank you for sharing such a positive feedback! We value your candid feedback. It gives us great joy to learn that your stay with us was memorable and this is an indication that we are not only meeting but exceeding our guest’s expectations. We look forward to hosting you again. Yours Sincerely, David Gachuru General Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 September 2016

The Sarova is a basic hotel good for short trips. It is inexpensive and the rooms are clean but basic. The food served at the restaurant is very good (try the steak burger but only if you are really hungry). There is also a fantastic spread for breakfast. What I really enjoyed about this hotel are the staff. They were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GeorgeHarris1000
1David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review

Dear George, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We would like to assure you that we value our guest’s feedback. We appreciate your comments and look forward to doing even better in serving our valued customers. Once again thank you and we look forward to hosting you soon. Yours Sincerely, David Gachuru General Manager

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Still is a wonderful place to visit. Have done it so many times in my lifetime that I feel so connected. Love the ambience, its proximity is worth mentioning. One can actually walk to town and back with ease. It's very easy to reach even from the airport. Flame tree restaurant is ma favorite. Whiling away on a Friday evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2hotpop
1David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing a wonderful review of our hotel. It is always a pleasure to host for over so many years! We value your continued business support. You are a true testament of our commitment to a long term relationship with our clients and for your case; family. Thank you for being part of the Sarova family...

255 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (224)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,075 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
924 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
424 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
849 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Price Range: $190 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Panafric 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sarova Panafric staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
3 months ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Glasgow, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Sarova Panafric staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one of the new rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles georgehK2535WE, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 410”
 of 5 bubbles Karen255114, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors offer better views”
 of 5 bubbles alexf120, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with swimming pool vieware quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Blanka_Novakova, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose the upgraded rooms, # x22 to x33 on each floor, for an interior, locked hallway”
 of 5 bubbles CoryT412, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5