We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sarova Stanley

Jumia TravelUSD 180*
View Deal
#8 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 333*
USD 180*
Great Deal
USD 212*
USD 215*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Sarova Stanley
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sarova Stanley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 985: English reviews
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent customer service. Look for one great Titus Mumina! Tasty variety of cuisines served in a beautifully done setup with friendly chefs. A swimming pool, fitness club and a wide sitting space is everyone's dream. This is the place to be.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ISAVWAISAAC
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your support and patronage of Sarova Stanley and for the time taken to share your experience with us. We are glad to note that once again our associates have lived up to our service promise, of Refreshing African Hospitality and ensured that you had a wonderful time with us. We have taken recognized Mr. Mumina...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for a week with a friend in April 2017. The hotel is very safe with excellent security. There is a great buffet breakfast (important as i was not used to kenyan food so knew I could eat well at least every morning before leaving for the day) Really nice rooftop swimming pool/health club. Also thai restaurant. Rooms spacious. Air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank havana1549
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your support and patronage of Sarova Stanley, as well as, the time spared to share your experience with us. Your feedback is extremely important to us. We are delighted to note that you all enjoyed your stay and that once again our associates delivered on our service promise of refreshing African Hospitality. Certainly, and as...

Noida, India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent a night here on my way to my Kenyan safari. The room was spacious and it was a very very comfortable stay. The staff went out of their way to make the night memorable for us, thank you. Breakfast was amazing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malinasingh
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your support and patronage of Sarova Stanley and for time spared to share your experience with us. We agree with you. Our associates are one of our biggest asset if not the very biggest one. We are proud that once again their lived up to our service promise of refreshing African Hospitality and offered you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a lovely hotel with excellent accommodation. The customer service was impeccable and the food superb. My room was very comfortable with good air conditioning and a comfortable bed. Good TV, internet was excellent and the room suitable for working as I was over in Nairobi on business. I particularly enjoyed eating on the terrace bar. An excellent stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank The_mkbjla
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for making us your preferred hospitality partner and for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to note that once again our associates lived up to our tradition and ensure that you had an excellent stay. As we earnestly look forward to hosting you again. We appreciate your endorsement of our services and hope that...

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wifi did not work upon arrival - "IT was working very hard on it" and indeed later in the evening it was fixed. Hence still a five star review for an otherwise perfect stay in a very comfortable historic hotel very much in the centre of Nairobi. Tusker beer was famously first tried in the hotel in 1922 - and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hermes_NL
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your support and patronage of Sarova Stanley and for sparing your time to share your experience with us. We are glad to note that you were able to relate with our rich heritage during your stay as well as sample not only what we offer bur what Nairobi as a destination has to offer. Above...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Room 613. Hotel offers a very high standard of comfort and service at a very reasonable price. Rooms are being provided with all amenities and comfort. The only negative were the very tainted and worn curtains, which they seem to have forgotten to renew, over and over again. Breakfast offered all what you may expect from a hotel with this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 483antonv
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your support and patronage of Sarova Stanley and for making as your preferred hospitality partner during your recent visit to Nairobi, as well as, for the time spared to share your experience with us. Your feedback is important to us. It acts as a yardstick to our performance. Allowing us a glimpse of what we...

Curepipe
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Every thing excellent including its splendid Location in the city Centre, very friendly and reliable staff , delicious varieties of foods including swaili's, welcoming decors, quick service and response to any request at any time, tight security controls. Deserve 20/ 10 ( Yes twenty over ten ). Regards Subhiraj (Mauritius)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GajadhurRavi
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your support and patronage of Sarova Stanley and for the time taken to share you experience with us. We are delighted to note that during your recent stay with us. Our associates, once again, lived up to our service promise and delivered above your expectation. we do agree with you that our team members are...

Athens
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Classic Chesterfield sofas and armchairs at the lobby give the place a classic character of English style. The history of the place is well presented via various old photographs hanging on the walls. The rooms are very spacious, but the air conditioning system is old and needs renewal. On the terrace there are a bar-restaurant and a heated pool. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Angelos1
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your support and patronage of Sarova Stanley and for making us your preferred hospitality partner during your recent visit into Nairobi. Your feedback is important to us; as it acts like a yard stick to our performance, allowing us to learn of areas that require our additional attention to make better as well as those...

Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Classic hotel with superfriendly staff. Tasty food in the restaurants and a great heated ootdoor pool and bar. Walking distans to a lot of tings i Nairobi. AC didn't work in one of our rooms and the traffic can be disturbing. Will return here again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heleanders
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your support and patronage of Sarova Stanley and for the time taken to share you experience with us. We agree with you, as part of our heritage, and sibling upbringing of both the city and the hotel. Sarova Stanley enjoys a vantage point in the city centre. As we look forward in hosting you again,...

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Very central location, staff is absolutely client focussed and very helpful. We went for a great walk for a couple of hours checking out the Convention Centre nearby, the public parks, the Maasai market and, and, and. Great breakfast and dinner in the hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your support and patronage of sarova stanley and for the time taken to share your experience with us. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to hosting you again in the not distant future.

416 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (361)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (67)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
951 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
861 reviews
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
462 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Exchange Bar
Exchange Bar
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $180 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sarova Stanley staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Sarova Stanley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For executive meetings, ask for Patterson or Huxley rooms. The ambience is exceptional.”
ISAVWAISAAC, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with good WiFi signal and a double bed.”
WillemS320, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the streets have nice views but noisy, inside rooms are quitter, corner rooms are preferable.”
charalambosk2015, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The right side of the hotel offers good view to the activities on the CBD -Street”
ChristianMedupin, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“high room for a better view. Make sure there is no construction going on.”
peterfF9940GL, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Jumia Travel
USD 180* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 212
Booking.comUSD 215
AMOMAUSD 333
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates