We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairview Hotel

Show Prices
#5 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Fairview Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,132: English reviews
Nairobi
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed at the place twice. Seven years ago, for 40 days, and this year, escaping elections, for one week. Will not repeat what has been said below (a lot), will confine myself to some features only and my impressions. You check in and bring your luggage. The rooms may be at the remote place and up to 3rd floor. No...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gandibober
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

We just stayed there for a night. It is an old colonial hotel, an oasis in the middle of the city, with a lot of character. There are some different restaurants insideiand a swimming pool with a bar, just like a small resort, so you can stay there comfortably with no need of going outside for some days. Security is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fran T
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I share the positive views of other travelers to this hotel. Its sprawling grounds are a throw back to another era, which is amply represented in the photos throughout the property. Gracious service everywhere. Modern rooms with good wifi connection. Several excellent restaurants. The sunken bathtubs in some rooms might be difficult to navigate for older guests or those with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RPM59
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

We just finished safari and would like find some place to relax and have hot shower before departure on 26/02/13. This hotel is the best to choose. As reviewer said in the past, they have beautiful ground garden, security area, excellent in value which including free wifi at room and free breakfast, excellent customer service. I love their power hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mindaiwu
Newbury Park, California
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight at this lovely hotel in October before leaving the next day to Malindi Kenya. It was a great place to refresh after being on Safari for a few days in the Masai Mara. The grounds are peaceful and beautiful. Restaurants and food are excellent, pool area, gym, free wifi, nice staff make for a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lisa G
Cannon Beach, Oregon
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Patrick met us at the airport with towels to wipe off the travel grime, and a bottle of cold water. He entertained us with the history and current events of Nairobi and Kenya - most enjoyable! In a hectic city, the hotel is an oasis of calm. Peaceful grounds to wander in the grand old English style. Enjoyed a cocktail...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvrbrit2
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed here for two nights prior to departing on a safari. Even after reading the great reviews I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel in the middle of Nairobi. The hotel is great, nice and spacious, lovely grounds, free wifi. The building we stayed in had no lifts and we were on the top floor. Our bags were delivered...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tracey H
Mombasa, Kenya
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Excellent hotel , good thing about fairview is what they quote is what you pay. Unlike other hotels price is given over the phone at fairview a price is given on brochure .the hotel is very fairly priced and the breakfast is excellent . The room rate is with breakfast . There rooms are bigger in size and spacious with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandip B
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed there for one night on our honeymoon before heading to Maasai Mara. The hotel is amazing, like all reviews said. Very beautiful grounds, the food is excellent, everything is really nice. However, we were disappointed there, after booking the executive suite for this night, we were asked there to take another room (one category less) because someone else...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mohammad H
FairviewNairobi, Manager at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review

I am disappointed that this happened; apologies. We do not believe in charging full for services not enjoyed and therefore offer to discount your room by 50%. Please get in touch with us on book@fairviewkenya.com so as to initiate the refund process. Kind Regards, Daniel Szlapak Joint Managing Director

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Loved the beautiful grounds and tranquil setting and a super pool great to chill out after a long haul flight. Only a 10min 300 shilling cab ride to downtown Nairobi (it was Sunday afternoon). Nice friendly and efficient service. We'll be back if in Nairobi.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dugnano

599 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (510)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (131)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (185)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.7 km away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
925 reviews
1.6 km away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,075 reviews
2.3 km away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
424 reviews
13.0 km away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
450 reviews
0.7 km away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Food & drink at the hotel
Mukutan Garden Cafe
Mukutan Garden Cafe
Cuisines: European, Bar, International, Contemporary, Pub
Mitende Atrium
Mitende Atrium
Cuisines: European, Italian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $228 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairview Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fairview Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in the Main Building if possible - our room was second floor with a view of the courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles whiteside4001, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The "first-class" rooms give you a little more space and often an outside area like a patio.”
 of 5 bubbles JennyC37, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlook the garden away from the front are great....”
 of 5 bubbles N3968CVpeterm, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay in main hotel for convenience”
 of 5 bubbles LondonHelly, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid one that overlooks the main car park, as it is noisy in the evenings.”
 of 5 bubbles Mzee-Iain, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5