We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

InterContinental Nairobi

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
InterContinental Nairobi
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

929 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Showing 844: English reviews
Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewed 19 October 2014

The Intercontinental was not a bad experience. The hotel is just absolutely no where near the standard of what the brand represents - the rooms, the amenities, the entertainment system (TV).... One thing though, given the situation in Nairobi the security and access control is quite good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dudulicious
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Dudulicious, Thank you for giving us feedback on your stay. I am happy to know that you found our hotel environment secure for you to relax in. Thank you for highlighting our room amenities. We are working on an upgrade of our facilities in phases and hope that we will be able to embark on these enhancements soon. We...

Hatfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2014

Spend just a night and checked out late the next day but I enjoyed my stay in this hotel, the restuarand and the pool bar were Also great. Staff were so nice and helpful. Like with so many places like that in nairobi the lobby is unnecessary croudy may be because of the lobby bar. The tv in the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prince S
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Prince S, Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. It gives me joy to hear that you found our colleagues welcoming and supportive. I am glad that you had time to patronize our F&B outlets. Did you know that our Bhandini Restaurant offers the best Indian Cuisine...

Reviewed 15 October 2014

Arrived and checked in at airport where i was collected by a hotel booked car. The driver was blocked in and i had to wait 45 minutes to get out, he then hadn't paid for the car park and we had to wait at the barrier. Room was ok, internet was slow and kept crashing. Bed and amenities were all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pwalker19
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Pwalker19, Thank you for your feedback on your stay. I make an apology in regards to your experience with airport pick up. This is very much regretted. I also appreciate you highlighting challenges with internet service. Our Director of IT is looking into continued enhancement. We will also work on improvement of bathroom facilities in phases and hope that...

Daytona Beach, Florida
Reviewed 10 October 2014

We stayed here twice during our trip to Kenya. It certainly has allot of "important" folks visiting. The restaurant food was good - great breakfasts. However, do not eat the BBque at the outside bar - order off the menu. The BBque was not only too tough to chew, we couldn't even cut it with a knife. The outside bar/pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pam w
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear pam w, I am grateful to receive your review on your recent stay. I am happy with your great compliments on breakfast. I am also glad that you enjoyed a relaxed environment at Makuti Bar. I have taken note of your concern about the barbeque served to you and sincerely apologize for the lapse in service. I have discussed...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 7 October 2014

Had read alot of reviews on this hotel before I arrived , most of which were poor , I must say it was a great surprise to find how wrong they all were , what an exceptional hotel from the time checked in if only for a short stay, great room , bars , restaurants and amenities all staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jimmy C
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Jimmy C, Thank you for your most extensive review on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to receive your comprehensive remarks on our hotel and facilities. Thank you for taking time to recognize our colleagues for their outstanding service. At InterContinental Nairobi, we strive to meet and exceed guest expectations – it is great to see that...

Pattaya, Thailand
Reviewed 7 October 2014 via mobile

Arrived @ 2000 and the extra bed was not put in till 23.30 had to call and visit front desk several times but the staff was not capable of organizing this. It was also put in the booking but staff is not capable to understand this. Hotel was dirty and ran down taps where falling of. For the money not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M123B
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear 666Dragon666, Thank you for taking time to share feedback regarding your stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the lapse in service which does not reflect our usual InterContinental Standards. I have discussed this matter with the relevant team members to avoid future repeat. We know you have a lot of choices when it comes to accommodation, however, I...

Tucson
Reviewed 4 October 2014

We stayed one night while returning from a six weeks safari trip. The hotel is absolutely beautiful! We received an upgrade and the room was very spacious and inviting. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. Also, we reserved a taxi to take us to the airport and the cost was very reasonable. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buntynick
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Buntynick, Thank you for the most comprehensive review on your recent stay with us. I am very happy with your wonderful remarks on our hotel. It gives me joy to note that our colleagues were supporting and your comments on their outstanding service are a great inspiration. At InterContinental Nairobi, we strive to meet and exceed guest expectations –...

Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed 3 October 2014

It is by far the best city break in nairobi. I have been living in nairobi for 2 years now, and the intercontinental never turned me down, we usually go to spend a night or two over the weekend. The staff are amazing, very nice people starting from the front desk passing by the waiters ending by the pool attendants....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ehab_lamey
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear ehab_lamey, Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased with your fantastic commentary on the conduct of our colleagues. It is our ambition to make it memorable to our guests all through their stay. I am also happy to note that you had time to relax in our swimming pool and...

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 October 2014

we stayed one night while going on safari and found the security at this hotel very reassuring in a city that was very hectic. if we went back we would definitely stay here as it was a very nice hotel. had the best breakfast buffet i think i have ever seen. it is a shame that the local authorities do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian f
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear brian f, I am happy to receive your feedback on your latest stay with us. I am grateful for your compliments on our breakfast. Did you know that our Bhandini Restaurant offers the best Indian Cuisine in town? We aspire to give our guests a pleasant and memorable stay. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed a secure...

Florence, Italy
Reviewed 29 September 2014

This is the third time this year that I am staying in the Intercon and this time for a whole week. It was good but it seems it's getting better. We had a great, spacious, clean and well furbished room. Service from check-in was superb. Staff, throughout the hotel, very courteous but naturally not "because I have to". The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CriticallyMe
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear CriticItaly2000, I am pleased to receive your wonderful review on your latest stay. I am grateful that you chose to stay with us again. Thank you for your compliments on the quality of our rooms. I am also happy to note that you found our colleagues courteous, offering unmatched service to you all the time. It is our greatest...

405 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (301)
Viewed
Room/Suite (78)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (23)
Viewed
Other (102)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 163 in Nairobi
1,054 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#28 of 163 in Nairobi
1,135 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#18 of 163 in Nairobi
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 163 in Nairobi
909 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 163 in Nairobi
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A haven in the city, this Nairobi hotel is ideally located for business, next to the Parliament building,walking distance to Kenyatta International Convention Centre and the government hub.This hotel is the ideal choice for discerning business travelers boasting an award winning Indian restaurant - Bhandini, a dine by the pool restaurant, coffee shop and bars.Explore attractions close to our hotel whether it is handmade African artifacts at Maasai market or the beautiful Nairobi National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $223 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Nairobi staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Nairobi staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from the lift shafts”
 of 5 bubbles BRYANP541, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Certain floors are refurbished recently. So may be ask for rooms in one of those floors.”
 of 5 bubbles GodwinT3, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“quiet rooms away from casino!”
 of 5 bubbles MonaB1980, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Outstanding Service Just ask if any assistant required”
 of 5 bubbles magam123, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get one to the right side of the hotel, the higher numbers on each floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 329willardt, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5