We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Show Prices
#6 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,467 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,269: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Sonesta St. George in Luxor for 1 night before boarding our Nile Cruise in Luxor. The room was clean, good bed but nothing outstanding about the hotel. The food was lacking from the hotel at the pool bar and the room service. I would recommend eating out in the city. Good value for the price though...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aocwagner
Dina E, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review

Thank you for getting back to us with your comments, we do not understand what do you mean by "food lacking from the hotel " as we have many outlets and they are serving different of kinds of food as well as the room service too. I would appreciate if you can send us a mail with more details about...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 1 week ago

The only disappointing hotel in our trip to Egypt, this hotel is a good 3 stars one, but doesn't even deserve a 4 stars, as soon as you enter the hotel you feel that you did the wrong choice if you are expecting something above 3 stars. The bad things: 1- Reception staff, not welcoming 2- WiFi paid in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anis H
Dina E, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, as a hotel dedicated to providing our guests with wonderful experiences, I am truly saddened to learn of any situation in which a guest feels we have fallen short of their expectations, however I did some investigations and knew that our reception staff tried to upgrade you to a Nile view room to avoid the...

Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here overnight as part of an off-the-ship cruise excursion. Wouldn't stay here again if I had the choice. At first glance, seemed very nice, good location, dinner very good. Downhill after that. Here we go... (1) bathroom had unbelievably high-tech shower and toilet. Couldn't figure out how to turn the heated seat off, and shower way too complicated -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank USMA74
Dina E, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review

Thank you for getting back to us with your comments about your recent stay. I copied all concerned departments and the appropriate action had been taken to fix your complaints. Just a few points I would like to mention regarding the intelligent toilets which are often a bit difficult to handle without reading the information and pushing the electronic bottoms...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is really old and dated, with the old style hair dryer that looked like an old vacuum cleaner, however, for the price of a night's stay, this hotel rate as 5 star. We ordered room service which was good and cost us $20! We had massages too, was okay, but it's cheap. Only thing I didn't like was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
Dina E, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other guests, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and we will be waiting for another visit soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great service with great food. A stunning view of the Nile from the pool. Hotel itself is in need of some cosmetic updating. Other than that, this hotel is an excellent value for money. The grand breakfast buffet is delicious, fresh, and abundant!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leena S
Dina E, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of your recent experience at our hotel. It’s a delight to hear that you enjoyed the magnificent view of the Nile while in the pool and that you enjoyed our restaurants. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We very much look forward to your return for another stay – and we...

Bilston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is very underestimated from the outside looks like any normal hotel but once you enter it's a whole different story the rooms are fantastic with great views over the Nile we had a side room the restaurant in the hotel was great with steak and prawns my wife had lamb amazing the shops around were very good price...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank globetrotters7586
Dina E, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this review, we are very happy you had a good time and enjoyed our unique location on the Nile. We wish to have you as a regular guest at our hotel and have a great day

Newark, Delaware
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was fine but dated; past it's prime. The pool area was very relaxing even if service was poor. The food was not good at all. One day it took over an hour for burgers to be delivered to the pool. And it was not busy at all. The next day I ordered a green Thai curry in coconut...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
Dina E, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review

As a hotel dedicated to providing our guests with wonderful experiences, I am truly saddened to learn of any situation in which a guest feels we have fallen short of their expectations, however after the investigations we did discover that you were right about your complaint and we thank you for getting back to us so we can correct this...

Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good things: View of nile outside was fantastic. Bad things : I had a bad experience with room & food. Room had 2 single beds instead of king size or double bed. room didn't have electric kettle. Toiletries were just so so. I asked for kettle they said you have to pay 100 Egyptian pounds per day. free Net was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faisal S
Dina E, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are happy you liked the view of the Nile, we are blessed with a unique location. I am sorry if you did not like the room and there was a problem with the kind of beds, be sure this was a misunderstanding and it will never happen again. Regarding...

Marbella, Spain
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I spent a week here enjoying the weather, the facilities, the helpful staff and all the sights that Luxor and environs offer. The room was great, the staff at the pool and food service fun and helpful. The impression is they care. Fabulous Nile frontage with pool and sun/dining deck, catch a boat from the hotel dock...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ptgdad
Dina E, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review

Thank you for recommending our hotel and Luxor City, we are very happy you had a good time and enjoyed the amazing view we have and the service and food. We hope to host you back again soon

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night. The hotel is located on the bank of River Nile with an amazing view. After touring mind boggling temples in Luxor, the hotel was just right for relaxing and winding down in the garden area behind the hotel with fantastic views especially at sunset. You can also reserve felucca rides which run from the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fuz27
Dina E, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and you tried the Felucca trip. Also it is great to know you relaxed and tried the massage. I wish we can have you as a regular guest at our hotel

1,487 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1009)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (254)
Viewed
Room/Suite (123)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (120)
Viewed
View from Room (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (324)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (431)
Viewed
Amenities (44)
Viewed
Diplomatic Suite (36)
Viewed
Direct Nile View Royal Club (44)
Viewed
Exective Nile View Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (70)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Royal Suite (53)
Viewed
Standard Room King Room (28)
Viewed
Standard Room Twin Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 km away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
1.1 km away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.1 km away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
861 reviews
0.8 km away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#9 of 54 in Luxor
872 reviews
6.6 km away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#16 of 54 in Luxor
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. Free Wifi in the lobby and the swimming pool . Also a happy hour every evening at Nobles Bar with a 30% discount from 7.30 pm to 8.30 pm ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Price Range: $42 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The higher rooms on the back have a very nice view of the NIle.”
Scubaboy412, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Left side of room is facing construction site. avoid it if possible.”
  • View from top floor
  • View of the room
VictorT14, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel if you can afford better, otherwise, take a Nile view room and avoid the noisy rooms on the street.”
sabanis, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms offer a glimpse of the Nile; if you want a real river view, you'll need an end room”
USMA74, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do negotiate with reservations for your choice for room & facilities”
250faisals, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5