Grand Palace Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Grand Palace Hotel

M-22,Shwe Htee Housing, Thamine Station Street Near the Bayint Naung Point, Mayangone Township,Yango, Yangon (Rangoon) Myanmar
Traveller (27)
Balcony Suite
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#56 of 197 hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Car hire
24-hour security
Valet parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
68Reviews1Q+A11Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 19
  • 7
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Maxin M wrote a review Feb 2022
Antwerp, Belgium10 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent service & helpful staffs.
Spacious and very clean rooms. Very quiet location. Well laid out parking area.
Buffet breakfast to die for!
The only downside was that our stay of three nights had to end.
Would I recommend?
NO!
I want it all for myself!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Traffic to the hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
chris wrote a review Oct 2018
Mandalay, Myanmar143 contributions43 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the new building、the hotel price is reasonable、 staffs are friendly. Rooms are clean、Only the bed quality have to improve. The main thing about hotel is to have a good rest. Hope next visit will be better.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GrandPalace123, Manager at Grand Palace Hotel
Responded 6 Jan 2019
Dear Christy, Mingalabar! Greeting from Grand Palace Hotel We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel, among the many of the hotels in Yangon, Myanmar. We are delighted to read your comments and pleased to see that your enjoyed the hotel room setting.We appreciated that you found our overall products and services during your recent stay. We are more than glad to sharing your compliments with our team members, who will be delighted to be recognized. Thank you again for your acknowledged our team's professional and friendly service as well as the hotel facilities. We would like to keep your name as our loyal customer and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SteveDaMusicMan wrote a review Oct 2017
Kerobokan, Indonesia10 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is so awesome! The staff is very friendly and willing to help in any way they can. My first room smelled fairly bad, but after letting the hotel staff know, they quickly arranged another room. This one smelled sooo a much better. They helped us every morning in arranging a taxi and even spoke to the driver so they knew where we were going. The breakfast buffet is amazing! Lots of different options to choose from. We had dinner here every night and the food was always delicious, and at a very reasonable price. The hotel manager was very personable and asked us, everyday, how we were doing. One last reason this place is so amazing; as I was scrolling through the 1 star reviews on Tripadvisor, each one had a personal response from hotel management apologizing and stating how they will make changes for better service in the future. This was my first time staying at the Grand Palace Hotel, and it definitely won't be my last.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GrandPalace123, Manager at Grand Palace Hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2017
Dear Mr. Steve Da Music Man, Mingalabar! Greeting from Grand Palace Hotel On Behalf of Management and Staffs of Grand Palace Hotel , Thank you for sharing your comment recent experience at Grand Palace Hotel Yangon. We are truly appreciated that you are sharing these gracious comments to us and delighted to know that you had a really enjoyed our Buffet Breakfast as well as hotel Services and Staffs.We always created to improve our service and all facilities. We would like to keep your name as our loyal customer and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best Regards, Hotel Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pyit Zone M wrote a review June 2023
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel service is poor. My room frequently experiences electricity blackouts, and I checked in very late. However, I was not granted a late check-out. The money I spent is not valuable because I only stayed for 12 hours.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zungyaci wrote a review Apr 2013
Hong Kong, China29 contributions71 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked 6 rooms (4 deluxe + 2 standard) for our group of 12 people for a 5-night stay. We checked in after midnight and enquired right away whether we could have late check-out as our return flight would also depart after midnight. We made it clear to the reception manager that we would only need any 2 rooms for freshening up ourselves from the heat before we departed for the airport. The manager said he had to consult his general manager and would see what he could do for us. Fair enough and we had no complaint at all.

On the following day the manager told me he had yet to speak to the GM. I told him to take his time as we were staying for a few more nights.

On the next day the manager approached me during breakfast and said that late check-out could not be offered. We were naturally disappointed (bearing in mind our midnight check-in and the number of rooms we were paying for as a group) and emphasized that we would only be using the 2 rooms to take a shower at night after we returned from our sightseeing activities during the day. The manager eventually agreed provided that we would check out the 4 deluxe rooms before the usual check-out time. We of course agreed and thanked him for his generosity.

On the last day of our stay we checked out the 4 deluxe rooms after breakfast as promised and moved all our luggages to the 2 standard rooms. We left for sightseeing and did not return to the hotel at all until after 8:30pm.

I asked for some extra towels for our group members to take a shower but was told each piece would cost 1,000 kyats. I was slightly surprised but paid in cash right away, thinking that we had already been given a favour.

However, when we checked out the remaining 2 standard rooms at 10pm intending to leave for the airport, we were shocked to hear that we had to pay an extra night for each of the 2 rooms! After much quarrel with the manager, I demanded to speak with the GM directly who however was not interested to hear me out at all over the phone. He even threatened to call the police and the immigration if we did not pay for the extra night.

We were only allowed to leave when we told them we would call our embassy if they insisted on cheating us. If we had not planned to check out sufficiently early for the airport, we would probably have yielded to their threat and pressure. There is no way I will ever stay at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Min Zaw A, Assistant Hotel Manager at Grand Palace Hotel
Responded 18 Feb 2014
Dear Zungyaci, First of all on behalf of Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for your great interest given us. First time when you decided to stay with us and 2nd time, let us know about your comments. We are taking into account for all your mentioned matters. It was my Reception Manager's mistake on the first day while discuss with you. He was telling you to take 2 Standard Rooms to freshening up instead of all rooms. But he did not tell you how much will be charged for those 2 Standard Rooms. However I am sorry again for charging towels used during freshening up, I believed at that time when everyone settled the payment matters for 2 Standard Rooms and extra Towels with any amount, I hope you will be leaving Hotel and leaving Myanmar with happiness. Reception Manager was witnessed about his conversation mistake and all the charges for 2 Standard Rooms and extra Towels are covered by him at last. But I only would like request from you to erase your comment from www.TripAdvisor.com if my response can make you satisfied. With all my best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
perrinking wrote a review Apr 2013
Sacramento, California2 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is not at all centrally located (it is nearly twenty minutes drive from the city center) and it is in fact a business hotel for locals. More importantly, the hotel staff performed terribly, to put it softly. This is important and disturbing: From the window of our hotel we witnessed a woman being beaten by her husband, who was staying at the hotel. While my boyfriend yelled at him to stop hurting her from the window, I ran downstairs to alert the staff. However, the various male staff members working that night did not care, at all. One even laughed at me. They did absolutely nothing, and proceeded -- only after much pleading on my behalf -- to merely stand outside while the guest continued to chase and beat his wife. My boyfriend had to go outside to shield her to help her get away from him. But once she finally got into a cab, the husband got into his car, and the hotel staff members actually assisted him by helping him in backing out of the narrow parking lot so that he could chase her down! This is all incredibly true, incredibly sad, and a reason not to stay here. It is not a good stay for tourists anyways, because of its useless location. Please, stay elsewhere. Consider staying at smaller guest houses or inns that are less fully government-controlled. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Min Zaw A, Assistant Hotel Manager at Grand Palace Hotel
Responded 18 Feb 2014
Dear Perrinking, Thank you for your comment. We appreciated for your points. Regarding transportation takes too long from Airport to Hotel and from Hotel to Airport was over now, since the Sky-bridge construction near the Hotel was over and it was not traffic jammed like before. Hotel has being renovated software and hardware since we received many foreign visitors, this included upgrading skills and service standard of our staff. Regarding fighting in the Hotel we appreciated for your kindness to other peoples. Because of the guest personal issues, we could not go in the middle of them and we have explained the persons concerned to solve outside of the Hotel and informed to authority. That's why they are decided to leave the Hotel. However we thank you again to let us know about our staff performance. I would like to request you to erase some of the writing in this comment.Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonah v wrote a review Mar 2016
1 contribution2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a nice hotel in Yangon. Rooms are spacious and clean, staff is friendly. The morning buffet that is included in the rate is great! The hotel is outside the center but we liked it, its only about 3 USD to take a taxi to the city center.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GrandPalace123, Duty Manager at Grand Palace Hotel
Responded 11 Mar 2016
Dear Mr.Jonah, Thank you for your feedback to us and we are warmly welcome your coming future. Best Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JangJJ wrote a review Nov 2015
Nonthaburi, Nonthaburi, Thailand20 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
it's far from downtown, location is not so good for tourist, but very good for business people who have to visit industrial estate area.

staff and service is very good, one night the air condition didn't work, they changed the room for me immediately, at lobby they have free juice to serve the guest 24 hours, I love chestnut juice very much, all staffs have very good service mind, they're pleased to help everything.

restaurant is ok, menu, cost and taste is so good.
room is clean as standard should be.
wifi in the room is not good.

even though I stayed here for 7 days for a business trip, location is far from downtown but I recommend that it's good hotel for tourist also, because I ever stayed at some hotels (3-4 starts) in downtown, but room cost is too expensive when compare with the room and service I got at this hotel, and taxi cost in Yangon is not expensive, so location is not big problem.

next time to visit Yangon, I will stay here again.

btw, bad experience was one night I smell smoking from another room on the same floor which is non-smoking floor, but it didn't occur by the hotel and staff anyway.

Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John R wrote a review July 2015
Farnham, United Kingdom430 contributions123 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A comfortable room on the first floor; the food in the evening restaurant was somewhat limited with very little vegetarian food. The staff did not speak much English. But the head of the restaurant, Soo Lin was very friendly and helpful with good English.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
daniel w wrote a review Nov 2013
norwalk, ct4 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Is there such a thing as truth in advertising? Not at this hotel! It is 15 minutes from the airport, and not an easy ride at that. They charged us $90 for a dumpy room with no windows that smelled of mold. There was no hot water, the air conditioner didn't work well, and there were numerous mosquitoes in the room. This should be a 1-star hotel and is worth no more than $40. My advice? Stay somewhere else....
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Min Zaw A, Assistant Hotel Manager at Grand Palace Hotel
Responded 18 Feb 2014
Dear Daniel, On behalf of the Management and Staff of Grand Palace Hotel, I personally thank you for your comment posted on November last year. The transportation time from Hotel to Airport taken more than 15 was true at the time of you wrote. It would be our weak point to update services info in the website, when we place in website the sky-bridge construction was not started and we missed to correct on website. In last year November traffic jammed was terrible and we all appreciated for all our guests came to us to discover Grand Palace during this heavy traffic time. And your room with no-window and paying 90US$ was I think somewhere mistaken and we will look into that. And we are trying the best for all our Guests soon after you wrote comment about room with smell, room with mosquitoes, Hot water in bath-room not working and bed-room Air condition was not good, etc. However thanks again for your comments and please visit us again to see changes of Grand Palace Hotel by yourself instead of getting info from me or from others. Lastly please adjust your writing if my response can satisfied you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John R asked a question Apr 2015
Farnham, United Kingdom430 contributions123 helpful votes
Can I pay the Hotel with a Credit Card?
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Mingalabar! Greeting from Grand Palace Hotel Yangon, Thank you for your inquiry, we do accept for VISA and MASTER Card for every payment. Thanks again and hope to see you soon in future. Best wishes, Grand Palace Hotel
Maxin M wrote a tip Feb 2022
Antwerp, Belgium10 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Traffic to the hotel."
Read full review
John Jackson wrote a tip Sept 2019
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"quieter floors, quieter room, all room are excellent"
Read full review
pianoviolin wrote a tip Feb 2017
Northern Ireland120 contributions143 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Some views are better than others"
Read full review
nonstopjames wrote a tip Jan 2017
Lakewood, California2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are great in their own way"
Read full review
ocmoneyguy wrote a tip Jan 2017
Irvine, California1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They're opening a new part of the hotel that will be luxury"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Yangon (Rangoon) area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$48 - AU$56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MyanmarYangon RegionYangon (Rangoon)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRAND PALACE HOTEL (AU$48): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Yangon, Myanmar) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Palace Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Palace Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Shwedagon Pagoda (7.8 km), U Thant House (6.3 km), and Nga Htat Gyi Pagoda (7.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Palace Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Palace Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Palace Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Palace Hotel?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Palace Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Seeds Restaurant & Lounge, Le Cellier, Wine Bar & Restaurant, and Secret Taste.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Palace Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Palace Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to Grand Palace Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Aung San Suu Kyi House (5.6 km) and Martyrs Mausoleum (7.3 km).
All Yangon (Rangoon) HotelsYangon (Rangoon) Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)Hotels near Grand Palace Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars