We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,901: English reviews
Ngapali, Myanmar
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

All of the staff I had contact with, starting from the doorman, to the receptionist, the bell boy, in-room dining staff to the waiters, have been amazing. I was surprised by the great level of English and by the professionalism. Unique experience. I also have to mention the breakfast. Have never seen a variety and quality like this at a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel M
Manish G, Manager at Sule Shangri-La Yangon, responded to this review

Dear Daniel M, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are complimented by your positive comments with our hospitality and service. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the breakfast buffet and your great feedback on the staff members. Thank you for choosing Sule Shangri-La, Yangon....

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Although it might not exactly be on the same level as other hotel of the group it is a very nice hotel in a central location of Yangoon. Book a room in the horizon club to have a fantastic view of the shwedagon pagoda. The hotel has an excellent restaurant with a great choice of food and wines.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joerg S
Manish G, Manager at Sule Shangri-La Yangon, responded to this review

Dear Joerg S, Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the panoramic view from Horizon Club Lounge and room and that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for choosing Sule Shangri-La, Yangon. It was a great pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming...

Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is very well located in Yangon. Scott's market is at the back of the hotel and the centre of Yangon is an easy walk away. Our room was large and comfortable. The staff all seemed very well trained and were very helpful and friendly. The cafe served a very good buffet with a very wide variety of food....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davies72
Manish G, Manager at Sule Shangri-La Yangon, responded to this review

Dear Davies72, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed the breakfast buffet, location of the hotel and were happy with our services. We are sorry to read that you had some difficulties to communicate then please accept our sincere apologies. It was a...

Hawaii
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Given that tourism is not well developed yet in Myanmar, I was not expecting too much even in a highly rated hotel. i was proved wrong as we thoroughly enjoyed our two stays totaling 4 nights here. The room was comfortable and adequate in size, with a good size bathroom and good amenities. We paid for a Horizon Club Room....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kupunakane
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here 2 nights prior to our Avalon Irrawaddy River cruise and one night after. This hotel stay was included in our package. I am a travel counselor and look for all kinds of things my clients could complain about. Check in and out was seamless. The bank located in the hotel was so convenient for exchanging currency. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Manish G, Manager at Sule Shangri-La Yangon, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience, here at the Sule Shangri-La, with us. We are complimented by your positive comments with our hospitality and service. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the breakfast buffet and were happy at the pool. Thank you for choosing Sule Shangri-La, Yangon. My team...

Tucson
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at 4 hotels in Myanmar, all pretty top rated. This was the only one that I could not find any problems with no matter how small. Beautiful rooms and common spaces, best breakfast we had in Myanmar, nice pool and spa area. The staff was outstanding. I could have stayed in the hotel all the time and avoided...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank campfollowerTucson
Manish G, Manager at Sule Shangri-La Yangon, responded to this review

Dear campfollowerTucson, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience, here at the Sule Shangri-La, with us. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed the breakfast buffet, Spa, Pool, location and your positive comments about our team. It is always encouraging to read such good feedback and the teams surely values your comments and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel and thought it was extremely good. The room was spacious and extremely well provided with toiletries,dressing gown etc. Good mirrors, comfortable beds. Plenty of space to unpack. TV had good selection of channels. Pool area was compact but not overcrowded. Restaurant was always busy but we enjoyed the buffet dinner and breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marion A
Manish G, Manager at Sule Shangri-La Yangon, responded to this review

Dear Marion A, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience, here at the Sule Shangri-La, with us. We are complimented by your positive comments with our hospitality and service. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the breakfast buffet and were happy multiple TV channels. Thank you for choosing Sule Shangri-La, Yangon. My...

Traralgon
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a highly rated hotel and lives up to its rating. The staff were outstandingly friendly and co-operative. The rooms were well appointed and serviced. The hotel had excellent facilities including a swimming pool, gym, bar, restaurants, and extensive lobby/lounge area suitable for meeting other folk or just relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin W
Manish G, Manager at Sule Shangri-La Yangon, responded to this review

Dear Gavin W, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are complimented by your positive comments with our hospitality and service. It is always encouraging to read such good feedback and the teams surely values your comments and are eagerly looking forward to being of service to you...

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second Shangri La in two different country that I have visited in this year. Room is again small and tired looking, but do comes with good room amenities. The horizon club is small and the food is so so, unlike the Horizon Club at Shangri La Tanjung Aru in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah 😀. The location is good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annecheehyde2018
Manish G, Manager at Sule Shangri-La Yangon, responded to this review

Dear annecheehyde2018, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that your great feedback on the staff members. We are sorry to read that rooms did not met your expectations. I would be very happy to welcome you again to Sule Shangri-la. Please contact me...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfectly good hotel in the centre of things. 3 km from Shwedagon Pagoda. Hotel restaurant was excellent but staff possibly overworked! Pool area a bit basic. Bedroom perfect with really cosy bed. We were looking out front of the hotel - not exactly exciting. Staff very welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VIVODublin_Ireland
Manish G, Manager at Sule Shangri-La Yangon, responded to this review

Dear VIVODublin_Ireland, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed the food at restaurant and were happy with our pool and room. It was a great pleasure having you as our guest. Thank you for choosing Sule Shangri-La, Yangon. We look forward to the pleasure...

1,466 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1052)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (243)
Viewed
Dining (113)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (176)
Viewed
View from Room (111)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (324)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (382)
Viewed
Amenities (85)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (38)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (46)
Viewed
Executive Suite (51)
Viewed
Kids Pool (5)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Dining (104)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.3 km away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 138 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,214 reviews
0.5 km away
PARKROYAL Yangon
PARKROYAL Yangon
#7 of 138 in Yangon (Rangoon)
855 reviews
5.3 km away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#3 of 138 in Yangon (Rangoon)
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#6 of 138 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,236 reviews
3.4 km away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 138 in Yangon (Rangoon)
794 reviews
1.8 km away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#12 of 138 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern 22 story Hotel centrally located across from Bogyoke Market, in Yangon's business, cultural & shopping district. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Address: 223 Sule Pagoda Rd., Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $213 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sule Shangri-La Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sule Shangri-La Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon Myanmar
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sule Shangri-La Yangon staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Cape Cod
8 months ago
Sydney, Australia
Dallas, Texas
Waimea, Hawaii

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Sule Shangri-La Yangon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“had 15th floor Shwedagon view and loved it”
 of 5 bubbles Mistada, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“horizon club room for great views of shwedagon pagoda”
 of 5 bubbles JoergS495, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Horizon Club room if your budget permits.”
 of 5 bubbles kupunakane, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“try for room facing the big pagoda”
 of 5 bubbles campfollowerTucson, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on East or west side would've best”
 of 5 bubbles GavinW872, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay