We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grand Hotel And Casino

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Hotel And Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

490 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 464: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were only here for one night transferring between flights. It is an Oasis in the middle of a dusty dirty town. The location is great fro markets and restaurants but I would not want to come to vanuatu and only stay here a resort would be the way to go. Our room was large very very large and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rdnkh
Ros C, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review

Dear Rdnkh Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Hotel and Casino. I am pleased you enjoyed your room and wifi, our location is great. I am sorry that your check in experience did not meet your expectations. We will use your feedback constructively. Kind regards Ros

Brisbane Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were only here for one night as we were transferring between flights Smack dab in the middle of town Restaurants nearby with markets close etc Go for a room second floor or above for best views All rooms face harbour Port Vila is chaotic and this Hotel is an oasis in this dusty broken down town If you were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank westcity
Ros C, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review

Dear westcity Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Hotel and Casino. Our central location is perfect for travellers who are only in Port Vila for a night or two. All rooms have great harbour views. With friendly staff and air conditioned comfort Grand Hotel is definitely an oasis. Kind regards Ros

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfortable clean room though some minor repairs are required in bathroom area. lovely view over harbour and Iririki. Great breakfast and dining.Well done Thomas Masson and team. Pool area is very enjoyable. Good proximity in town. Will return,though will try to avoid friday night due to ongoing noise issues coming from Lava Lounge and adjoining carpark. Carpark noise went till...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oysternewcastle
Ros C, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review

Dear oysternewcastle Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Hotel and Casino. Our location and harbour views are second to none. Thomas and his team create a great dining experience with excellent food and service. I understand the noise issues were from the DJ festival, a once a year event. We hope to welcome you back to Grand...

Port Vila, Vanuatu
Reviewed 1 week ago

A drinks and nibbles function was held for 75 pax in the pool area overlooking the harbour. The sitting looked fantastic, beautiful flower arrangements, and all requests accommodated with ease and flexibility. Ros Cox and Thomas Masson Thank you so much - Outstanding food and service. Will be using your services again without doubt! Port Vila International School

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
Ros C, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review

Thank you Kate L The pool deck is a fabulous location for functions and we have a great food and beverage team to make any event special. We are delighted that the evening exceeded your expectations. Kind regards Ros

Port Douglas, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

A $15 taxi ride from airport to hotel overlooking all the activity of the harbour. Very comfy king bed and the best breakfast buffet in all of Vanuatu! Easy walk to wonderful market and little café next door is great for lunch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey g
Ros C, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review

Dear Geoffrey G Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Hotel and Casino. We are the perfect option for pre or post island stays being centrally located and just a step away from the market and shopping. We agree that we have the best buffet breakfast! We hope to see you back at Grand Hotel and Casino soon....

Sterling, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our flight was cancelled so we had to stay the night at the Grand. The hotel is very run down and dated. The strong smell of cigarette smoke was very unpleasant. We had a lot of issues with our room, fixtures in the bathroom coming off the wall eg soap dispenser, toilet roll holder, towel rack also cracked tiles, soap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aussie2346
Ros C, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review

Dear Aussie2346 Thanks for taking the time to complete a review. I appreciate your taking the time to notify us of some of your concerns and providing feedback regarding our great service. Please be assured we will do our utmost to address these. Kind regards Ros

Fiji
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are looking for a place to stay in Port Vila before going to the Islands, I recommend this is a place to stay. Very friendly staff. Convenient in terms of walking distance to town. Breath taking harbor view. And the food is excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HopeFiji
Ros C, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review

Dear HopeFiji Thanks for the great review, our location is superb and ably supported by a sensational team of staff. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Ros

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for our first night in Port Vila and Vanuatu. Our view out to Iririki and the harbour was just beautiful. The comfy bed ensured the best nights sleep we had in a long time! Wifi worked well and breakfast the next morning was a great way to start the day. We also loved drinks by the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jensamh
Ros C, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review

Dear Jensamh Thank you for your great review! We often receive comments on how comfortable our beds are. Our location is certainly prime for exploring everything Port Vila has to offer. We hope to see you again soon! Ros

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

My partner and I had come to dine at the Grand just to have a quiet and relaxing dinner, but what we received was the opposite there were guests being rude and obnoxious, cursing with every second word possible as loud as they could go. I am not blaming the staff as they just didn't know how to control these...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flyingkiwi79
Ros C, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review

Dear flyingkiwi79 Thanks for taking the time to complete a review. I appreciate your taking the time to notify us of some of your concerns and providing feedback regarding service. Please be assured we will do our utmost to address these. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This hotel ticked so many boxes for us yet we were let down with the room quality. It is ideally located right on the harbour of Port Vila and next to the shops and main hub. The hotel reception area and restaurant was impressive We stayed in the panoramic suite which was spacious with plenty of light and it had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N00ch
Ros C, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review

Dear N00ch Thanks for the great review, we have been working hard on improving every aspect of the hotel to provide a great experience for all our guests. It is pleasing to get such an endorsement. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Kind regards Ros

355 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (352)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
View from Room (83)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.9 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 48 in Port Vila
1,363 reviews
0.5 km away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#25 of 48 in Port Vila
266 reviews
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 48 in Port Vila
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#27 of 48 in Port Vila
165 reviews
0.4 km away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.8 km away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#11 of 48 in Port Vila
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Grand Hotel And Casino

Address: Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate 0001, Vanuatu (Formerly Sebel Vanuatu)
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range: $169 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel And Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel And Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Port Vila
Sebel Vanuatu Port Vila
Grand Hotel And Casino Vanuatu/Port Vila
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#17 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#20 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel And Casino staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel And Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor or above”
 of 5 bubbles westcity, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“As high as possible overlooking Iririki Island and harbour.”
 of 5 bubbles oysternewcastle, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Panoramic Suites (corner suite) - ask for higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles N00ch, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get breakfast in your package”
 of 5 bubbles debbiemG5576ZS, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have water views, we were on the 5th floor.”
 of 5 bubbles shan_r90, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay