We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset Bungalows Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunset Bungalows Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

556 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunset Bungalows Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 541: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Wonderful memories. The view from the bungalow over the lagoon was superb. Watching the aquatic life was very relaxing. The accommodation was clean and comfortable. Friendly helpful staff. Appreciated the local knowledge offered and the helpful advice given to us by Greg and Audrey

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tedfla
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi tedfla We love creating memories at Sunset Bungalows and especially wonderful ones :) Not many places that you can relax on your balcony while watching the marine life, sort of special really. When you want to come back back just drop us a line and we look forward to seeing you again. Regards The Sunset Team

Reviewed 17 October 2016

We only stayed here 2 nights and we really wished we had stayed longer! It is a great place to stay if you are looking for a relaxing, romantic holiday with beautiful views. We had one of the over-water bungalows with a kitchenette and it was perfect. Before coming to Sunset Bungalows, we stayed at Holiday Inn which was more...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katrina H
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi Katrina H Thanks so much for your wonderful review. Agree with you that Sunset Bungalows may not be the biggest or most modern resort in Port Vila but we are indeed a quiet relaxing Resort which is great for romantic holidays for people of all ages. Our staff love being able to assist you when it comes to making...

Kenora
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the large, clean bungalo, which had a private balcony over the lagoon. Loved to look at the colourful starfish below, and listen to the waves lap against the shore. Management was a great help if finding us a half-day hike on short notice. Room service was a great bonus! Food was good. We enjoyed our kayak ride around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paula_eyler
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Thanks paula_eyler for your review. Pleased that you got to do the hike with Pascal during your short stay. You will also be pleased to know that we are looking at present to upgrade our Kayaks. Hopefully next time you can stay longer. Regards The Sunset Team

Port Vila, Vanuatu
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

I highly recommend sunset bungalows great service, great facilities, a little bit out of town to give you that quiet, relaxing feel, right on the waters edge, the staff and managers give you a very personal experience that makes you feel like home.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mickyvila
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi mickyvila Thanks so much for taking the time to complete a review for us. Great that you felt that you were at home during your stay with us. Anytime time that you need a home away from home just drop us a line. Regards The Sunset Team.

Bannockburn, Australia
Reviewed 25 September 2016

From the time that we arrived at Sunset Bungalows we were made to feel very welcome. We arrived late as our flight had been delayed in Brisbane, and Audrey was on hand to welcome us. The overwater bungalow that was "home" for 7 days was wonderful. The only thing that I would change was having a softer mattress!!!!! After the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank neillynne28
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi neillynne28 Thanks for you great review. Ahhh...if only you had mentioned about the soft mattress we probably could have fixed it for you. We have some foam overlays that we put on for those who prefer a softer mattress. Thanks for the nice comments about our Bungalow ATE Restaurant, we have shared these with the staff. Just drop us...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We have just returned from a week at Sunset Bungalows and we loved every minute of it. Amazing setting, peaceful environment, and lovely over the water bungalows. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay a great experience and the managers had loads of helpful tips. Thanks guys for a great week we will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karen535
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi karen535 Thanks for coming and visiting and putting up your review. It really is a tropical paradise and with so much to do and see a week just goes so quick. See you next time you come back. Regards The Sunset Team

Bermagui
Reviewed 15 September 2016

MY husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in August. The bungalows are very nice and once the bi fold doors are open its absolutely wonderful. Relaxing on the deck looking at the starfish below...awesome. It rained while we were there so didn't get to use the pool though the pool area looked very nice with some hammocks to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hoogs3
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi Hoogs3 Thanks for taking the time to write a review and appreciate the nice comments. Was a shame that it rained while you were here..but I guess on the bright side at least when it rains its not cold as well. Come back at some stage and we will try for better weather :) Regards The Sunset Team

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I sayed here for two weeks for our honeymoon and just love it!! Its set right on a beautiful lagoon away from the hustle amd bustle of town. The managers Audrey and Greg were amazing so accommodating and a great wealth of information on what to do during your stay. Breakfast was included and we were both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cassie W
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much Cassie W for you neat review. Was a pleasure to look after you guys on your honey moon and hope to see you again soon...maybe an anniversary :) Just drop us an email when you would like to come back and visit. Regards The Sunset Team

Noumea, New Caledonia
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

The location was good, nice view on the lagoon, clean bungalow, nice swimming pool, friendly staff and owner. Except the location and the view we were disappointed by - the shuttle: we had to waited it for 30 min at the airport - restaurant: you need to wait at least 30min to get a simple salad even if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cmoi88
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi gutrjv Thank you for your positive comments on the Resort in general. Unfortunately the shuttle is out of our control and if some passengers are held up in duty free or customs then it causes a delay for everyone else in the shuttle. We do however apologize to you for your experience in our restaurant. We have discussed your...

Gold Coast Australia
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Both Audrey & Greg are very welcoming managers who wish to assist you in every way.Our 7 day stay with breakfast every morning and 4 dinners during our stay, we were made to feel most welcome. The property is a short distance from Port Vila town but a very cheap bus ride into town is very easy to get. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crackles008
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi crackles008 Thanks for your comments and pleased that you enjoyed your relaxing stay. Think that you will agree that being just a little out of town we escape the hustle and bustle but are also close enough to go in and sample what Port Vila has to offer when ever. All the best for the future and hope to...

500 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (479)
Viewed
Dining (64)
Viewed
View from Room (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
1:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
4.0 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 48 in Port Vila
1,414 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 48 in Port Vila
634 reviews
19.7 km away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 48 in Port Vila
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.4 km away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
4.9 km away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 48 in Port Vila
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled quietly on the waters edge within a tropical setting and fantastic views across Emten Lagoon. Luxurious surrounds includes a swimming pool with waterfall, over-water restaurant and bar. Sunset Bungalows Resort is a peaceful tropical escape with its relaxing adults only status, ideal for honeymooners. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows Resort

Address: Teouma Road, 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range: $156 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Bungalows Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Sunset Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Resort Port Vila
Sunset Bungalows Vanuatu
Sunset Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#15 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Bungalows Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Bungalows Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we looked at the more expensive rooms to upgrade but in our opinion the lagoon rooms were just as good”
 of 5 bubbles Hayking, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay there the rooms are not worth the price”
 of 5 bubbles robjens, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The bungalows are beautiful and private, right on the bay, balcony door opens all the way”
 of 5 bubbles 27DeborahP, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms on one floor with own balcony and privacy, we were happy”
 of 5 bubbles kevinkerry2017, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The bungalows away from reception & the restaurant could be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Dhonarmour, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5