We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

614 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
See the most recent reviews
Showing 601: English reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We are currently half way through our stay at the Holiday Inn and so far it has exceeded all our expectations! I'm surprised and disappointed at the recent negative reviews as most of the complaints were untrue or out of the hotel's control. The resort is conveniently located by the city centre (500vuv taxi or 150vuv by bus) but once...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 28NZ
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have just returned from Vanuatu from 6 days in this great resort. We were with three families and stayed in the over water villas. These villas were amazing. We had a faulty toilet and the staff were quick to try and fix it. Although it was out of order for 24 hours we were compensated and also offered to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review

Good Morning JennyR Thank you for your 'Fabulous' review. He missed a trip to Tanna that's a very good reason for us to look after him. A trip to Tanna is a once in a life time opportunity there are not many other places in the world that you get that close to an active Volcano! We certainly look forward...

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We only were here for one night as we waited to fly out the next day to Santo. It is not in the city center, so we were a bit disoriented. The rooms were "tired" and the bathroom rather small. There was a bar in the courtyard that blasted music until 1030 (Mandy by Barry Manilow for those that are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcrane66
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review

Dear jcrane66, Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the room you had and the service you received. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We spent 9 nights at The Holiday Inn Vanuatu and would thoroughly recommend it for families. The resort is set on beautiful grounds by the lagoon and offers something for everyone. We spent most of our time down by the main pool whilst the busy staff at the pool bar keeps us watered and fed. The kids had a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_Bod_Clan
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review

Good Afternoon The_Bod_Clan Thank you for review and mentioning some of the team by name. Great feedback on a couple of things we can improve for next time you visit. and we have planes to build a teens zone in the next 12 months. Looks like a couple of the trainees from the local hospitality school had a good time...

Reviewed 27 July 2013

Breakfast not great. You have to extra for decent coffee on top of breakfast bill. Poolside ok but a lot of screaming kids, so not for the relaxing type. Rooms cleaners too anxious to get you out the rooms, before yr time is up. Needs a face lift and generally looking tired. Karaoke in bar is defining. Check in varied....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dkkeeling
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Dkkeeling Thank you for your review and the picture. Please accept my apologies that we didn't meet your expectations on this trip. The close proximity to Australia and New Zealand make Vanuatu a perfect destination for family groups during the school holidays which can lead to a kids having fun in the main pool. One of the benefits...

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2013

If I could give this 0 or -5 I would! That is how bad it is! Lets start with the positives. Hotel conveniently located 15-20mins max to the airport 2000VUT. And the negatives. Problems on check in both times, downgraded a platinum member travelling with 2 (TWO) ROYAL AMBASSADORS on one occasion. Changed reservations to suit the hotels needs! Reccommend...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank OliverK6
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review

Good Afternoon OliverK6 Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us. I have taken onboard your feedback and discussed it with the team to ensure that the levels of service we are known for are consistent for all our guests. The music on the beach occurs every Wednesday...

Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Just got back from 5 nights and we had a fantastic time. The rooms were great and so was the food. If I could offer one suggestion, it would be to have some music playing in the evenings down at the pool bar and maybe leave the pool bar open later at night. There was often live music in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwikarla18
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review

Good Afternoon kiwikarla18 Thank you for your review. Definelty something we can look at for your return and we will have a pizza oven installed at the Pool bar by October! James Robinson our Executive Chef has a few little treats on the menu for after dinner that will be made in the oven just to help end the day...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had a wonderful family holiday at the Holiday Inn, Vanuatu for a week in June. The resort was lovely and spotlessly clean. Our kids (aged 10 and 12 years) enjoyed all the activities on offer along with the great pool. The fire dancing show is a must see! Ate breakfast and dinner at the resort choosing from the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeeFam22
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review

Good Afternoon LeeFam22 Thank you for such a "fantastic' review. Certainly sounds like the whole family had a great experience not only here on the resort but based on your other review's in Vanuatu! Hope to see you all back very soon. Tankiu tumas Thomas Tait General Manager Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Unfortunately we were underwhelmed with the resort. It really is geared towards families and children, so no real chance of romance or much peace and quiet. We felt the rooms were overpriced compared to other resorts we've stayed at, but Vanuatu is overpriced in general. The terrace pool should be for adults only, but some people still brought their children...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travel_dreamer80
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review

Good Afternoon travel_dreamer80 Thank you for your review. We certainly can be a very busy destination during the Australian and New Zealand School holidays being so close to both those countries. Sorry to hear though that it impacted on your holiday and that the Terrace pool was used by some of the younger guests as it is the quiet zone...

New Milton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2013

There are many good things to say about the Port Vila Holiday Inn. Firstly, many of the staff are extremely courteous and helpful. In particular, Kim (manager perhaps?) was a delight and took the time to provide us with superior service even though she was clearly stressed and busy at the time. Same goes to our friend Jonathan at the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank splashcat
Thomas T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review

Good Afternoon splashcat Thank you for your review. Sounds like you generally had a great time in Vanuatu and enjoyed all the resort had to offer. I wonder if you snuck a little jump on one of the jumping castles? As you found the Vila's are a fanatsic option on their own island and allow full use of the resort...

563 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (491)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (130)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (106)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
4.1 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
1,362 reviews
6.5 km away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
276 reviews
19.4 km away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.5 km away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
5.7 km away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the serene waters of the Erakor Lagoon, Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu is set in vibrant natural surroundings. Meaning “the land that always existed”, Vanuatu is a holiday destination made up of 83 tropical islands located northeast of New Caledonia. Immersed in cultural richness and native splendour, the islands hold crystal blue beaches, coral reefs, hot springs, exotic rainforests, and stunning waterfalls that are some of the most beautiful in the world. The Vanuatu hotel’s Erakor Ballroom and Valea meeting space provides exceptional indoor and outdoor meeting facilities, and the accommodation resort also features a unique Namele Day Spa, two luxurious outdoor holiday swimming pools, and the newly refurbished Palms Casino. The views from the rooms include lush gardens, blue lagoons, and a golf course. The hotel boasts 5 dining areas. Breakfast, buffet and à la carte dinners are served daily. There is an extensive wine list from New Zealand, Australia and France. Get to experience the perfect Vanuatu holiday with island lifestyle at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu

Address: Tassiriki Park, PO Box 215, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu (Formerly Palms Resort and Casino Vanuatu)
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range: $238 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Port Vila Le Meridien
Le Meridien Vanuatu
Le Meridian Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Port Vila
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is no elevator to the upper floor of the main building, so request a ground floor room if stairs are a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles evelynw356, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“bay view rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles , 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No noisy lifts to worry about here. A very quiet hotel whether you have lagoon views or garden views.”
 of 5 bubbles julianne673, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lagoon view room on third floor was beautiful and I preferred it over garden view room I stayed in last time.”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Views over the Erakor Lagoon are superb”
 of 5 bubbles Alaroy01, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay