We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Friendly Islander Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Friendly Islander Hotel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 40: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Communication with the staff at Papiloa's was excellent compared to other establishments in Tongatapu. Prompt responses and understanding between both parties. We booked two large fales for some of our family from Brisbane and Sydney and we found the fales to be clean and refreshed each day. We stayed 5 nights early December 2016. Thanks to the staff and Papiloa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Langakali
Washington DC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Papiloa's place gives you a taste of the true Tonga. The host is an amazing woman: Tonga's first commoner female Parlimentarian, a nightclub owner, tireless advocate for human, gender and environmental rights, and a real hoot! The hotel is comfortable, the hospitality gracious. The best feature is THE ONLY SWIMMING POOL in Nukualofa. Always a pleasure to hang out there....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deanhamer
Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 20 May 2016

I stayed last june and again this march and april whilst it is not a 5 star hotel it is just what i always look for if you look at my own f.b page ian argus stuart you will see that i travel the world staying and filming on uninhabited islands and can afford to stay in any hotel in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ianargusstuart
Tarawa Atoll, Republic of Kiribati
Reviewed 25 March 2016

The hotel is ideal for friends traveling in a group or families traveling or vacationing in Tonga. The location is quite far from the airport but is close to many restaurants and bars such as, Billfish, Ruby's Place to name a few. The room we stayed in had hot water but no wi-fi available in the rooms although, free wi-fi...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nesian89
Suva, Fiji
Reviewed 18 September 2015

I keep returning to Friendly Islander for several reasons. Papiloa and Fiona make guests feel very welcome. Other major pluses include location on waterfront within easy walking distance of Billfish and Emerald Restaurant etc, free WiFi, and complementary guest transfers from airport. The latter is important as taxi drivers can charge up to 50 TOP one way from airport to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lex T
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Very dirty we move to one room shower was not working went to another room the toilet was crack and we wake up with flea in our bed. The owner doe not know or care whats going on on that place.It could be a 4 star but it not.you better of staying at a Lodge .Do you think paying $120...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J T
Papiloa, Manager at The Friendly Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment and sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay. Pity that you did not let us know issues that were not up to required standard. We do value all our guests feedback and always try our best to keep everyone happy, as best we can. malo

St. Paul, Minnesota USA
Reviewed 9 August 2015

The worse ever!!Roaches!! No running water!! White phone was almost black with all the dirt on it. Water bottle was refilled, the seal was broken. We could hear the roosters crowing as the walls are paper thin! You would be better off sleeping on the street!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mjrenb1
Papiloa, Manager at The Friendly Islander Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay. Thank you for your valued comment and rest assured we will look into improvement of these issues. malo

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We found the location and accommodation to be friendly, adequate, and comfortable for our intents and purposes during our stay there. Papiloa and staff were friendly and helpful. Anything we needed or had concerns about we could tell them about and it was dealt with promptly.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 350GTNissan
Johnston Atoll
Reviewed 3 June 2014

That unique part of Tongan character that means they don't care about anything, especially hygiene. This place is Cockroach infested heaven, believe me, I don't mind bug or two but when it is actually infested it's hard to sleep. Can you imagine sleeping with a cockroach climbing on your face and under the blankets. Wretch! They told me to keep...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank fobabett
Papiloa, Manager at The Friendly Islander Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your valued comment and apologise for delayed response. Sorry for your unpleasant stay and we do note these issues for necessary action going forward. malo

Savusavu
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We have stayed at the Friendly Islander, better known locally as "Papiloa's Place" two times. We chose the older less expensive rooms (no AirCon, just a fan) and were quite pleased. While older, they were very clean and very well maintained. The location is right by the sea and close to town. The staff were very nice and made sure...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fijijohn

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
0.0 km away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#3 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
230 reviews
0.0 km away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
164 reviews
0.0 km away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
161 reviews
0.0 km away
White Sands Beach Resort
0.0 km away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Friendly Islander was built as a destination for culturally-minded travellers from around the world who seek an insight into the "real Tonga" in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere with Papiloa. Situated on the waterfront with older wing hotel units, or fales/bungalows set in tropical gardens with local flora and fauna. We are a 30 min drive from the airport and a 5 min drive to town along the waterfront. We are 10 mins walk from 'restaurant row,' the Saturday morning flea market ('swap meet'), the fish markets and the main interisland wharf. Fale/Bungalow accommodation amongst gardens and some budget accommodation available in older wing hotel units facing with sea or pool view. All rooms with shower and toilet and some rooms with kitchen facilities and air condition also cable TV/DVD. We now offer free transfer from/to airport and best to please book in advance. Can also offer free transport into town as you need. Wifi available mainly in reception and breakfast or other meals is also available on arrangement at reception. Suitable for groups, individual or family travels. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Friendly Islander Hotel

Address: Vuna Rd, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Region: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Price Range: $86 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Friendly Islander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Friendly Islander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel Tonga/Tongatapu Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Friendly Islander Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Friendly Islander Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room closer to the office for better Wi-Fi connection.”
 of 5 bubbles Langakali, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“personally i like staying in there fales as they have there own private covered seating outside”
 of 5 bubbles ianargusstuart, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“book the individual fales for more privacy”
 of 5 bubbles Nesian89, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“No Air con is needed during cool season”
 of 5 bubbles 334lext, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
“sleep on the beach in the car”
 of 5 bubbles K4331XYjt, 16 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5