We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

L'Escapade Island Resort

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
L\\
L'Escapade Island Resort
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

397 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 179: English reviews
Start your review of L'Escapade Island Resort
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We visited this island on a tour (Gateaway Tours) which we had pre-booked before our visit to Noumea. We stopped in Noumea on a cruise ship for a day so we had a few hours on this beautiful resort island, Ilot Maitre. The ferry was covered so we did not get wet on our 25 minute boat ride. Once on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank celz
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well, I must admit we were a little worried after reading the reviews "dated rooms" "terrible food" "snakes everywhere" "unresponsive staff", it was the total opposite. Honestly some people are extremely difficult to please! We went as a family of seven adults, we had 4 over water bungalows which were superb. We have stayed in similar accommodation in the Maldives...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
sydney
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in an overwater bungalow and it was like staying in an aquarium . You simply put on the mask and fins , free of charge from the resort , and jump into an underwater wonderland . Lots of living coral , bright reef fish , clams and we saw turtles at least 20 times . Absolutely the best...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank yebziSydney
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's truly difficult to rate this hotel. It's one of the most beautiful places I've ever been to and one of the best experiences I've had with my family. Yet the service is terrible and the food aweful. This is the most pristine marine environment I've seen. Having an overwater bungalow gives you the space, privacy and ease of access...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leaha963
Reviewed 14 March 2017

ok folks we travel a lot all over the world....this is one of the worst places we have stayed. From the rough boat ride to get there, the slow and lack of customer service check in, the story of telling us the reason our ladder to go swimming off our bungalow deck wasn't working was due to rough water and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Finia
GLPhotelsNoumea, Directeur D'Exploitation at L'Escapade Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello Finia Thank you for having shared with us your comments, to improve our services we shall inform our teams.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 January 2017

This place is amazing if you have an overwater bungalow like we had. If you don't, then there is a bit too many rules there - the place is not accommodating. No towel before you check-in. They give you the hotel wristbands to access the pool straight away when you jump on the boat to the island but you'll have...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Teknivor
GLPhotelsNoumea, Directeur D'Exploitation at L'Escapade Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello Teknivor Thank you for having shared with us your comments, to improve our services we shall inform our teams, see you soon.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Great resort on tiny (nature reserve) island off Noumea - we had an over-water bungalow and this was the best place to be; our own ladder into the water for swimming and snorkeling at high tide and for close-up encounters with sea turtles and exotic fish. Awesome sunsets enjoyed on our own private terrace - very romantic! The restaurant is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travellingET
GLPhotelsNoumea, Directeur D'Exploitation at L'Escapade Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello travellingET Thank you for having shared with us your comments, to improve our services we shall inform our teams, see you soon.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 January 2017

This is a very nice resort. We had a beach bungalow which was absolutely fantastic. A dozen steps and we were on the beach. The swimming pool lacked a bit of TLC and needs updating. The restaurant was very good, but there are only so many times you want to eat a buffet meal for breakfast , lunch and dinner....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul C
GLPhotelsNoumea, Directeur D'Exploitation at L'Escapade Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello Paul C Thank you for having shared with us your comments, to improve our services we shall inform our teams.

Reviewed 7 January 2017

It is a great place for you to go relax, for couples and families. Not good for friends groups. I stayed in one of the Bungalows on the water with my wife, you can see sharks, fishes, turtles and many marine species. Have a beautiful view of the sunset, sunrise and horizon. My family stayed in a ground's room, which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Emmanuel F
GLPhotelsNoumea, Directeur D'Exploitation at L'Escapade Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello Emmanuel F Thank you for having shared with us your comments, to improve our services we shall inform our teams.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2017

I just arrived home from my trip to New Caladonia. My fiance booked the trip for us as a surprise. I read reviews just before we left and I'm not going to lie, I was slightly panicked. However overall my experience was the exact opposite of many of the negative ones. We stayed in a beach bungalow, room 111 for...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Kerry J
GLPhotelsNoumea, Directeur D'Exploitation at L'Escapade Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello Kerry J Thank you for having shared with us your comments, to improve our services we shall inform our teams.

698 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (444)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (90)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (63)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
3:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (165)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (219)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Beach (10)
Viewed
Beach Bungalow (30)
Viewed
Garden Bungalow (30)
Viewed
Overwater Bungalow (58)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noumea
5.1 km away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
4.9 km away
Le Meridien Noumea
Le Meridien Noumea
#4 of 20 in Noumea
882 reviews
5.2 km away
Le Lagon Hotel
Le Lagon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Noumea
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
135.3 km away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Resort and Spa
5.3 km away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#12 of 20 in Noumea
573 reviews
5.3 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Archetype of the dream of the Pacific, l'îlot Maître floats like a mirage on the turquoise lagoon. At the heart of a unique marine reserve of 200 hectares, only 20 minutes from Noumea.This hotel offers travelers the luxuries of the quiet tropical location. It offers sumptuous bungalows, built in perfect harmony with their environment.A chapel on the island is available for your unforgettable event.The hotel is located on an islet, you have to take a shuttle to join it. ... more   less 

Additional Information about L'Escapade Island Resort

Address: Ilot Maitre, Noumea, Grand Terre 98847, New Caledonia
Region: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Price Range: $247 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Escapade Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Escapade Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Escapade Island Hotel Noumea
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Noumea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Noumea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Noumea
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from L'Escapade Island Resort staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from L'Escapade Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Defintitely over water bungalow.”
leaha963, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book an overwater bungalow otherwise don't bother”
Teknivor, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book an over-water bungalow as a couple - so romantic!”
travellingET, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The bungalows over the water look nice, but are a bit far from the resort itself.”
paulcK3366NX, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The further away you are from reception the quieter it is which was ideal for us. It also means you are likely to see more turtles.”
KerryJ217, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5