We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

L'Escapade Island Resort

Expedia.comUSD 201*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 207*
USD 201*
USD 207*
USD 201*
USD 207*
USD 201*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
L\\
L'Escapade Island Resort
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

402 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 182: English reviews
Start your review of L'Escapade Island Resort
 Click to rate
Noumea, New Caledonia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Roomy and comfy bungalows on a beautiful coral atoll. Restaurant, snack, bar, and water activities available on site. Internet. Taxi boats shuttle to Noumea , good frequency. One of New Caledonia's best spots for safe kite surfing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sylvain2noumea
Levin, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our first time experience at a resort, it was exactly what we both wanted and needed. Our flight to New Caledonia arrived quite late, and we both were concerned about the transfer from the airport to the marina to catch our awaiting boat ride, everything went smoothly that we needed to have worried, complete professionalism with all the services in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kbailey86
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

WOW!!!!! This is definitely a litte piece of paradise. We did a tour with gateway shore tours from Noumea as we were on a cruise. Just breath taking the moment we stepped off the ferry. Beautiful resort, great facilities, the food is amazing and wonderful for snorkling. I highly recommend this resort. We would love to come back and stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenrrr
GLPhotelsNoumea, Directeur D'Exploitation at L'Escapade Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello Jenrr Thank you for taking the time to send your observations following your recent stay at Escapade Island Resort. Your comments will be shared with our hotel staff as part of our continual efforts to improve guest service.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited this island on a tour (Gateaway Tours) which we had pre-booked before our visit to Noumea. We stopped in Noumea on a cruise ship for a day so we had a few hours on this beautiful resort island, Ilot Maitre. The ferry was covered so we did not get wet on our 25 minute boat ride. Once on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank celz
GLPhotelsNoumea, Directeur D'Exploitation at L'Escapade Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello celz Thank you for taking the time to send your observations following your recent stay at Escapade Island Resort. Your comments will be shared with our hotel staff as part of our continual efforts to improve guest service.

Reviewed 20 April 2017

Well, I must admit we were a little worried after reading the reviews "dated rooms" "terrible food" "snakes everywhere" "unresponsive staff", it was the total opposite. Honestly some people are extremely difficult to please! We went as a family of seven adults, we had 4 over water bungalows which were superb. We have stayed in similar accommodation in the Maldives...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen W
GLPhotelsNoumea, Directeur D'Exploitation at L'Escapade Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello Stephen W Thank you for taking the time to send your observations following your recent stay at Escapade Island Resort. Your comments will be shared with our hotel staff as part of our continual efforts to improve guest service.

sydney
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed in an overwater bungalow and it was like staying in an aquarium . You simply put on the mask and fins , free of charge from the resort , and jump into an underwater wonderland . Lots of living coral , bright reef fish , clams and we saw turtles at least 20 times . Absolutely the best...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank yebziSydney
GLPhotelsNoumea, Directeur D'Exploitation at L'Escapade Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello yebziSydney Thank you for taking the time to send your observations following your recent stay at escapade Island Resort. Your comments will be shared with our hotel staff as part of our continual efforts to improve guest service.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 April 2017

It's truly difficult to rate this hotel. It's one of the most beautiful places I've ever been to and one of the best experiences I've had with my family. Yet the service is terrible and the food aweful. This is the most pristine marine environment I've seen. Having an overwater bungalow gives you the space, privacy and ease of access...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leaha963
GLPhotelsNoumea, Directeur D'Exploitation at L'Escapade Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello leaha963 Thank you for taking the time to send your observations following your recent stay at L'Escapade Island Resort. Your comments will be shared with our hotel staff as part of our continual efforts to improve guest service.

Reviewed 14 March 2017

ok folks we travel a lot all over the world....this is one of the worst places we have stayed. From the rough boat ride to get there, the slow and lack of customer service check in, the story of telling us the reason our ladder to go swimming off our bungalow deck wasn't working was due to rough water and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Finia
GLPhotelsNoumea, Directeur D'Exploitation at L'Escapade Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello Finia Thank you for having shared with us your comments, to improve our services we shall inform our teams.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 January 2017

This place is amazing if you have an overwater bungalow like we had. If you don't, then there is a bit too many rules there - the place is not accommodating. No towel before you check-in. They give you the hotel wristbands to access the pool straight away when you jump on the boat to the island but you'll have...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Teknivor
GLPhotelsNoumea, Directeur D'Exploitation at L'Escapade Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello Teknivor Thank you for having shared with us your comments, to improve our services we shall inform our teams, see you soon.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Great resort on tiny (nature reserve) island off Noumea - we had an over-water bungalow and this was the best place to be; our own ladder into the water for swimming and snorkeling at high tide and for close-up encounters with sea turtles and exotic fish. Awesome sunsets enjoyed on our own private terrace - very romantic! The restaurant is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travellingET
GLPhotelsNoumea, Directeur D'Exploitation at L'Escapade Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello travellingET Thank you for having shared with us your comments, to improve our services we shall inform our teams, see you soon.

708 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (454)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (90)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (63)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
3:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (175)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (219)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Beach (10)
Viewed
Beach Bungalow (30)
Viewed
Garden Bungalow (30)
Viewed
Overwater Bungalow (58)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noumea
5.0 km away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
4.8 km away
Le Meridien Noumea
Le Meridien Noumea
#4 of 20 in Noumea
891 reviews
5.1 km away
Le Lagon Hotel
Le Lagon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Noumea
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
135.4 km away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Resort and Spa
5.2 km away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#12 of 20 in Noumea
579 reviews
5.3 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Archetype of the dream of the Pacific, l'îlot Maître floats like a mirage on the turquoise lagoon. At the heart of a unique marine reserve of 200 hectares, only 20 minutes from Noumea.This hotel offers travelers the luxuries of the quiet tropical location. It offers sumptuous bungalows, built in perfect harmony with their environment.A chapel on the island is available for your unforgettable event.The hotel is located on an islet, you have to take a shuttle to join it. ... more   less 

Additional Information about L'Escapade Island Resort

Address: Ilot Maitre, Noumea, Grand Terre 98847, New Caledonia
Region: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Price Range: $257 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Escapade Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Escapade Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Escapade Island Hotel Noumea
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Noumea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Noumea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Noumea
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from L'Escapade Island Resort staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from L'Escapade Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Defintitely over water bungalow.”
leaha963, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book an overwater bungalow otherwise don't bother”
Teknivor, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book an over-water bungalow as a couple - so romantic!”
travellingET, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The bungalows over the water look nice, but are a bit far from the resort itself.”
paulcK3366NX, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The further away you are from reception the quieter it is which was ideal for us. It also means you are likely to see more turtles.”
KerryJ217, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 201* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUSD 201
Hotels.comUSD 201
PricelineUSD 207
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates