We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rabaul Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rabaul Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 40: English reviews
Start your review of Rabaul Hotel
 Click to rate
La Jolla, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went ashore from the scuba diving boat for dinner at the Rabaul Hotel. Being a Chinese American and a foodie, I was dubious when I was told that the food was really good. It was a lovely surprise! The chef is Filipino, but his father was Chinese. The food is NOT Cantonese......I'm not sure how to describe it except...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FussyLiz
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful two nights there, though at first I thought I had made a bad mistake. I had not done my homework so didn't know previously of the devastation of the volcanic eruption in 1994. I couldn't understand why it took so long to get from the airport and was initially rather shocked to see Mango Avenue covered...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brenda S
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 2 February 2017

1. Rabaul Hotel It was a fantastic hotel at the end of Rabaul town. From the market, there was a #7b bus that dropped me off in front of the hotel. The bus was going in the direction of Matupit village. Ask some locals if you are lost, since they will be happy to help. The hotel was established in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kazumoto N
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

This is a rambling older property with a range of rooms located in what used to be downtown Rabaul. It has a pleasant pool and grounds, a mostly quiet bar, on site Chinese restaurant and nice outdoor relaxation area. The Aussie expat and local staff are very friendly and helpful. They have books and maps of area sights and can...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bearchri
MissSusieMac, Manager at Rabaul Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bearchri Thank you for your review. We apologise for the cost of airport transfers however, as you have pointed out the road to & from the airport is not good which causes high maintenance costs on our vehicles together with the very often delayed flights leaving a car and driver at the airport becomes a cost impediment. We do...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 24 November 2016

The bed sheets were dark blue color , I pulled the bed-cover and indeed two thick stains were there.The sheets have not been changed since the last guests left. I was very tired after numerous flight connections and overland travel. I put one of the towels in the bed and i fell asleep. The next day i had an early...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BIZAS
sydney
Reviewed 10 November 2016

I called them for a price. They advised me the best price was 220 Kina a night. Then they said they checked with the manager and it was 165 per night, but I had to pay cash...and then when I arrive there is no cash at any ATM and I inform them I'll pay tomorrow or I can pay on...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank serendipitysydney
MissSusieMac, Manager at Rabaul Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Serendipitysydney Like all Hotels we have a internet price and a domestic price, cash and credit card price. You asked for the cheapest room and were not happy when you got it? you insisted on the PNGK120 plus gst room which is approx$40.00. This is for a room with an ensuite, aircon, water, housekeeping, satellite, a queen size bed...

Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 5 November 2016

I arrived by P&O Cruises and only had a few hours in Rabaul. Since I did read about some nice reviews about this hotel and its historic status. Even though I would not have a chance to stay here overnight, I still wanted to have a visit and at least had a drink at their bar. It is indeed a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saricie_Q
MissSusieMac, Manager at Rabaul Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the state of our photos and description in the lounge bar however we do not have an "Office Works" or similar, in the area so it is difficult for us to have things updated and very expensive to send overseas. We are also subject to the devaluation of the currency so the...

Moama, Australia
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Older style hotel with a friendly,helpful staff. Room was clean and comfortable and serviced daily. Air conditioning worked well as climate is very hot and humid. Staff had turned on the air conditioner before my return from daily activities so room was cool and comfortable on my return. Swimming pool also available. Close in proximity to Rabaul and within easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jnewell572016
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We stayed at the Hotel during our return visit to Rabaul after many many years. Susie and her team were so warm, and positive every minute. The heart of Rabaul is still beating strong here and their assistance and advice really helped us to make the most of our few days. The room was large, very clean and comfortable. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Unless you need to be in Rabaul town or port area , stay in Kokopo . Rabaul has never recovered since the volcanic eruption many years ago . The Hotel is clean and Suzie and her team do a good job . Restaurant was OK .. Beer was cold . Bed was replaced by a saddle ( so it felt...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Russell M
MissSusieMac, Owner at Rabaul Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Russell for your succinct comments. Sincere apologies about your bed. Some people prefer hard beds but I too enjoy a more softer landing! You will be happy to know, that we are in the process of replacing and renovating the Hotel, including soft furnishings and hopefully your next stay at the Rabaul Hotel (don't leave it as long...

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rabaul
17.4 km away
Gazelle International Hotel
Gazelle International Hotel
#5 of 7 in New Britain Island
38 reviews
0.0 km away
Seeadler Bay Hotel
Seeadler Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lorengau
5 reviews
21.1 km away
Rapopo Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort
Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort
#3 of 7 in New Britain Island
84 reviews
17.6 km away
Kabaira Beach Hideaway
270.2 km away
Walindi Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rabaul Hotel, on famous Mango Avenue, is the longest established Hotel in the New Guinea Islands region. Witnessing post WWII reconstruction, Papua New Guinea's Independence, and surviving earthquakes and the Twin Volcanic Eruption of 1994, it really is the "Spirit of Volcano Town"! A must see for the adventurer, scuba diver or trekker, Rabaul Hotel is so close to the Volcano, you can smell it and within walking distances of the most significant historical landmarks such as the Montevideo Maru & Peace Memorial! Rabaul Town, described in its halcyon days as the "Pearl of the Pacific", is now sometimes described as the "Pompeii of the Pacific". Rabaul Hotel is committed to promoting sustainable eco-tours with locals guides. Whether you prefer plush tour coaches or a car with Driver, or a local guide, the Hotel will organise "When in Rome" Tours to suit all budgets. We also have a Rabaul Town Shuttle Bus that circumnavigates the Town area for a small fee. Bus No#7a from the Rabaul Market or they will stop and pick you up anywhere along the Malaguna Road and can take you to Rabaul Hotel Rabaul Town locals are friendly, enthusiastic with an intimate knowledge of their surrounds. For a small fee we can arrange visitors to be escorted on "paths less travelled". These include treks to the top of Kabui Mountain (Mt. Mother - 2000 feet), Canoe trips Mt. Tavurvur Volcano, with visits to the Mega-pode Farm & Hot Springs along the way. Rabaul Hotel will also organise scuba diving on the many wrecks in Simpson Harbour or snorkelling/fishing around the Beehives. The Hotel Restaurant, "Phoenix Room", boasts an extensive Western, Asian & Vegetarian Menu, catering to all tastes. All rooms are air conditioned with en-suite. The swimming pool is easily accessible & the Hotel Lounge Bar, with its giant billiards table & memorabilia, is always fully stocked ready for the 'apres adventures' de-brief, back at the hotel. HERE FOR A DAY ON A CRUISE SHIP - Rabaul Hotel is within walking distance of the wharf. Let us organise a Historical Rabaul Town Tour or a Walking Tour of the Town with local guides, or perhaps you would just like to sit by the Rabaul Hotel 23m swimming pool and enjoy a local "South Pacific Lager"? Why not stay with us on ANZAC Day where the echo's of the past are re-lived at the famous Rabaul Dawn Service at the RSL Cenotaph within walking distance of the Hotel. If you are visiting Papua New Guinea, make sure you set aside a few days to visit one of the most amazing places in the South Pacific - Rabaul Town, & the RABAUL HOTEL - "WHERE THE ROAD ENDS & THE ADVENTURE BEGINS." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rabaul Hotel

Address: 1 Mango Avenue, Rabaul, New Britain Island, Papua New Guinea
Region: Papua New Guinea > Islands Region > New Britain Island > Rabaul
Price Range: $66 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rabaul Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rabaul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rabaul Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
11 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rabaul Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the backpacker rooms are the cheapest but there are better rooms”
kazumo2n, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel. Stay in Kokopo town in much better properties”
BIZAS, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room was on top floor and very quiet with a great view over the area.”
271SarahR271, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Stay here if you need to be in Rabaul town or Port area ...”
852russellm, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The upstairs rooms at the back are as good as any decent suburban hotel.”
FrenchmanRockhampton, 24 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5