We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kanhais Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Kanhais Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 11: English reviews
Pitman, New Jersey
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Location was great for walking to the local markets, zoo, cricket ground, and banks. etc. If you have bad knees, this is not the place for you, as two long flight of stairs greets you as you unlock the gate. We unfortunately went at the wrong time, as all upgrades were being done during our stay. We had wifi and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline K
KanhaisCenter, Manager at Kanhais Center, responded to this review

Dear Miss Jacqueline K, It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. We really appreciate your review and will try to do better, my apologies again for the upgrades but we are trying very hard to make changes to out hotel to benefit customers without having to increase accommodation.. I hope you stay with us again...

Blumenau, SC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

When I made my reservation, it was created an automatically payment, so then, I stayed at the hotel, I paid my bill normally and now, I cannot get the refund of that reservation money because nobody solves my problem. I called the hotel so many times, I sent email and I still have this problem, in other words, I will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matheus P
KanhaisCenter, Manager at Kanhais Center, responded to this review

Dear Mr Matheus Peterson, I would advise checking your junk mail probably I have replayed 2 times to you and also try calling the number you have listed with us but was unsuccessful. When you made the reservation as our policy your card on file was charged 50% and upon your arrival you were charged the remaining 50%.. You did...

Markham, Canada
Reviewed 28 November 2015

Arrived Sunday shortly after 10. am. as previously arranged with hotel owner, building looks abandoned, sign said ring bell for access but bell did not work. After 30 minutes I attracted a hotel guest on the 4th. floor balcony who contacted a member of the hotel staff. The lady was very courteous. She stated the bell was out of order...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jim45237
KanhaisCenter, Owner at Kanhais Center, responded to this review

My Apologies you had a bad experience on arrival to our inn we do ask guest for their arrival time and once your reservation is confirmed 100% of the time the hotel staff will be waiting on your arrival. There are many occasions we try to communicate with guest via e-mail, telephone and unable to confirm their arrival time. All...

Citrus Heights, California
Reviewed 14 November 2015

What I would tell people, is to look elsewhere. Nearly everything they hype on their website is not here. It would take little to get this place to be acceptable, but miserly owners are happy to burn bridges behind each guest. They are operating with a skeleton crew that has to work at other locations part of thevery day. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl S
Portugal
Reviewed 16 July 2015

I stayed 2 nights alone in the hotel.Not even staff stayed there! The front door was obviously locked.I had the key... As a high level street crime town ,I was robbed by 2 black men on a motorbike close to the hotel.It was 7.45 pm and i was coming from a dinner in a nearby local restaurant 1 block from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Manel I
Bridgetown, Barbados
Reviewed 6 June 2015

Perfect location for a low budget traveler, Allot of stairs to climb but the staff was very friendly and the location is the best. There was not cable in the rooms but there is a movie on demand that you get when you ask for it.. The lobby Television has cable and was able to catch up on my sports

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronald C
Bridgetown, Barbados
Reviewed 17 April 2015

Although we made bookings a month in advance and then got confirmation by email when we finally arrived we were told they had lots of unexpected guest so they gave away our room but we got another room, the staff was very pleasant and friendly, breakfast every morning and room cleaned with fresh sheets towels every 2 days, air conditioned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaneMiller37
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 February 2015

Stayed there for 3 nights. No wifi on room just in reception area. Due to city's drainage problems, a lot of mosquitoes around in hostel's public areas like dining & lounge area. Most times bathroom smelly maybe due to poor sewerage system. Shower drainage poor. Service average. Housekeeping done only twice a week on Wednesday & Saturday. Checked in on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ngmargaret86
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Traveling in Guyana can be hectic and frustrating in general. Kanhai could be a refreshing break from this stress, but unfortunately they are solidly average. They had no record of our booking (4 guys for 4 nights in a private room) but gave us someone else's room when I provided my Hostelworld booking confirmation printout. That was fine, until the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank heathclayton
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights here while in Georgetown. Owner and staff very nice. 2 nights we had 4 people sharing one room (1 double bed + bunk bed) with private bathroom. Easy walk to all the attractions in town. We had transportation to airport arranged for us. Breakfast was simple but fine.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tbwong

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Georgetown hotels
0.5 km away
The Eldorado Inn
The Eldorado Inn
#7 of 19 in Georgetown
51 reviews
1.2 km away
Signature Inn
Signature Inn
#5 of 19 in Georgetown
41 reviews
2.0 km away
Guyana Marriott Hotel Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Cara Lodge
Cara Lodge
#2 of 19 in Georgetown
143 reviews
5.6 km away
Ramada Georgetown Princess Hotel
0.0 km away
Grand Coastal Hotel
Grand Coastal Hotel
#4 of 19 in Georgetown
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the shopping central of Georgetown, Kanhai's Center is excellent for Mission Teams, Medical Groups, Budget Tourists or Large Families that want to enjoy Guyana and need a comfortable base to stay Description Accommodates up to 32 Persons, All Rooms are equipped with Air Condition Units and WIFI. Phones and Televisions on request. Good for Mission Teams, Tour Groups, Medical Teams and other Groups on a Budget. Access to Conference Facilities and Kitchen. Airport Pickup and Tours can be arranged. General Information Family owned and operated. This brand new little building, in its central location, in the main shopping zone, is so unique. About an hour's drive from the airport and within walking distance of The Bourda Market, The City Mall and Downtown Georgetown. Since its opening only a year ago, Kanhai's has already gathered the reputation of a small but comfortable haven, ready to welcome and embrace the visitors, drawing them into its friendly atmosphere. Accommodation: The rooms are airy, spacious and furnished in tropical style; the walls decorated with pictures of scenes. Most of the rooms feature double beds and a small desk. The adjoining bathrooms are equipped with shower and cosmetic mirrors. All rooms provide towels and basic toiletries. Book for 7 nights and get a free airport pick up! We speak spanish! And we accept Visa and Mastercard! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kanhais Center

Address: 210 Charlotte St | Lacytown, Georgetown 000592, Guyana
Region: Guyana > Demerara-Mahaica > Georgetown
Price Range: $34 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Kanhais Center Guyana/Georgetown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kanhais Center staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Kanhais Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can find an economic lunch at Rose restaurant cafeteria near the post office. But remember, all is dead close on Sunday. The only downside is all the country tours are very expensive, (a 6 hours to the waterfalls: 300$) the reason is that there is no road and all is by plane.”
 of 5 bubbles Road20years, 14 Apr 2013 | Read review
1 of 1