We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Jerusalem Hostel

Booking.comUSD 44*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Jerusalem Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

341 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 209: English reviews
Start your review of The Jerusalem Hostel
 Click to rate
Israelandia, GO
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awesome, Breakfast was great and the People who work there are Fantastic.It's Centrally Located to The outdoor Markets and the Old City of Jerusalem! Everything you could want. Markets, Restaurants are within walking distance!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmyglasovich
jerusalemhostel, Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Cmyglasovich, thank you for your review. we try our best to keep the atmosphere of the people working in the hostel cheerful. when you love the place you are working in - you what your guests to have the best experience. glad you liked the city center- and enjoyed the Markets and restaurants. hope to host you again in...

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Convenient location in New Jerusalem, just steps from the Old City, and the market. I spent one week there and explored the area. The staff were wonderful in helping me find restaurants, and sharing things to do that most tourists never see.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elena K
jerusalemhostel, receptionist at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Elena! Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you had a good time with us, and that you explored the area :) We are trying to show our guests Jerusalem as we see it as locals and do our best to make a good feeling in the hostel, and of curse to be helpful. Have a...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Best location snuck in Center Very cool place Very Nice place to meet new people food was great. Stuffff where very kind friendly. The view to Jerusalem center is Best then any other just for Fact you going out the door and every thing you need from quick good food nice souvenir stirs. Cheap general produce fresh market to historical...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BIANCO L
jerusalemhostel, Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Bianco, thank you for you review, glad to here you enjoined the location, our old building the food and the people, we try to do the best we can to be a meeting point for interesting people from all over the world . see you on your next trip to Jerusalem! Adi and the Jerusalem hostel staff

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The staff is very kind and available. Position is great : just 10 minutes by walk to Jaffa Gate. My room was not very big but nice. In the whole Hostel you can breath a wonderful travel atmosphere! You'll feel like at home! :) For shure I reccomend the Shabbat dinner prepared by Mikael, lovely guy and amazing chef! I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacopo M
jerusalemhostel, Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review

Jacopo, thank you for your review! indeed our rooms are quite small, but I'm glad it was nice. the Shabbat dinner Mikey is putting up every Friday evening is grate also because of the special people joining it and opening up to interesting conversations . thank you very mush for a specific reliable comment hope to see you again i...

Reviewed 22 March 2017

The best place to experience the real Yerushalayim, meet locals, try great Israeli food and explore. It's right in the City Centre so transport is not an issue. The staff members are lovely and I made loads of new friends. Fresh breakfast every morning and coffee/tea all day long. It was a perfect holiday :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wendy s
jerusalemhostel, Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Wendy! it was grate hosting you at the hostel! happy to hear you liked the breakfast, and the Israeli local food, we try to our best to be helpful to our guests , and help them with the local transportation options. thank you for your review hope to see you again. Adi and the Jerusalem hostel staff

Brno, Czech Republic
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

We spent three nights there during Purim celebration. If you like to be at the center stage, this us the right place. The rooms are big enough, the roof top kitchen is fine and breakfast options are good enough. The place us good as a base for discovering the old city or take a bus to Tel Aviv or Betlehem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellysbrno
Israelandia, GO
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I spent 2 days there and was impressed by the service. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The Jerusalem Hostel is located in the Center of Jerusalem. Very close to the Old City, maybe a 10 walk to see Antiquity at it's best. ANother 10 walk the other way is an outdoor market with an amazing assortment of foods,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cmyglasovich
jerusalemhostel, Front Office Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review

hi, its very nice to know you were satisfied and enjoyed your time here in Jerusalem hostel, hope to see you back here in the future, all the best gaya

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 January 2017

The Jerusalem hotel has a good location, value for budget. Staff very friendly. I will recommend travelers who are looking for a place to stay while in Holy land. Jerusalem Little Hostel is a place. It is an attractive location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ngadipierrot
jerusalemhostel, Front Office Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Pierrot, Thank you so much for your kind words! It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again sometime in the future :) All the best, Maya

Reviewed 31 December 2016

Dirty rooms, cockroaches and probably bedbugs though I can't be certain. Something came up and we tried to check out early (after booking beds in advance) and the girl at reception freaked out at us. Listen, we already paid for the beds in advance, the hostel was not losing any money over it- what's the deal?? What happened to customer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aliza R
jerusalemhostel, Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Michael and Aliza, After further inspecting the case, we've understood a few things. All of your complaints about the room were taken care of the same day, the room was sprayed with insecticide, the sheets were changed and the room was thoroughly inspected and nothing harmful was found. We tried as best we could to make your stay with...

Reviewed 13 December 2016

I would have to say the staff are premiere. They have a number of options to help you from SIM cards to transportation. They can save you money by helping you find what you need at a reasonable price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
jerusalemhostel, Front Office Manager at The Jerusalem Hostel, responded to this review

Hi James, Thank you so much for your kind words! We always do our best to help our guests with whatever they need and we are happy to hear that we were so helpful! We loved having you stay here and look forward to seeing you in the future. All the best, Maya Jerusalem Hostel staff

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#26 of 98 in Jerusalem
575 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#31 of 98 in Jerusalem
632 reviews
Shamai Suites
#33 of 98 in Jerusalem
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hostel is the first hostel in west Jerusalem. we turned a historic beautiful building into a nice, warm, and cool hostel. waiting to see you here :) ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Jerusalem Hostel

Address: 44 Jaffa | Zion Square, Jerusalem 9422207, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Price Range: $28 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jerusalem Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Jerusalem Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Jerusalem Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
San Francisco, California
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Jerusalem Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's really worth it. Trust me, I Loved it.”
cmyglasovich, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in a private room. It was perfect for one person, but there are many other rooms for entire families, too.”
elenak320, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The best thing to do is to contact the hostel, they might have more rooms available for you .”
wendysY9800IF, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are Dorm Rooms, but also Private rooms. It's a matter of preference. I was in a dorm room and they're all quite good.”
cmyglasovich, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“best views”
ngadipierrot, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 44* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUSD 44
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates