We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colombo City Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Colombo City Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 228: English reviews
Sugarloaf, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Used this hotel for a day while waiting for an evening flight. Clean, convenient, comfortable cozy room. Very ploite staff both at reception and housekeeping. I wuld definately stay here for a few days to enjoy the city. perfect for an airprt / train transfer. Well worth a night or two.

Helpful?
Thank sbrosk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Quite clean and well maintained. The rooms were too compact but good enough for business stay and not family. The roof top restaurant was awesome with a view of the city traffic on one side and the sea a little distant on the other and the food too. The staff are yet to be trained to be very courteous. Overall... More 

Helpful?
Thank drgjk1976
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Budget stay in the heart of combo. Closer to main railway, banks, major hotels and street market. 40 mins from Airport. Cute rooms with tidy n clean bathrooms. Good service. Value for money. Good for a short stay. Try next time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chandana H
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Colombo city hotel is a wonderful destination for the business traveller . The staff is nice . The rooms are clean and nice . The roof top restaurant is majestic . The food is decent . Easily accessible and a short walk from the sea face .

Helpful?
Thank santoshravindran
cmb_cityhotels, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. We are glad that you had a very good experience at our hotel and furthermore enjoyed the ambience at our roof top restaurant. We hope that you will return and we will look forward to welcoming to our hotel. The Management Team More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Place with nice view and cool breeze despite it's location in city center. However there are some rigd rules which are not encouraging gusest to come back. The staff needs to be more flexible and friendly. Snakes/bites are fine but you cannot bring your own bottles in Fridays.

Helpful?
Thank Prasad Manjula H
cmb_cityhotels, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Manjula, Thank you for your review, which is much appreciated. Most star class hotels do not allow liquor bottles to be bought from outside on all days, however we have this rigid rule which is strictly enforced only on Fridays where we have a 5 piece band in attendance and as we are usually fully booked up. But... More 

Travellers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a night, room was decent, breakfast was good but the view provided was awesome! Staffs were also very helpful. Location wise it is good too, you're close to the Tuktuk stand and easy access towards other happening places in Colombo. If you're bored you can just go around to the Dutch Hospital and listen to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lenin K
cmb_cityhotels, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we appreciate this very much. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property and would like to welcome you back again if you do visit Colombo. The Management Team More 

North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We were arriving into Colombo around midnight and heading out by train the next morning. We were after somewhere that did airport transfers, included breakfast, was within walking distance of the train station and did not cost an arm and a leg. This ticked all those boxes (note that airport transfer does cost extra). Some of the previous reviews had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha B
cmb_cityhotels, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review. We always to provide the best service we could to all of our guests, however we have come to understand that we cannot satisfy all the guests all the time, hence some negative reviews by some of our guests who were expecting 5 star hotel standards, from a 2 - 3 star property.... More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Hi, We had problems with our flight and we were in the airport for 24 hs and arrived one day later, and they moved the booking without any extra charge. And they even had a tray of fresh fruit in the bedroom. The hotel is clean, has a good breakfast and the location is very good, just beside the Dutch... More 

Helpful?
Thank carmenbarcel0na
cmb_cityhotels, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, When we heard about your bad experience at a foreign Airport our immediate concern was your safety, and as such we made everything possible to make your stay comfortable as possible with out making efforts to charge extra for date change ect We always try our utmost to ensure that our guests are offered the best possible services.... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Not the cleanest hotel but decent for a good night's sleep. Close by to attractions. Hotel overcharges for airport transfer and the travel desk outside is useless. Take a metered taxi to the airport. The travel guy who sits outside insist we took a tuk tuk and told us that the destination that we wanted to go to was 17km... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hivashinni J
cmb_cityhotels, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We cannot understand the comment of not being the cleanest hotel, We do not have any complaints of not being clean and had you bought this to the notice of the management we would have most certainly looked into your issue and rectified it then and there. As regards to the tuk tuk, we have displayed very prominently... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We arrived around 1.30 am and were rather disappointed to find that there was no one ready to greet us. However once we managed to drag our luggage in side the hotel and towards reception a very pleasant chap appeared from the rear and checked us in Rooms are rather small - when compared to other Hotels in the same... More 

Helpful?
Thank naomisuresh
cmb_cityhotels, General Manager at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Most hotels in our category do not have 24 hour reception but whilst we have it open 24 / 7, sometimes there are lapses specially at 1.30 am and very early morning arrivals where there is no room boy available as soon as a guest arrives, unless we are given a estimated time... More 

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 km away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#16 of 45 in Colombo
185 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Oriental Hotel
Grand Oriental Hotel
#34 of 45 in Colombo
466 reviews
0.1 km away
ZMAX Fairway, Colombo
ZMAX Fairway, Colombo
#27 of 45 in Colombo
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Galadari Hotel
Galadari Hotel
#23 of 45 in Colombo
750 reviews
2.8 km away
Renuka City Hotel
Renuka City Hotel
#17 of 45 in Colombo
587 reviews
0.1 km away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#9 of 122 in Colombo
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Colombo City Hotel is located in the heart of Colombo right opposite to the World Trade Center Twin Towers and the old Dutch Hospital,now converted to a modern shopping complex which is a world heritage site, it is also walking distance from the old parliament. A short stroll from the hotel and you will find your self amidst historic buildings and the Colombo port. This is the ideal location for business travelers and people who want a taste of the metropolitan. With 51 rooms and a wonderful rooftop restaurant/bar offering value for money food, beverages & sprites. This hotel is star classified by the tourist board and is offering affordable accommodation at the best location in the City of Colombo and is a great choice for most travelers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colombo City Hotel

Address: 33 Canal Row | Fort Colombo 01, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range: $88 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Colombo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Colombo City Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Colombo City Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“front rooms have balconies with a view”
 of 5 bubbles santoshravindran, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Excellent Location”
 of 5 bubbles naomisuresh, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room at higher floor and road facing. If you want total peace ..then go for room on back side.”
 of 5 bubbles kedar2015, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go for room with view of twin tower”
 of 5 bubbles ChathuraRathuwadu, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Our room had a view of the Twin Towers which was nice”
  • Our room in Colombo City Hotel. Bed & linen was nice and clean
 of 5 bubbles gtandbecAUS, 26 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay