We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Highbury Colombo

Certificate of Excellence
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Highbury Colombo
Highbury Colombo
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Highbury Colombo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 248: English reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2016

I spent many nights in this place with my friends and it was one of my best stays in Sri Lanka. The rooms have garden entrances and the wi fi in the room worked well. We had amazing local food and had most meals at this place. Breakfast was served in the garden and it was very relaxing. My room...

Thank Lucy G
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Made three phone calls to notify our pending arrival, all unanswered, on arrival none of the usual welcoming greetings, we had to find the person in charge. All seemed a bit casual with a lack of interest in new guests. Our room was in the "garden" somewhat shabby but reasonably large with a well functioning aircon. The bathroom looked like...

Thank peter0804
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review

We are sorry to see your comments on tripadvisor. The toilet flush was repaired. The mirror is new but as we are close to the beach the mirrors do not look so great as the saltiness in the air damages it. Towels are given on request and every room has a note on it. We are sorry you did not...

Reviewed 30 June 2016

We had a most enjoyable stay in this hotel with great gardens and great rooms. The breakfast Eresha made was fabulous and she even did a cookery demonstration for us. We had most of our meals here and enjoyed the local experience. For us it was a home away from home. The staff was super friendly and attentive. Would definitely...

Thank Manel F
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Paid and booked for ten nights, left in four nights, this is the dirtiest, cockaroach, infested, hole I have ever see, dirty pillows, and sheets, mosquitos infested the room and dining area, they cook outside in a shed, that you wouldn't feed your dog from, the owners of this place just don't give a damn. It needs to be investigated,...

Thank Dam06969
manojicolombo, Manager at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review

I totally deny the contents of your comments. The owners were not in the country at the time during your stay. We confirm that you booked for 10 days but from the first day itself you admitted to us that you were offered free nights at Hotel Citrus Leisure and thus were eager to leave. You were sponsored by your...

Denmark, Australia
Reviewed 30 April 2016

The Guest House is a quiet haven in busy Colombo. It is a private, gated family home and is a beautiful, peaceful oasis, with a large communal lounge area and stunning gardens. The owners are very warm and friendly and willing to assist you in any way they can. They organised our pick up from the Airport on arrival and...

1Thank Keith-Trudy
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

This was my second stay at Highbury. It's beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Manoji and family are absolutely wonderful; it feels like staying with family friends. The breakfast (which we missed this time) is worth the price! Would reccomend Highbury and will definitely stay here again.

1Thank Fariels01
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Very pretty gardens and interesting set up, nice and quiet. Not in walking distance of too much, but easy to get a tuk tuk anywhere. We booked the junior suite, and I wish we had just booked a regular room, as the 'suite' part of it was a dark room with no A/C and a futon in it and not...

Thank Erica R
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 8 April 2016

this place has the calming athmosphere you'd find in a meditation or yoga retreat and after being there for just a few minutes you literally feel yourself relaxing and feeling good. beautiful rooms, beautiful flower gardens, so quiet and breezy, and such lovely staff. you'd never guess you're in busy colombo and you could easily spend your whole holiday in...

1Thank djcaroline
Reviewed 30 March 2016

A dream place to stay in. Very articulated spaces with bright light and ventilation which is an ideal architectural place. Very delighted to stay in this architectural marvel. Very nice hosts and delicious food. Hospitality was lovely and greatly appreciated. Thank you for everything.

Thank Sanjaya G
Reviewed 14 March 2016

The pictures say more about the style of this guest house than I can manage here, it really is a beautiful guest house. There are many tranquil spaces to enjoy and our suite was no different; a quality that is near impossible to find without entering a soulless and ugly highrise littering Colombo's city centre. For us at least, it...

Thank Frank R

384 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (154)
Hotel & Grounds (42)
View from Room (4)
Dining (13)
Room/Suite (25)
Bathroom (11)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (58)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (152)
Deluxe Room (33)
Garden Suite (35)
Suite Room (46)
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (78)
Dining (8)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
View from Room (4)
Room/Suite (17)
Bathroom (2)
Other (37)
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
3.0 km away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
1,606 reviews
1.0 km away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
1,174 reviews
1.5 km away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.9 km away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#25 of 52 in Colombo
249 reviews
4.2 km away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful rustic styled fully air conditioned apartments clean, bright and breezy located in the heart of Colombo in quiet, safe, peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highbury Colombo

Address: 14 / 1, Skelton Road | Havelock Town, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range: $81 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highbury Colombo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Highbury Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Highbury Colombo staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Highbury Colombo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try the home cooked dinner. Beef curry was excellent!”
 of 5 bubbles BigKev30, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Good place to stay for one night”
 of 5 bubbles vrankenp, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the main house seem to be better.”
 of 5 bubbles 7cliffe15, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Family suites are great with garden entrances”
 of 5 bubbles 807manelf, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't go unless you are desperate”
 of 5 bubbles Dam06969, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
View Deal
View all 7 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates