We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,638 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Galle Face Hotel Colombo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,279: English reviews
London
Reviewed 10 March 2016

We stayed in the Galle Face Hotel in Colombo for the first night of our honeymoon. Everything about the hotel was outstanding - from the welcome at the front door, to checking out the next morning. Service was exemplary, the food delicious and the scenery breath-taking. Make sure you have a drink on the terrace at sunset - it looks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunshinebaby25
Antony P, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

How lovely to read your review! Thank you very much for visiting the Galle Face Hotel. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. During your next visit we hope you will be with us for a much longer stay. Yours sincerely, Antony G. Paton General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2016

This hotel is very elegant, nicely renovated and very friendly staff. Customer service in the pool area could be better, there were often several staff hanging around the bar area but never looking out, meaning that to order food/beverage you had to get up and go to them. I'm not really a lazy person it's just that they put a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boulie2014
Antony P, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Here at the Galle Face Hotel, giving the guest the best possible service is something we take pride in. Therefore your comments will be seriously addressed with our team to ensure such issues will not be repeated hereafter. We hope you enjoyed your overall stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Yours sincerely, Antony...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Visited the hotel as a part of PMI leadership meet. Great location.. You can see a beautiful sun set sitting in the garden or beach of Galle face hotel. Food is very good.. you will get verity of sea food and salads.. ambiance is good.. The service is a bit delayed or relaxed but it will not be an issue....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KrishnaKumarTI
Antony P, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your experience at the Galle Face Hotel. With regards to the sound however, we must point out that it was not provided by us, but the organizers of the conference. We will pass your comments to them. We hope you will visit us once...

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Arriving in the early hours from India for a two night stay, we were shown to a large well-appointed room with (we discovered in the morning) a beautiful sea view. Unfortunately the colonial-style room above us, with its beautifully polished wooden floors, was not noise proofed against people waking and then checking out at 5am with several wheelie cases! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Positive-pensioner
Antony P, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments on the food have been shared with our chef and his team much to their delight. We are sorry to hear about the noises that disturbed you in the room. Being a very old hotel, it is rather difficult...

Skanderborg
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

The location of this hotel is perfect for everything in Colombo. The room we had was small, though, and yet it was a bit pricy. The restaurant outdoor facilities have perfect view of the sea and sunsets.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lars S
Antony P, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting the Galle Face Hotel and for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel once more. Yours sincerely, Antony G. Paton General Manager

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We arrived at the Galle Face Hotel upon arrival to Colombo. The approach to the hotel looks a bit tatty, but inside is very impressive. Although we arrived well after check-in time, the room was not ready. We were asked to take a seat a greeted with a wet refreshing towel. We note however that some guests received a drink,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Richard W
Antony P, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting the Galle Face Hotel. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused. Your comments have all been addressed. We do hope you will visit us again. Yours sincerely, Antony G. Paton General Manager

Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Reserved a 2-night stay online and selected a "Colonial Room - Landmark Ocean View" room with a higher room rate. On check-in, was taken to a room on the street side and was told it was an "upgrade". When I objected, I was told to wait in the room while my reservation was checked. I received a call that an...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Charles P
Antony P, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We will look at the noise levels in this room and take all necessary actions. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Yours sincerely, Antony G. Paton General Manager

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Travelling as one of 2 couples around Sri Lanka. The stay at the Galle Face hotel was booked approx 1 year previously via our travel agent. Both couples had chosen Ocean view junior suites at the Galle Face hotel for the final night of our trip. We arrived at approx. 14.30 and although our friends were able to be allocated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank qaman90
Antony P, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

I am very sorry to read your review. It was indeed an unfortunate incident where your room was not allocated on time. The room that was given to you was indeed the category that you were paying for albeit, it was not the same as your friends. This is because we are an old hotel and not every room is...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

We have been watching others have high tea at Galle Face Hotel, today it was our turn. We were not disappointed. The tower of food was beautifully presented with both hot, cold, sweet and savoury delicacies. You have the option of tea/coffee or with Prosecco. We opted for the Prosecco package which included all you could drink between 4and 6pm....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peta W
Antony P, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for visiting the Galle Face Hotel and leaving such a kind review about our Afternoon Tea. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience. We hope you will visit us once again. Yours sincerely, Antony G. Paton General Manager

Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

We only stayed one night but the hotel was great and also the high tea in The Verandah restaurant had plenty of variety and food (1800 rs each) The room we got had no view and it was near the lobby so try not to get that one. However, all the amenities and bed was really good. The outdoor pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
Antony P, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and for visiting the Galle Face Hotel. We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you to our hotel once more. Yours sincerely, Antony G. Paton General Manager

1,984 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1798)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (148)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (473)
Viewed
Dining (124)
Viewed
Room/Suite (178)
Viewed
View from Room (81)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (38)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (75)
Viewed
Other (673)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (152)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Premier Ocean View Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.1 km away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.4 km away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
1,614 reviews
0.4 km away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
2,024 reviews
2.8 km away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
703 reviews
4.4 km away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Presented proudly as Sri Lanka's iconic and historic hotel, Galle Face Hotel is located in heart of Colombo City, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green.The hotel has 158 well-appointed rooms and suites, with some offering excellent views across the Indian ocean and the fascinating view of evening sunset.There are three restaurants, a gym, spa and unique saltwater swimming pool, overlooking the seafront. Guests here will be convenient as the hotel offers close access to many of the business district,historic cultural sites and landmarks in Colombo, as well nearby shopping. The hotel is a 45-60min journey from the airport.Guests seeking a glimpse of Colombo's history will enjoy the charm of The Galle Face Hotel with its unique, unaltered setting since 1864. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Address: No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range: $197 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Face Hotel Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Galle Face Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Colombo
#2 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#7 Family Hotel in Colombo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#8 Business Hotel in Colombo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Galle Face Hotel Colombo staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Galle Face Hotel Colombo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4th floor is a smoking floor.”
 of 5 bubbles royw72, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for seaview room”
 of 5 bubbles QasimJafri, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a superior room with ocean view, really nice, but next time I would prefer the junior suite not facing to the hall and city ;)”
 of 5 bubbles viridian05, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a sea view. Room 4006 is very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles JaneVictoria, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“the landmark with a small terrace was very pleasant. ”
 of 5 bubbles free005, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5