We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 221: English reviews
Yangon Region, Myanmar
Reviewed 10 October 2014

I was there last week at The Governor House. We got the room at the top floor and needed to change coz the aircon doesn't work at all. We had to pushed the stuff to come and checked or room because he just told us to wait and see. The decoration of hoel is very charming but in room number...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zabe9
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear valued guests, Thank you for your comments based on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you didn't fully enjoyed the experience in our Boutique Hotel. Unfortunately the aircon unit that we did just maintain has had a problem in your room. Our staff just ask you gently to wait as they were checking the...

Albury, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I have to say, for the first time in many years, all the team at The Governors House made my wife and I feel so welcome, that we did, dab our eyes a little as we left. It really is somewhere special amongst the chaos and mayhem that is Phnom Penh. There was the comfortable room, the excellent restaurant (the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stuartcloake
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Stuart, Many thanks for your superb review that truly touched all our team members. We are really amazed to read that we provided you with great service and high standards. The whole staff keeps a wonderful souvenir of your company during your stay among us and very much look forward to welcoming you again in Cambodia. François Sigogneau General...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed again at the Governor's House in Phnom Penh. Always a pleasurable experience, the welcoming atmosphere, friendliness of the staff, very human scale of the hotel, and above all unparallelled taste with which it has been decorated.. Have a drink and a talk at the lobby bar, and feel slipping back in time to yesteryear... Will keep coming back. Luc...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luc N
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Luc, We are glad to have you as one of our valued regular visitors and very much look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you for your nice comments about our Boutique Hotel which are always a true motivation to our staff who work hard to insure high-end service. Your faithful support to our business strengthen our team members...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Governors house can be recommended as an alternative to the regular chain hotel. It's wonderfully decorated in the colonial style and rooms, while being somewhat small, have their individual, tasteful characters. The lobby with it's bar is a gem. Service Wes impeccable - all wishes were fulfilled without delay (Thank you Francois!). Excellent a la carte breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kai S
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Kai, Thank you for taking time to write your kind feedback about our property. We are truly pleased to read that you enjoyed our quality service, fine food and colonial decor. The whole staff hope you will keep a wonderful "souvenir" of them and maybe visit us with again in the future as your company was a real delight...

London
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights of luxury in PP. Whilst the hotel and building were impressive I wasn't impressed by much else. I felt for what you got it was incredibly overpriced. We had a room in the top floor which was tiny and nothing special. Staff at breakfast were extremely unattentive despite no else in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miss4578
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for your review and good comments about hotel and building. We feel really sorry that you didn't fully enjoy your experience in our Boutique Hotel. Our "Deluxe" double rooms on the top floor are actually furnished in a more modern way but also include old Cambodian colonial desks, 19th century Chinese bedside tables and a...

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My first trip to Cambodia & with everyday I become more enchanted with life here! All credit going to the team at GH - from the manager Mr. Samlot at front desk who knows something about everything & Mr. Tola (both so willing & able to provide local knowledge & with a smile), to Mary & Mr. Sokhean in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alicen47
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for your astonishing review written and shared with TripAdvisor community. Thank you for your staff listing and thanks. They all trully appreciated to read it and it was a great time spend together enjoying your comments with the whole team. I personally thank you as motivation was high then. We really enjoyed your company from...

Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in The Governors house from 1st July until 5th July 2014 A fantastic boutique hotel with only twelve room. Very tastefully designed on a quite road but only five min's in a tuk tuk to get to most places of interest. The menu is small but the food I had was superb and the staff go out of there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tractortrailer
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for sharing such a great review with Tripadvisor community and our appreciative Team. It is always a great pleasure for us to read beautiful comments on our Boutique Hotel and we are very gratified that you spent a most enjoyable 5 nights stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you again in...

Bruges, Belgium
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It's friends of ours that recommended us to go stay at the Governors House in Phnom Penh, Cambodia. And we are grateful that we did. A half hour drive from the airport (depending on the hour traffic!) and central in Phnom Penh lays this colonial decorated villa. The Belgian owner and interior designer turned the house into a silent oasis....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wimpietje
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for your good comments about our Boutique Hotel. We are also grateful to your friends that they recommend you to stay with us as we really enjoyed your company for few days. Now we hope you will keep good souvenir of Cambodia and maybe come back later. If so it will be a great pleasure...

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent two nights at this charming and eclectic hotel. The interior is a fusion of local and european which works brilliantly, and is down to the good taste of the owner. The French manager was charming and couldn't do enough for us, and the staff were very attentive, too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goward93
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback posted on Tripadvisor. The whole hotel's team really enjoy to read that we provide you with incredible service, charm and attention to detail. We hope to accommodate you again and let you discover more about our rooms and property. François Sigogneau General Manager

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A very pretty, authentic looking property that was updated. Rooms very clean, staff lovely and food good. It is charming and feels miles away ( but is in the center of it all) from the hustle and bustle. A unique opportunity to stay in a renovated old mansion with all the essential amenities . I would advise requesting not staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Beth B, Thank you for your good review and for the precious time you took to wrote it. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our staff company as well as our rooms and restaurant during your stay with us. We have just renovated the staircase to the third floor which should no longer give the feeling of...

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
6:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.7 km away
Anik Boutique Hotel
Anik Boutique Hotel
#72 of 275 in Phnom Penh
93 reviews
0.3 km away
The Palm Boutique Hotel & Residence
0.5 km away
Anik Boutique Hotel and Spa
Anik Boutique Hotel and Spa
#71 of 275 in Phnom Penh
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Villa Sovanna Boutique Hotel
Villa Sovanna Boutique Hotel
#55 of 275 in Phnom Penh
207 reviews
0.9 km away
Samsara Villa
Samsara Villa
#32 of 275 in Phnom Penh
164 reviews
0.0 km away
The Mekong Dragon Hotel
The Mekong Dragon Hotel
#74 of 275 in Phnom Penh
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Governor's House boutique hotel in Phnom Penh - the most luxurious and exclusive place in Phnom Penh.The Governor’s House is an exclusive boutique hotel with 12 rooms in an elegant colonial-style mansion located in the heart of BoeungKeng Kang I (BKK I), an area which is known as the best residential area in downtown Phnom Penh, located just a 10 minute drive from the Riverfront. The hotel is only a short drive to the Independence Monument, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda and the National Museum.The hotel was once home to a senator of Phnom Penh and is an old style architectural beauty; tastefully furnished with all original colonial antiques. The hotel shows the exquisite taste in the interior design as directed by the owner, an award winning and internationally recognised interior designer. This boutique hotel offers a perfect balance of colonial style elements combined with modern amenities. With three stories in a Victorian style building, the hotel is inspired by the Asian architectural treasures of ‘The Strand Hotel’ of Yangon, ‘The Raffles Grand d’Angkor Cambodia" of Phnom Penh and the ‘Oriental Hotel’ of Bangkok while still maintaining its originality. The owner recognises the needs of the 21st century business traveller and offers free wi-fi, daily newspapers and an excellent 24 hour concierge.The Governor's House offers an outdoor pool, a restaurant offering breakfast (a la carte menu), lunch and dinner with both outdoor and indoor seating, and balcony space to relax and enjoy the views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh

Address: Villa 3, Mao Tse Tung Blvd | Sangkat Boeung Keng Kong I, Khan Chamkarmorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Price Range: $138 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#16 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#23 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the executive suite”
 of 5 bubbles theresap195, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The hotel doesn't have an elevator, so don't take the top floor rooms if you aren't comfortable with stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 738ekaterinac, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Good base and makes you feel at home”
 of 5 bubbles andrewwK7123ZD, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Staff were friendly and helpful”
 of 5 bubbles Terrace04, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
“room 3: view to the pool”
 of 5 bubbles thomas-mueller-zrh, 2 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5