We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

TAO Riverside Residence

Save
Share
No. 1 Street 144, Daun Penh Corner Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh 12000 Cambodia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 04/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from TAO Riverside Residence
Updated 04/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 387 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
TAO Riverside Residence is a brand new (open 2018) urban style hotel & short stay accommodation situated right on the central and lively Sisowath Quay riverfront of Phnom Penh. TAO Residence is designed to cater to discerning travellers of all standings who want more than just a room. TAO Residence invites you to experience a variety of luxurious, new and uniquely designed spacious river-front accommodations with balconies and amazing views over the Mekong and Tonle Sap rivers at the best central location in Phnom Penh. TAO Riverside Residence boasts 11 spacious apartment style design rooms, divided over 4 floors in multiple buildings dating back from the French era.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Street parking
Wifi
Taxi service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German, Khmer
51Reviews2Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 8
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
MichaelRoggeman wrote a review Nov 2020
Bangkok, Thailand3 contributions
Excellent room, very good staff! But beware of the contractual extras... Electricity is charged at more of 150% of the actual rate in place in Cambodia! And a lost magnetic key card at an exorbitant 25 USD. When I complained and told them I felt that was a real rip off, the GM lowered it to 15 USD. I am a very regular traveler worldwide, both for work and privately, and I have never ever been charged for a lost key card in a hotel... In my personal opinion, a hotel should not sell electricity and key cards with exorbitant margins!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Leo Leendert Mulder, Owner at TAO Riverside Residence
Responded 5 Jan 2021
Dear Michael Roggeman, Thanks for your review and good to read you liked the room and staff. We are in an exceptional period of time due to COVID with 0 tourists since March 18th, 2020... but TAO made successfully switched from a busy daily hotel establishment to a long-term accommodations provider as our rooms are well equipped for longer stays. You stayed with us for 6 weeks with a special COVID Longstay monthly rental price excluding electricity usage. This is very clearly marked in the contract you signed before renting our apartment. We do charge US$ 0,08 cents more than the official rate as you also use our communal public areas. Regarding the magnetic keycard, I fully agree with you and this should not have been charged to you. I will amend this rule with the front desk staff. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again when you are able to visit Cambodia. All the best, Team TAO.
Read more
Katrijn_Jeroen wrote a review Feb 2020
Maun, Botswana298 contributions87 helpful votes
+1
Perfect location straight on the river in the middle of the town. Within walking distance of most places of interest. We had a loft with river view on the first floor. Very comfortable and spacious room with a big terrace. Very friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from LeoCambodia, Owner at TAO Riverside Residence
Responded 15 Feb 2020
Hi Katrijn_Jeroen, Dank voor de review. Thanks for the review and sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear your stay was good and comfortable and our team was there to assist you. We hope to welcome you back soon again. All the best, Team TAO.
Read more
Pete wrote a review Feb 2020
Saitama, Japan14 contributions17 helpful votes
Stayed 3 nights, as launchpad for a conference & parties. Street view from my room, although I gather some rooms have river view. Clean & spacious, & staff were firendly & helpful on the whole. Will prob stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LeoCambodia, Owner at TAO Riverside Residence
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Dear daSaitema, Thank you for leaving a review and sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. Yes most of our rooms, especially the Riverfront Lofts, the Penthouse Suite and Studio's have great views over the Tonle sap and Mekong rivers. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon again. All thebest from team TAO.
Read more
Disappointed traveller wrote a review Jan 2020
4 contributions2 helpful votes
When we arrived having booked and paid for a penthouse studio we were shown to a second floor room with a veiw of a car repair shop. Not quite a penthouse studio more a room with no view. We declined this room and were then shown to a 4th floor room, still not a penthouse, but we were tired and accepted second best. We had a limited view of the river from the balcony, but were still adjacent to the car repair shop on the side road. Breakfast you can purchase a voucher from the front desk for 2 different restaurants, dont waste your money as there is plenty of choice within 200 yards. Be careful when checking out, we had used 4 items from the mini bar so paid for them the evening before we left, only to find that we were asked for payment again in the morning. Luckily we had asked the front desk to receipt the payment.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LeoCambodia, Owner at TAO Riverside Residence
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear Mutiara6970, Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. We are sorry to read your experience was not as you expected. I (owner) checked with our frontdesk staff, because our aim is to make the stay for all our guests a great one. Our frontdesk agent took you to by mistake to the wrong room, but immediately noticed his mistake and brought you the room you initially reserved, the Penthouse Studio on the 4th floor. It's one of our finest and most booked room type with a large balcony offering spectacular city views and a perpendicular view on the 2 rivers passing Phnom Penh. There is no car repair shop next door or near our hotel. We don't have a restaurant as there are hundreds dotted around our hotel, but we do offer, as a service, for a fair price a great all day breakfast at the adjacent iconic LaCroisette restaurant or the French Eric Kayser Bakery. You can either enjoy the breakfast in your room or in the restaurant. Its a choice we offer upon check in to our guests. Again our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have had during your stay with us. All the best, Team TAO
Read more
SAINTSWAYNE wrote a review Jan 2020
Poole, United Kingdom19 contributions12 helpful votes
Well when you look at the website and read the reviews it's vary rare to find that it's better than you thought. I had the penthouse which was fabulous with outstanding views. The hotel is quiet with all rooms having soundproof glass so no disturbance from traffic noise. Location is perfect. Housekeeping is prompt as soon as you leave your room it's being cleaned. Staff speak good English and are very helpful. This is a 1st for me when I have no negatives about this hotel just positive feedback. Book here and you won't be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LeoCambodia, Manager at TAO Riverside Residence
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Dear Saintswayne, We are thrilled to read your review and happy that your stay with us was great, no even better than you expected. We try our best to make all of our guests stay as good as possible. Our team is ready to help. We hope to welcome you back soon again. All the best from team TAO.
Read more
Previous
1234569
PRICE RANGE
USD 46 - USD 75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Riverside Suites
LOCATION
CambodiaPhnom Penh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about TAO Riverside Residence
Which popular attractions are close to TAO Riverside Residence?
Nearby attractions include La Porte du Cambodge (0.5 km), Space Hair Salon and Bar (0.3 km), and Friends 'n' Stuff (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at TAO Riverside Residence?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, airport transportation, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at TAO Riverside Residence?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at TAO Riverside Residence?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at TAO Riverside Residence?
Yes, free public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to TAO Riverside Residence?
Conveniently located restaurants include Majorelle, Chez Gaston, and Chez Tonton - Phnom Penh.
Does TAO Riverside Residence have an airport shuttle?
Yes, TAO Riverside Residence offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at TAO Riverside Residence?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at TAO Riverside Residence?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Dutch, and Khmer.
Are there any historical sites close to TAO Riverside Residence?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Royal Palace (0.6 km), Wat Langka (2.7 km), and Stupa Of Princess Kantha Bopha (1.1 km).