We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
01/10/2017 02/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

    Street 302, Building 26, Phnom Penh BKK1, Cambodia
    Hotel website
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    01/10/2017 02/10/2017
    Traveller (255)
    Dining (32)
    Room & Suite (28)
    The Pavilion
    2,507 reviews
    #10 of 270 hotels in Phnom Penh
     
    White Mansion
    1,983 reviews
    #8 of 270 hotels in Phnom Penh
     
    The Kabiki
    864 reviews
    #17 of 270 hotels in Phnom Penh
     
    Jasmin Monument Hotel
    366 reviews
    #75 of 270 hotels in Phnom Penh
     
    Overview
    • Excellent61%
    • Very good26%
    • Average9%
    • Poor3%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “sunset bar” (58 reviews)
    “beer pong” (41 reviews)
    “bar crawl” (20 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Rooftop Bar
    Laundry Service
    Rooftop Terrace
    Free Parking
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
    The Pavilion
    2,507 reviews
    #10 of 270 hotels in Phnom Penh
     
    White Mansion
    1,983 reviews
    #8 of 270 hotels in Phnom Penh
     
    The Kabiki
    864 reviews
    #17 of 270 hotels in Phnom Penh
     
    Jasmin Monument Hotel
    366 reviews
    #75 of 270 hotels in Phnom Penh
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (1,535)
    There are newer reviews for Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    141 - 145 of 1,426 reviews

    Reviewed 5 December 2016

    We arrived at 10pm and at the inconvenient time of a downpour of rain. We were unable to pay on the card we had and we had to go out in the rain to get cash - they had our passport details and we were...More

    Thank gemvms
    Response from MMCommunications, Public Relations Manager at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom PenhResponded 10 December 2016

    Thank you for sharing your experience, we appreciate the feedback. We're sorry for the confusion about payment for your stay. The emails you receive from us before you arrive do explain that you card has not been charged. We generally ask for payment during check-in,...More

    Reviewed 2 December 2016

    I stayed in the female dorm above the restaurant and under the bar. The room was clean enough, bed was soft and clean, a towel was not included. I was looking forward to staying here and meeting people but unfortunately I got sick. I had...More

    Thank Winnerwithoutther
    Response from MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom PenhResponded 3 December 2016

    Like what I have said to the previous review, we always value all the comments here left by our guests. Yours is one of those. Towel is free but you'll have to give a deposit of a few dollars which will be returned back to...More

    Reviewed 1 December 2016

    The hostel dorms were basic, the rooms were clean, the beds comfy enough and high top bunks. The staff were friendly. The bar however had decent prices and nice drinks. However one of the hostel workers, a woman from Mozambique I think. Was rude and...More

    Thank thebackpacker77
    Response from MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom PenhResponded 3 December 2016

    Hi thebackpacker77, thank you for sending your review. We value all comments here and we make sure we do proper action about it. I apologize for the not - so - good experience with one of our staff. I have already called the attention of...More

    Reviewed 30 November 2016

    This hostel was my favourite throughout my travels around South East Asia. The facilities here are superb (great bar most importantly), and the staff are very friendly. Being a solo traveller, I was grateful to find a friend in a staff member named Henri. Unlike...More

    Thank mchapman9043
    Response from MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom PenhResponded 3 December 2016

    It was an absolute delight having you stay here with our team at The Mad Monkey. We wish you the very best for your onward trip :-) Thank you for staying at our socially responsible hostel.

    Reviewed 25 November 2016

    I didn't enjoy the Phnom Penh hostel as much as the one in Siem Reap, but for a city hostel, it was still nice. The bar on the top floor had a cool vibe and a great lounge room. Our dorm was right next door...More

    Thank Maria M
    Response from MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom PenhResponded 28 November 2016

    Thank you so much for staying with us, Maria. You will see that we do take care to read and consider every review we get. I have forwarded this to our manager to see where need to fill the gap. You can always ask our...More

    The Pavilion
    2,507 reviews
    #10 of 270 hotels in Phnom Penh
     
    White Mansion
    1,983 reviews
    #8 of 270 hotels in Phnom Penh
     
    The Kabiki
    864 reviews
    #17 of 270 hotels in Phnom Penh
     
    Jasmin Monument Hotel
    366 reviews
    #75 of 270 hotels in Phnom Penh
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Laundry Service
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Things to do
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Outdoor pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 10 - USD 15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 128
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Cambodia >
    • Phnom Penh
    • Also Known As
    • The Mad Monkey Hotel Phnom Penh
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (255)
    Dining (32)
    Room & Suite (28)
    Pool & Beach (6)
    Hotel & Grounds (203)
    Bathroom (10)
    Family and Play Areas (3)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
    Nearby
    The Kabiki
    864 reviews
    .66 km away
     
    White Mansion
    1,983 reviews
    .67 km away
     
    Jasmin Monument Hotel
    366 reviews
    .45 km away
     
    The Pavilion
    2,507 reviews
    .83 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Be.k Cafe
    13 reviews
    .16 km away
    Mok Mony
    1,403 reviews
    .08 km away
    Brown Coffee and Bakery
    224 reviews
    .12 km away
    Petra
    207 reviews
    .13 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Bassac Lane
    49 reviews
    .41 km away
    Tuk-tuk Phnom Penh
    344 reviews
    .13 km away
    La Table Khmere Cooking class
    188 reviews
    .29 km away
    Jazz Club Phnom Penh
    73 reviews
    .20 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    graemewelsh
    10 February 2017|
    AnswerShow all 8 answers
    Response from MMCommunications | Property representative |
    Yes Graeme, we do have a computer with internet available for guests to use!
    2
    Votes
    Aster C
    3 January 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from MMCommunications | Property representative |
    A taxi should cost $12 and a tuk-tuk should cost $9. See you soon!
    0
    Votes
    Shelby J
    3 October 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from TayCoff | Reviewed this property |
    Yeah, I arrived quite late as well - but they were present and helpful. :)
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "mejor hostal ever"
    Read review
    "Bring ear plugs."
    Read review
    "The wifi doesn't reach top floors"
    Read review
    "If seeking a private room, ask about any options above the main office as this is away from the noisy rooftop..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing