We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hue Backpackers' Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hue Backpackers\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 295: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very good hostel. I went on a daily moto tour to discover Hue and that was awesome! The hostel is nice even with a broken shower and low wifi connexion ... (only bad point!) VBH are always a good idea ;)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings traveler Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are always glad to hear that our guests had a great time staying with us. We have already fixed the shower as well and am busy sorting out the wifi connection. If you are ever in the area again feel free to join us for another...

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We had the worst experience ever!! Private rooms were not even in the hostel but across the street in a crapy hotel!!! The matress was covered with plastic for God's sake!! Shower was embaresing and imposible to use if you are not a 6 years old. Couldn't open the window, just felt old and dirty..bahhh. We were in Hoi An...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BubiBubinko
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings traveler Thank you for sending us your feedback with regards to our private rooms. The hostel itself only houses the dorm rooms. All our private rooms are in the DMZ hotel opposite the hostel as we don't enough floor space for both. We are busy improving the quality of our private rooms and soon they will up to the...

Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Only stayed here for a night but we really enjoyed. Good quiz for meeting people. Food was good from the bar (Bun Cha) and great drink deals. We had a double room and the bathroom was great (powerful shower and clean). Worth a stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings traveler Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is also great to hear that people enjoyed their stay with us so much. If you guys ever have the time feel free to join us for drink on us. Hope you are still traveling safe and having a great time. Cheers The Hue Team

Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Stayed here in a dorm for three nights. Had a great time. The staff were very helpful and do "the mother of "wake up calls for tours. Which is great when you have a hangover. Stayed in a dorm which was very noisy the first night but much quieter the following two nights. (Just depends on the type of crowed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pjsdoggy
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hi traveler It is great to hear that you had such a great stay with us. We strive to create a fun and social environment for guests to socialize and meet like-minded travelers. Thank for taking the time to give us feedback. Feel free to join us again for a drink or two. Cheers The Hue Team

Makati, Philippines
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

We love VBH in Hanoi so we opted to stay in their branch in Hue. But it was very disappointing. They put us to the hotel across them which is the Phuoc an DMZ. The towels were so black and dirty. Good thing we have our own towel with us. There was no hot shower either. We stayed one more...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wildpinkfairy
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings traveler Thank you for sending us your feedback with regards to our private rooms. Unfortunately, because the hostel is smaller than Downtown in Hanoi we do not have the space to have private rooms in our main building. This is why we use the DMZ Hotel for our private rooms which opposite the hostel. We are busy improving the...

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed this hostel. We were only here for the one nights but loved it as a group of backpackers. Reception staff were fantastic and very helpful in booking trips. Had a fun evening doing the pub quiz and a great bar for drinks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmallon121
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings traveler Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback. It is always great hearing guests had such a good time while staying with us. We strive to create a fun and social atmosphere for our guests to relax, have a few drinks and have a good time while socializing. If you are ever in the area again...

Reviewed 20 September 2016

I was in a dorm, the AC was good. Staff were awesome hosts in the evening. I went on the Hue bike tour and it was the best!! The guide Tate knew loads of information about the stops and made sure we were all looked after very well. Food is good and service was friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregory M
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings traveler Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to hear you had such a great stay with us. We hope to see you soon again for some drinks. Cheers The Hue Team

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed in a private room, I really don't care if the room was small but yes if it was so dirty like cleaned 2 months ago. The music is so loud until 2/3am and you really cannot stay We request to the staff at the reception map of the city and they told us that we had to pay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaia S
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings traveler Thank you for taking the time and sending us feedback. We take this information seriously and have put an action plan in place to improve the quality of our private rooms. We close our bar at 11pm to give our guests the opportunity to get some rest while taking the other guests to another bar if they wish...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

I've traveled a lot and therefore always been skeptic about bad reviews but this time I'm writing one myself, unfortunately. The staff, especially at the reception, are not at ease at all as lonely planet (edition 2014) describes. It seemed they wanted to rush things instead off welcoming and comforting you. So no, they were not friendly at all. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paris_ma_belle_24-7
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings traveler Thank you for taking the time to send us some feedback, both positive and negative. We strive that our guests to have the best time during their stay with us and since your stay we have done training with our staff to address the issues you mentioned. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your meals with us...

Strasbourg, France
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Rude staff, wifi out of order, very loud music: couldn't sleep until 1:30am. The bunk beds in my room were very close (less than 1 meter), I nearly felt like I was sleeping with the person next to me. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adelinetravel
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings traveler We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us but would like to thank you for taking the time to send us some feedback. We are aware that there has been issues with the wifi. We have since done maintenance and it has improved. We understand some guests would like to rest and get...

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.5 km away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#5 of 119 in Hue
1,952 reviews
0.2 km away
HueNino Hotel
HueNino Hotel
#4 of 119 in Hue
1,060 reviews
0.7 km away
Ngoc Binh Hotel
Ngoc Binh Hotel
#34 of 119 in Hue
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hue Happy Homestay
0.3 km away
Tigon Hostel
Tigon Hostel
#25 of 92 in Hue
131 reviews
0.2 km away
Hong Thien Backpackers Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Hue Backpackers' Hostel

Address: 10 Pham Ngu Lao St, Hue, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Price Range: $17 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hue Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hue Backpackers` Hotel Hue
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hue Backpackers' Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hue Backpackers' Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best tip? Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles Jayjiabao, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“Quiet, good beds, nice showers”
 of 5 bubbles SietzeBe, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Dorms over private room”
 of 5 bubbles eggsontoastLondon, 3 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Good for party / drinks”
 of 5 bubbles BoulevardBrowser, 8 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Go elsewhere for a private room”
 of 5 bubbles 33LauraT33, 1 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay