We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

782 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
See the most recent reviews
Showing 694: English reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere of you want to go on a pub crawl - they organise the places and are in a big group so you feel safe! There are other dorms very close to the area for cheaper though. The area is quite central. Very good for meeting many other backpackers, but you can probably meet them elsewhere too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paigehs
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Paige, we appreciate your feedback & we hope you had a great time travelling the rest of SE Asia. Thanks.

Reviewed 4 December 2014 via mobile

I can't say anything bad about Hanoi Backpackers. Rooms were nice, I stayed in a few different rooms because I kept extending my stay and they were all nice enough. Free breakfast was good. Great location. If you stay here, definitely do the castaway tour to Ha Long Bay, it was amazing. Rooftop bar is great with something different going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael A
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Rachael, we are very happy you had a great stay with us in the hostel. We also hope you did well in the pub quiz!! Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Reviewed 4 December 2014

Very Modern and clean hostel, it is not for the faint of heart. If you are looking for quiet at the end of the day this is not the place for you. It has a great bar, which in fairness closes at 11pm, however people are coming in and out all night. Great prices and the breakfast is included.... This...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma M
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Emma, we appreciate your review of our hostel, we do hope the rest of your travels were good. Thanks again.

Reviewed 1 December 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in a dorm. The dorm was clean and good size, huge lockers to fit all your stuff. Your own charger and a place to lock your phone while charging which was great. There's shared bathrooms which are really nice and clean! The only con for the room was the aircon dripped water during the night so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deb L
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Thanks Deb for your review of the hostel. We appreciate your feedback. Please do stay in touch.

Reviewed 30 November 2014

I initially had booked at a different hostel in Hanoi where I didnt get my room. I came to this hostel early in the morning, around 6 am or so, and was exhausted from travelling the night before. I was able to get a room right away and just pay for the one coming night - This was a reallly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norway5050
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi there, We are glad we were able to make your travels a little more comfortable. Thanks for taking the time to write a review of the hostel. Hope to see you again one day.

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 26 November 2014

I had heard incredible things about this hostel. Many even dubbed it, the "best hostel in the world". But I was pretty disappointed. I stayed here for a relatively long time (9 days all up) in an female dorm. During the course of my stay, I saw at least 4 boys come and stay in the room, completely contracting the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannah K
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Hannah, thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We do appreciate your feedback & are glad you had a good time in our hostel. We will be sure to feed back your other comments. Thanks again & enjoy your future travels.

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 25 November 2014

very good place for backpackers, clean, comfortable, modern, nice staff, good internet and breakfast. very good location. good services. ...........................................................................

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeesssTV
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey Jess, thanks for your great review. Do stay in touch.

London
Reviewed 20 November 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous private rooms, but unnecessary and expensive considering quality options just down the road for less than half the price. Too many people and they're all on a booze cruise asking 'how many countries you done' rubbish. Some of the staff are rude, probably frustrated by ignorant, drunken Westerners! It's just too hectic....don't stay here if you want good conversation,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim R
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Kim, thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. Although the feedback is not all positive, we will take this on board & improve our services where needed. We hope the rest of your travels were a good experience. Thanks again.

Reviewed 20 November 2014

We enjoyed the experience but feel that we didn't get enough value for our money and there was false advertising in the hostel and flyers. We were promissed a western guide and got a vietnamese that had very basic english and was difficult to understand. On the motorbike day, there was supposed to be a hippie van to ride in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mri_bu
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi there, we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of our Buffalo run. Buffalo run is one of the most amazing experiences of Vietnam so we are very sorry you feel this way about your time with us. We have addressed your concerns with our tour guides & we hope the rest of your time in...

Reviewed 19 November 2014 via mobile

Hanoi backpackers is just amazing. Free beer, bar crawls, unreal chill out area with a load of films and such a friendly vibe. We found it amazing that we could get a double bed and still be involved in meeting people along our travels. It was a massive concern that we wouldn't be able to do this if we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katie p
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Katie, thanks for your great review. Please do stay in touch & we will hopefully see you again one day.

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.9 km away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
0.6 km away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#8 of 298 in Hanoi
1,079 reviews
0.5 km away
Hanoi City Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
0.1 km away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#10 of 298 in Hanoi
215 reviews
0.7 km away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Address: 48 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Price Range: $13 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room with a lot of people”
 of 5 bubbles 341sebastieng, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't sleep under the AC”
 of 5 bubbles oisat, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms on in the second building are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles connore492, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“no elevator - get your glute workout on!, amazing staff, book your tours through this hostel”
 of 5 bubbles 684melb, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Well worth the walk”
 of 5 bubbles 910tanikak, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay