We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

807 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 718: English reviews
Start your review of Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As in the title - this is the best hostel i have been to. I recommend it especially for beginners in Vietnam because the atmospere here is like in home, staff speaks fluently in English and is very helpfull. Cool bar, many events, clean, safe and cheap.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Piotr G
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pros: English speaking staff Daily events and specials on drinks Good value for money Great atmosphere Free breakfast in the morning - a choice of fruit salad, toast, or something else. Comes with free tea. Location is also excellent Cons We booked a bus from Sapa to Hanoi through them which was stuffed up but they were able to sort...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zali S
Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate the feedback. Its great to hear that you liked having having our english speaking staff around, our travel team as always on hand to help if something goes wrong, I'm glad we sorted the situation out for you. We are also pleased that you like...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Highly recommended - especially for the younger crowd - students etc, rooms are very cheap 5 US Dollars a night, including free breakfast every day, a free tour for 1/2 hours around Hanoi - worth doing! They serve free beer for an hour a day, have beer ping games, club crawl nights, 2 for 1 beers and a rooftop bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doesvh
Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us an awesome 5 star review, we really appreciate it. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed pretty much everything about our hostel. Our nightly events that start with free beer and happy hours on the rooftop to make meeting people super easy. Our food, not only at...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Didnt want to write a bad review but just had to since the hostel management isnt taking action. Wanted to warn you to be cautious on booking the private car pick up from the airport. So I paid $25 for the pick up, did not see the driver at all. And obviously surrounding drivers were communicating. A guy came up,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadiah A
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for passing on your comments. Im pleased our hostel manager has now contacted you directly and resolved the situation and also got further feedback so we can make sure our guests do not get scammed in any way at the airport. A full refund will also be on its way to you. All the best for your future...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having already booked the Buffalo Run before leaving home, myself and a friend explored Vietnam in January 2017 and I can safely say that this was the best decision we made. The tour was packed full of a variety of activities and we experienced so much of what the country had to offer. Ricky, our tour guide, was hilarious, kind,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chlowhit
Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave The Original Hostel and our Buffalo Run trip an awesome 5 star review, it is very much appreciated. Its great to hear that you had such an amazing time on our 7 day Buffalo Run from Hanoi to Hoi An. Having a tour guide like Ricky, one of our many fantastic...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Outstanding hospitality from everyone running this beautiful oasis. Hanoi can be overwhelming on the first visit however, the fellow travelers took care of us. Alex was a great help as well. Much love.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zachary h
Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey Zach, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us an awesome 5 star review, we really appreciate it. It's great to hear that you had such a good stay with us and that our team here were able to help you adjust to the awesome craziness of Hanoi. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your time...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel is reasonably priced. Having stayed here in the past it works out around 5USD a night for a 6 man dorm, the rooms are usually quite cosy with ensuite bathrooms, however, unlike the newer downtown backpackers which has an elevator, if your on the higher floors it can sometimes mean lugging bags up and down flights of stairs

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey Rob, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. Glad you enjoyed our great location within Hanoi's awesome old quarter which does limit us on serious structural changes such as lifts which our Downtown hostel has for those who need. It is also great to hear that you found us to be...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I completed the Buffalo Run from Hanoi to Hoi An about a week ago. In short - I had a FANTASTIC time. Great value considering the amount of activities we did (one of the best being riding on a motorcycle on the Hi Van Pass!). Our tour guide My (aka Robinhood) was INCREDIBLE. So thoughtful, knowledgeable, respectful. I always felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey Anna, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave The Original Hostel and the Buffalo Run a fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Its great to hear that you had such an amazing time on our 7 day Buffalo Run with My, one of our many awesome tour guides. The Hai Van pass with a...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We actually stayed in this Hostel twice as we went to Sapa inbetween. Couldn't recommend this place anymore. The private rooms are situated away from the dorms which I thought was nice. The reception is full of information and speak very good English for ESL. There are plenty of Western employees there as well. The restaurant is lovely and affordable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam W
Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey Liam, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us an awesome 5 star review, we really appreciate it. It's great to hear that you had such a good stay with us. We are eagerly awaiting fibre optic to be installed into Hanoi to further boost our wifi capabilities. We are glad you enjoyed the food and...

Lindenhurst, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

this hostel was great. staff is friendly & helpful, food is good & location is ideal. it's a great spot to meet people. it's a lot more chilled out than the hostel they own downtown. you can actually get to sleep here! the beds are very comfy as well. the tours are a bit pricey but well worth it. they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Casq
Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey Maria, Thank you for taking the time to leave us an awesome 5 star review, we really appreciate it. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our good food, convenient location and a great nights sleep. We are also pleased that you had such a good trip on our Ha Long Bay Castaways Island trip that you booked...

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.9 km away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
0.6 km away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#9 of 335 in Hanoi
1,108 reviews
0.9 km away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#8 of 335 in Hanoi
281 reviews
0.5 km away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#1 of 335 in Hanoi
465 reviews
0.6 km away
Little Hanoi Hostel
Little Hanoi Hostel
#10 of 335 in Hanoi
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Address: 48 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Price Range: $13 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“great tours”
 of 5 bubbles D9531LHannat, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with a lot of people”
 of 5 bubbles 341sebastieng, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't sleep under the AC”
 of 5 bubbles oisat, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms on in the second building are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles connore492, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“no elevator - get your glute workout on!, amazing staff, book your tours through this hostel”
 of 5 bubbles 684melb, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5