We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Hostelworld.comUSD 10*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 25*
USD 10*
Great Deal
USD 25*
USD 25*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

819 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 730: English reviews
Start your review of Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

A very social, fun hostel. Each day there are free walking tours of Hanoi night, and free drinks from 5-6 pm at the rooftop bar. The travel desk is SUPER helpful-- they spent 40 minutes helping me plan out my itinerary for Vietnam, and convinced me to book the Castaways tour in Ha Long Bay. Honestly, the Castaways tour is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will J
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

When I arrived here the first time, it was 3:30 AM. They let me crash on their lobby couch and store my stuff til check in. They have a super helpful front seat area with travel info and bookings. I found them to be a little pricey for the bookings but it's convenient if you're too lazy to shop around....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessie B
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This location is quieter than the other one in the old/french quarter. Go here for more chill atmosphere. Equally clean and comfortable as the other one. I'd recommend this one for relaxing more than partying. All in all very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We visited this hostel in April 2017 and stayed in a standard private room. The room was really smaller but we made it work. The bed was comfy and there was good air conditioning. The bathroom had no ventilation so our towels and the floor never dried from the shower but it could have been worse. The private room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steffles6
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 3 nights, would not recommend. Could suit travelers looking to meet new people as there are always people in reception. PROS Decent breakfast Sociable vibe Friendly Staff CONS Room dirt/unkept e.g. cockroracheslock broken on luggage storage no wifi in room shower and toilet on different floor to room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ValentinoG1990
Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Its great to hear that you liked our free breakfast, social atmosphere and friendly staff. Unfortunately not all our dorm rooms our en-suite however our deluxe dorms all have en-suite bathrooms with toilets and showers and are big, bright and spacious. Our housekeeping team cleans all room thoroughly...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I would highly recommend this place to others for their friendly staff, great breakfast, good vibes, good rooftops with free beers, free Wi-Fi and close to hoan kiem lake at the old quarter. The halong bay trip organised by them was the best in my entire trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gautam k
Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us an awesome 5 star review, we really appreciate it. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our free breakfast, free beer and free WIFI. Its also great to hear that you had an amazing time on our trip to Ha Long bay...

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pro: reasonable priced, friendly staff, helpfull travel advice, everything you need (wifi, laundry, rooftop bar with daily entertainment, free breakfast, etc) Con: little bit mouldy We were here a few nights at the bveginning of our travel. Everything ok. The quieter of the two VBH in town, which we were very happy about. Rooftop bar closes at 09:30 p.m. which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katl16
Alex_VBH1, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey, Thank your for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciated it. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our convenient facilities and were able to get some help from our friendly travel team. We close the bars at 9:30pm to protect our guest that want a good nights sleep...

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the opposite building, so i don't know how is the main one. Our room had mold on the wall, the wifi was not working, we suffered from electricity break and the toilet blockage... Again, i don't know how is the main building. However, the entrance and lobby looks good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tsachi K
Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey, Thank your for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciated the feedback as we are always looking for ways that we can improve. With there being so many guests using the WIFI we do need to reset it ever now and again, which we are always happy to do if someone is having an issue...

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here a couple nights hit up the castaway tour but to be honest mad monkey koh rong samloem was much better bit of a rip off if you ask me! Don't get me wrong still had a sick time the staff and venue was good but not worth the hype people were giving it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey Jamie Thank your for taking the time to leave us a review, its very much appreciated. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Original. Its also great to here that you had a really awesome time in Ha Long Bay on Castaways Island. Due to the entry fees into Ha Long Bay that are...

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here a few nights, would recommend for a young person new to traveling. Staff are very welcoming and friendly. Great atmosphere for young backpackers. Free breakfast and good night life. Stayed in 3 person dorm, was not impressed. Bathroom not on same floor, the room itself is very cramped. Would be nice to have more outlets, hooks etc. Also,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joelleyyf
Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review, we do appreciate it. Its great to hear that you liked our free breakfast and found the staff to be welcoming and friendly. Unfortunately not all our dorm rooms our en-suite however our deluxe dorms all have en-suite and are big, bright and spacious. Our 3 day...

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (81)
Viewed
Private Double Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Single Dorm Bed (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.9 km away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
0.7 km away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#11 of 341 in Hanoi
1,112 reviews
1.0 km away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#9 of 341 in Hanoi
289 reviews
0.5 km away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#1 of 341 in Hanoi
483 reviews
0.4 km away
Hanoi Pho Hostel
Hanoi Pho Hostel
#6 of 341 in Hanoi
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Address: 48 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Price Range: $13 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the private room for free breakfast and some privacy”
499gautamk, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“great tours”
D9531LHannat, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with a lot of people”
341sebastieng, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't sleep under the AC”
oisat, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms on in the second building are very quiet.”
connore492, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
USD 10* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 25
Agoda.comUSD 25
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates