We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Novotel Ha Long Bay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

762 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 570: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Currently staying at the Novotel Halong Bay - DO NOT GO THERE!! The information from the hotel does not state that there is a massive, dirty, muddy construction site directly across the road; the hotel forgot to mention that there is limited internet even though they do not tell you before hand or when you arrive and check in but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 123JRF123
New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After booking a boutique hotel in Hanoi, this was to be the big splurge in Ha Long over NYE2017. Imagine how disappointed we were when we discovered the hotel was only ok! Rooms were clean enough, but the linens smelled so bad I could not sleep the first night! The buffet pretty expensive but since there wasn't much else around,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iloveizzys
gmnovotel, Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review

Dear Iloveizzys, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. I was quite surprised to read linen smelled...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a few nights either side of a cruise. We really wished we had spent longer on the cruise rather than stay in the hotel. It's in need of quite a few updates, the bed was lumpy and uncomfortable, towels and chair stained, the view is not what is advertised in the pictures on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shayne-Marie B
Savigny-le-Temple, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent New year's eve at the ha long bay and stayed at the Novotel. Upgraded in a superior room thank you! Sea view is mainly view on the construction ground in front of the hôtel. Glad i didnt pay for it ! The walls are as thin as paper so hopefully your neighbour will be quiet -ours werent. Breakfast average...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julien F
gmnovotel, Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review

Dear Julien F, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Ha Long Bay. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer. Therefore your feedback is very important to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed the hotel and the atmosphere. The food and drinks were great. Tung was an awesome and friendly bartender who really made our experience enjoyable. All of the wait staff were extremely kind and helpful, which was a relief after staying at a hotel in Hanoi where the staff was unfriendly. Everything was always clean and well done,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brendan F
gmnovotel, For and on behalf of the managment at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Brendan F, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ha Long Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was modern and clean overall. There was a good selection of food at the buffet breakfast and the wait staff were very attentive. Unfortunately there were negatives which let the hotel down. The bed was very hard, I woke up with a sore back this morning. Water leaked onto the floor tiles from the shower door and made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SzKNz
gmnovotel, For and on behalf of the management at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review

Dear SzKNz, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Ha Long Bay. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We got into the lounge to get a tea and meet our friend Tung, the place is awesome and the service is very good. You can pretty much get a simple coffee or an expensive wine. We also found Chianti and, being Italian, we were pretty surprised. Looking forward to come here again when I'll be in Ha Long.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
gmnovotel, For and on behalf of the management at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review

Dear Mark M, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ha Long Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of...

Sydney
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all, I would say if its not because of the construction site, i probably would give this place a 5 out of 5. I booked when Accor group had 40% off sales and it is extremely cheap compare to my other accomodation in this Vietnam and Cambodia trip (you can check my other review). I travelled with my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Yuki_Tastingthecloud
gmnovotel, For and on behalf of the management at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review

Dear Yuki_Tastingthecloud, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ha Long Bay. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not as expectation due to the construction. It is sure that brings a new face to Ha Long once the construction finishes. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Massive amounts of construction going on but the hotel is nice. Need to have a mask when walking around. The pollution makes it impossible to see anything from the rooms. Suggest waiting a couple of years before visiting HaLong until the construction is complete.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Analogboy
gmnovotel, For and on behalf of the management at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review

Dear Analogboy, Thank you for taking time to tell us your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations because of the construction. The construction license was granted for future development of tourism in Ha Long Bay. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important...

Nelson, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Novotel is in a great location with easy access to any area around. It's a nice stroll to the more bustling areas of Ha Long Bay. The new park area across the road is dusty, but when done will make the area very nice. Great service and rooms very nice. Recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Banff2012
gmnovotel, For and on behalf of the management at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review

Dear Banff2012, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ha Long Bay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us. I will share your comments with all staff and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously...

524 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (491)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (179)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
6.5 km away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tuan Chau Island
407 reviews
2.5 km away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#5 of 60 in Halong Bay
230 reviews
2.1 km away
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
#10 of 60 in Halong Bay
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#4 of 60 in Halong Bay
241 reviews
0.2 km away
Saigon Halong Hotel
Saigon Halong Hotel
#7 of 60 in Halong Bay
247 reviews
1.1 km away
Muong Thanh Luxury Quang Ninh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Novotel Ha Long Bay is the first 4 star internationally recognised hotel in the popular region. Just three hours from Hanoi, the 225 room beachfront hotel is in close proximity to major attractions such as bay cruises and local markets. Novotel Ha Long Bay enjoys a stunning vista from all angles, and even the outdoor pool with swim up bar overlooks the idyllic bay. Great for business travel or family holidays, the hotel boasts modern interiors and great facilities including WiFi Internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Ha Long Bay

Address: 160 Ha Long Road | Bai Chay Ward, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Price Range: $96 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ha Long Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Ha Long Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ha Long Bay Hotel Halong Bay
Novotel Halong Bay
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Halong Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Halong Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Ha Long Bay staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Ha Long Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 123JRF123, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a room with a balcony well in advance.”
  • Halong Bay islands
 of 5 bubbles MichealMacSuibhne, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have fantastic views of the Bay. Ask for one with a balcony so you can take in the sites.”
 of 5 bubbles 347AdamK, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request view out to Halong while still available”
 of 5 bubbles mcgyver10, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't expect a postcard view”
 of 5 bubbles richardwC9776YD, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay