We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kamala's Guesthouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kamala\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kamala's Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 116: English reviews
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 January 2015

My husband and I recently traveled to Thailand. On our first night in Chiang Mai we booked a quick night at Kamala's Guesthouse. The location was really lovely, closer to quieter streets and local restaurants - however, quite a walk from the night market and other notable sites. When we took a taxi from the airport to the hotel, our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JenShep28
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review

We are pleased that you found your accommodations satisfactory, and continue to work toward improving our service.

Reviewed 17 January 2015 via mobile

Satisfactory accommodation in Chiang Mai where there are hundreds of options. Not so much a cozy warm guest house but a sterile small hotel. If you are a light sleeper, avoid this place, as walls are paper thin (literally can hear neighbors conversations word for word) and street noise is frequent. For a shared bathroom, prices here are high and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabe P
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Rathfriland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 December 2014 via mobile

I would recommend this place for budget travelers it is in the center and very clean. We had a slight problem with our deposit as we had to leave very early in the morning to catch a flight and reception is empty during the night. But luckily we had a friend in Chiang Mai and she was kind enough to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeanAgius
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review

We are pleased that your friend came by to retrieve your deposit. Thank you for your patience.

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewed 20 December 2014

We stayed at Kamala for 5 weeks, Nok and her staff are the best ! Always friendly, never failing to have patience. Of course the location is brilliant but never noisy. Again I would recommend Kamala to anyone who wants to great value and excellent genuinely friendly service. Thank you Nok, Pimm and staff .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review

We hope to see you again, for an extended stay!

Edmonton
Reviewed 17 December 2014

Husband and I stayed here a week. Not the fanciest, but fantastic value and great staff! Provided new towels everyday, and air con worked well. Beds were a bit hard but no different than all the other guesthouses we stayed at in Thailand. The included breakfast menu was very nice. Can use computer and internet in lobby for free. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zvb
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for a detailed review. We are pleased that your stay was enjoyable.

Jasper National Park, Canada
Reviewed 13 December 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights, the location is close to the old city, down a great soi with good restaurants and massage. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was made up everyday. Will stay here again when in Chiang Mai. Good price in a good part of town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim154917
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you , and we hope to host you again soon.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 10 December 2014

Kamala's Guesthouse star attraction is the excellent staff. This is a modest, clean, well run place near the Old Town. My reservation request prompted a quick reply, a driver brought me (at a good price) from the airport, and my stay has been comfortable. Notable for a budget room, the nights have been very quiet. The atmosphere is relaxed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wkutopper2014
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review

We are very pleased to read your review and look forward to hosting you again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2014

I was recommended to stay here by a friend after suffering a rather disappointing hotel near the night bazaar. What a difference. Suddenly I was surrounded by people who actually seemed to enjoy having someone to look after, who were always there to help in any way they could and didn't look the other way the moment they saw you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again!

Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Reviewed 30 November 2014

stay for 2 night ..room is clean . bathroom is so so . and my room is near the receptions . when morning sometimes can hear people talking , can't get a good sleep . for the money that i pay ... i think still got better options ..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nch13700
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for posting this review.

richmond
Reviewed 18 November 2014

Four of us stayed in this guesthouse in two rooms. The price was reasonable. Excellent location to the old city. Easy to walk to both the old city and the night market. We were there during the lantern festival. What a blast. the rooms were clean, staff friendly and helpful.breakfast was good. Scooter rentals and tour packages can be booked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank c s
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of our services. Feedback informing us of "glitches" is invaluable in helping us maintain a high level of services to our guests.

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 km away
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
#153 of 710 in Chiang Mai
49 reviews
0.8 km away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#59 of 710 in Chiang Mai
131 reviews
0.5 km away
Baan JaJa
Baan JaJa
#70 of 710 in Chiang Mai
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#16 of 710 in Chiang Mai
246 reviews
0.8 km away
PM Guesthouse
PM Guesthouse
#23 of 787 in Chiang Mai
95 reviews
1.0 km away
Siriwan Guesthouse
Siriwan Guesthouse
#50 of 710 in Chiang Mai
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located at the city centre. 5mins walk to Thapae gate and old city. Surrounded by convenience stores, vegetarian restaurants, local markets, massage school, exchanged book stores and ATM cash machine. Easy to get public bus, taxi and Tuk Tuk at our door. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kamala's Guesthouse

Address: 27/2-7 Chaiyaphum Soi 1 | Chang Moi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Price Range: $16 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamala's Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kamala's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kamala's Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kamala's Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“307 was a great big room.”
 of 5 bubbles WorldTravelChef, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Clean, quiet Rooms with AC, Fridge and TV near Oldtown. Fair Prices.”
 of 5 bubbles imbithai, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“away from the main alley/road”
 of 5 bubbles Vegetarian4ever, 1 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Make sure they guaranty you a room with a private bath.”
 of 5 bubbles Paiman, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Be sure to have 500 Baht security deposit in cash on-hand upon check-in.”
 of 5 bubbles JenShep28, 20 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5