We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Small Chiang Mai

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Small Chiang Mai
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Small Chiang Mai
See the most recent reviews
Showing 189: English reviews
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2016

With a good location on Thapae Road in Chiang Mai, The Small is in walking distance of Chinese Market, Anusarn Market, Night Market, the old city and many other tourist areas. The hotel itself was nice, with comfortable rooms, a small outdoor pool and nearby restaurants. The staff was reasonably helpful and quite friendly. What the hotel lacked was anything... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scott G
Erbil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

I have stayed 5 days in this hotel. It was booked to me through the travel agency included in the package. It is an old hotel with very good location, walking distance to night market and some small restaurants. The breakfast is very modest. The staff are good specially the day shift. The room I styed didn't have hot water... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hiwa H
Marketing_SmallGrp, Manager at The Small Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Dear Hiwa H Thank you very much for visiting and your candid feedback. I am very sorry to read that we have not been able to meet all your expectations. All your suggestion it will be shared with our team for our action. Hope to welcome you back! Warm regards, Petcharat Boonsopa Resident Manager More 

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

I booked this hotel months in advanced, read the reviews but thought the good outweighed the bad so give it a shot. I wish I listened to the reviews. The hotel room did not feel clean. The queen bed were two singles pushed together - not ideal for couples at all. The pool was disgusting. We booked hotels on our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travel-Lor-17
Marketing_SmallGrp, Manager at The Small Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Dear Travel-Lor-17 Thank you for your visit and feedback. I regret that we have not been able to meet all your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and suggestions about our services and facilities which was well noted for our action. War regards, Petcharat Boonsopa Resident Manager More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Small for 3 nights. From the off, we were impressed with the courteous staff and the modern decor. After exploring a little, it was evident that the hotel was perfectly between the old city and the night market. Laundry service is provided but is very expensive, charging 30 baht a shirt, whereas round the corner was... More 

Helpful?
Thank SamWith
Evergem, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We planned on coming to this hotel but my Child wasn't allowed to use the toilet since she wasn't an inhouse guest. Very rude and unprofessional female reception clerck at 15h40 on july 24. Check the meaning of the word hospitality before opening a business in it. Kind regards.

Helpful?
Thank TomDL1976
Marketing_SmallGrp, Manager at The Small Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Dear TomDL1976 Thank you for your candid feedback. We are so sorry and apologize for misunderstanding issue at Front Desk. Your comment was well noted for our action. Hope a chance to welcome you once in The Small Chiang Mai. Warm regards, Petcharat Boonsopa Resident Manager More 

Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Functionally works but under the surface, rooms need a touch up and visit from maintenance. Minimal hot water in shower and shower not properly attached to wall nor was towel rail. Despite this the staff were very friendly and welcoming. It's also on a brilliant location just outside the old city

Review collected in partnership with statravel.com

Helpful?
Thank alex_smith987
Marketing_SmallGrp, Manager at The Small Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Dear alex_smith987 Thank you for your visit and sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor. It is great to read that you have found our team friendly. I am sorry that you have not been totally satisfied with your room. All you comments are well noted for our further action. I appreciate your feedback and hope you will return to us... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Lovely boutique size hotel in good location. Plenty of interesting things to do in the area. Close to Night Markets. Small rooftop breakfast balcony makes a nice start to the day. Staff are very cheerful and happy to help with suggestions and directions.

Helpful?
Thank TriciaB123
Marketing_SmallGrp, Manager at The Small Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your visit and this 5-point review here on TripAdvisor. While I am certainly biased, I could not agree more that when staying in Chiang Mai, The Small Chiang Mai is the ‘must stay place’ if you are looking for a convenience location hotel. Thank you again and warm regards, Petcharat Boonsopa Resident Manager More 

Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with some girlfriends at the end of a year in Thailand. Room worked for 3 people if you're willing to share beds. Clean place. Very helpful staff. Friendly and accommodating. Was a power outage when we were there (not uncommon ) and they dealt with it very quickly. Walking distance to shopping.

Helpful?
Thank Kaitlyn C
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel there was construction work happening so the front of the hotel had scaffolding and a black sheet over it all which sort of put us off, however when we got inside it was quite nice and decorated orientally. The room was spacious and had a nice shower and the air con was bad but... More 

Helpful?
Thank blakey266
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

The staff was very attentive, even the room is very nice. They have small pool at the level 3. Walking distance to the nearby night bazaar is just around 5 minutes. Worth to stay. They also provide free wifi for the visitors. Didnt manage to go to level 5 for the nice cafe with the nice view.

Helpful?
Thank AsrulSeruji
Marketing_SmallGrp, Manager at The Small Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Dear AsrulSeruji Thank you for your feed back we are so happy to know that you had a convenience stay Hope to see you here again for your next visit in Chiang Mai! Warm regards, Petcharat Boonsopa Resident Manager More 

194 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (192)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 km away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#78 of 368 in Chiang Mai
129 reviews
0.6 km away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#107 of 368 in Chiang Mai
298 reviews
0.6 km away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#74 of 368 in Chiang Mai
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
BanThai Village
BanThai Village
#37 of 368 in Chiang Mai
589 reviews
0.5 km away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#47 of 368 in Chiang Mai
1,127 reviews
0.7 km away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#121 of 368 in Chiang Mai
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newcomer boutique hotel “The Small Hotel, Chiang Mai” is now opened. With 35 boutique rooms that are stylishly furnished wherein each provides all necessities to ensure guests comfort and convenience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Small Chiang Mai

Address: 148-150 Ta Pae Road | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Price Range: $35 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Small Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Small Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Small Chiang Mai staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
Singapore, Singapore
7 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Small Chiang Mai staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the queen delux”
 of 5 bubbles Z3278PMcarolineg, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The third floor has easiest access to the small pool. Don't expect good internet”
 of 5 bubbles ScottG506, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“definitely opt for a queen bed. Visit the french bakery LOpera about 15 mins away, excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 38yearold, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“3rd floor room is quiet and no problems with baggage as there is a lift”
 of 5 bubbles Lost_Tourist777, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The upper levels have a good view”
 of 5 bubbles Kelsi510, 20 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay