Viangdara Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Viangdara Hotel

15/4 Rat Chiangsan Soi 2, Rat Chiangsan 1 Rd Near Daowadueng Temple and Meungmang Temple, Chiang Mai 50100 Thailand
Traveller (45)
Pool & Beach (13)
Room & Suite (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#188 of 507 hotels in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value

We are lovely place in Chiang mai Small hotel only 15 rooms but we have big hug for your family.You can relax and enjoy with us 24 hours.We have swimming pool 24 hours. also we have 24 hours for living relax room.The location is very close to the old town (Near Saturday Market)

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Shuttle bus service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites

Location

15/4 Rat Chiangsan Soi 2, Rat Chiangsan 1 Rd Near Daowadueng Temple and Meungmang Temple, Chiang Mai 50100 Thailand
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 96 out of 100
96
Chiang Mai Intl Airport
Lampang Airport
78.2 km
See all flights
45Reviews1Q+A1Room tip

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 8
  • 3
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
381yingyingl wrote a review Jan 2020
Hong Kong, China27 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are so thankful for the kind people at the hotel. Not only we had a lovely stay, we forgot our computers at the hotel when we left for the airport. They so kindly send them to us. We are so grateful. It is a beautiful hotel with great service! The people here are most friendly and attended to our every need. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dgibbo wrote a review Mar 2018
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom77 contributions154 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed last week for 4 nts and this hotel was a real find.
Great location, tucked away off a busy road and about 10-15 minute walk to the old town or night bazaar.
We were allocated room 1 which is at the front of the hotel and faces the pool.
The bed was a little hard - but that is just my personal preference. Room had everything you needed with free bottled water daily.
Breakfast advertised as 7.30 - 10.00 but can accommodate you early as you may have a trip booked or an early onward flight.
Choice of American or Asian breakfast.
Also had a fridge where you could buy drinks during the day including fresh coconuts 50 THB.
Swimming pool is lovely with sun loungers in the shade and in the sun. Was never overly busy and had no problem finding somewhere to sit.
There is also a lovely upstairs area to relax in with board games if you don't wish to be in the sun.
The hotel is absolutely spotless and the team work really hard to keep it that way.
Special mention to Noi as she was so helpful with everything we asked her.
This was our first visit to Chiang Mai and was a refreshing change from Bangkok.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ROG5R wrote a review Nov 2017
Ireland6 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hidden down an alley, but less than 10 min walk to the old city.
Rooms are clean and comfortable. Good value. Staff very friendly and breakfast was simple but excellent. I’d have no problem staying again. A nice place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EverSince1986 wrote a review Aug 2018
Swansea, United Kingdom129 contributions65 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have had no end of hassle from this hotel. We stayed here in May when it was extremely hot and so booked hotels with air-conditioning advertised. On arrival it was clear our 'air-conditioning' wasn't working. In the morning it was 29 degrees Celsius outside and our air-con would not go below that temperature. By the afternoon we complained as at that time it was 34C/93F, humid and sweltering. We had a long trip up from Bangkok and just wanted an early night.
They moved us to another room where we had the same problem. The 'air-conditioning' just was not working, it was just blowing hot air around. We spent one horrible, sweltering, uncomfortable night where we were also being bitten by mosquitoes as the side door had a gap where they could fly in. We went to reception the next morning where we were basically told nothing could be done and that many other guests had left that week with the same problem and we could move to a third room if we wanted.
We told them we could not stay in such uncomfortable heat when they had advertised air-conditioning and it clearly wasn't working. The woman said we could leave but we would not get our money back. We had much arguing about this and I said they could keep the money for the uncomfortable night we spent, I just wanted a refund for the other 6 nights we would not be staying. After much arguing about how they can expect people to stay with no air-conditioning in this heat and they need to get someone out to fix it she agreed to a refund. She took down our details of the new hotel we were going to stay in and said she would bring us the refund. Needless to say this never happened. When we arrived back from honeymoon we tried to get in touch but the hotel never responded. We went through the company we booked with who also could not get a response from the hotel. After TWO MONTHS the company we booked through have given us a refund and are taking it up with this hotel themselves. Absolutely terrible service, no logic, false advertising and also safe did not work. I can't fault the pretty layout of the place but that was the only positive. Would NEVER stay here again. Luckily our next hotel had air-conditioning and we were able to enjoy the rest of our honeymoon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah O wrote a review Feb 2018
Hampshire, United Kingdom23 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed at the Viangdara for six nights in December. This is a small, family owned hotel with brilliant service and comfortable rooms. Walking distance from the old part of Chiang Mai and super helpful staff. We would definitely stay again should we visit Chiang Mai again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sooby84 wrote a review Aug 2017
Cooktown, Australia8 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Viang Dara for ten enjoyable nights. The staff were great, exceptionally helpful and very friendly. The hotel only has twelve or so rooms so it is very low key and relaxing. Even around the pool was never crowded. The rooms are comfortable, clean and a good size. It is within easy walking distance of Saturday , Sunday and night markets. It is also well situated for wandering around the Old City. We recommend Viang Dara to anybody looking for a great place to stay in Chiang Mai and will definitely go there next time we visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bronzekie wrote a review Apr 2019
London, United Kingdom69 contributions75 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff is very helpful, polite and professional. It is off the beaten track so it's very nice, you get to feel the real 'local and see the 'hidden' areas, yet it is close enough to get into the old town or everywhere else.
Pool area is nice,. you can watch the sunset there. Room is not luxurious but comfortable and clean.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mogens48 wrote a review Apr 2019
Luang Prabang, Laos82 contributions101 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I was unaware of the Songkran water pantomime. And hated it. My fault not having checked beforehand. But if you are 25+ stay away! My objective was exploring the old city. Which became off-limits!

The hotel?

Staff: friendly and very helpful.
Room: Awful. Badly needs an up-grade. Dark. Interior definitely not to my liking. I stayed in the first floor. Narrow and very steep stairs. Always afraid of slipping. Very small room with very big bed. Which means very little room to move around. Not to speak of room for luggage. View? Don't mention!!! Neighbours messy back-yard.
Breakfast: Good - but only one cup coffee per person (i got as much as I liked!)
Price: On the high side considering quality of the place.
Location: Very close to old city. Which to me was off-limits due to Songkran water-terrorism. Down a small soi, which taxi and tuk-tuk had difficulties locating.
Facilities: Nice pool area and up-stairs lounge area over reception.

Staying again? Hopefully not! Despite staff trying to do their best. Depressing room(s)!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian W wrote a review May 2017
14 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and booked here for 2 nights but ended up staying for 3! Rooms were mega clean and classy, pool area was clean and great for sunbathing and the staff (particularly the lady who owns the hotel) were just downright lovely! Fantastic service. Breakfast (toast, eggs and fruit) was very tasty as well. Wifi worked perfectly, location was very good and there's restaurants and a small shop right next door. Wish we had stayed here longer, it was the perfect hotel. This hotel has only been up and running for one month (hence the lack of reviews here) so take my word for it and believe me when I say it is worth a visit!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
barrds wrote a review Feb 2019
mad38 contributions36 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Very expensive hotel paid 2600 bahts per night plus a 3% as they charge more if you pay with credit card, for an old, cramped, uncomfortable, dark room and ugly bathroom with dark and old furniture and a horrible view to the neighbor. Our room was upstairs, rooms downstairs face a wall. Lack of maintenance, door knob, closet hinge, bedside light switches and bath tap loose, towel rack coming down. Hard bed, holes in the futon we had the first two nights.
Tiny and old safe you can barely put your tablet inside. No luggage rack.

Breakfast just ok, limited to only one cup of tea or coffee as it is clear stated in their menu, so don't ask. Bad coffee but good lipton tea.
The only thing they offer for free is water and orange juice.

They will charge you for printing your boarding passes (we requested two boarding passes, no extra copies), something is free in other hotels in the same or lower price range.
Clean room, has aircon and flat tv with international channels. The staff are friendly, hotel located close to the city a 3 minutes walk to the moat. The only nice touch is the pool, but the water in February is cold.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jay W asked a question Dec 2017
Pai, Thailand125 contributions84 helpful votes
Do you know about a restaurant near you called P Mary ? They have good steaks I heard ?
B Martinez wrote a tip Mar 2019
7 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The room on the first floor facing the pool was very comfortable, quiet and nice."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chiang Mai area.
LOCATION
ThailandChiang Mai ProvinceChiang Mai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VIANGDARA HOTEL: Reviews (Chiang Mai, Thailand) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Viangdara Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Viangdara Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Blue Daily Elephant Care Sanctuary (0.4 km), Supreme Collection (0.4 km), and Fashion King Chiang Mai (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Viangdara Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Viangdara Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Viangdara Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Viangdara Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include B Samcook Home 16, Pakorn's Kitchen, and Sababa Chiang Mai.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Viangdara Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Viangdara Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Viangdara Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Viangdara Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Chiang Mai.
Are there any historical sites close to Viangdara Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wat Phra That Doi Kham (Temple of the Golden Mountain) (8.0 km), Chiang Mai Gate (2.1 km), and Fort of Ka-Tham (0.2 km).
Is Viangdara Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Chiang Mai HotelsChiang Mai Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Chiang MaiHotels near Viangdara Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars