Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Kavil Guesthouse

10/1 Ratchadamnoen Rd. Soi 5, Chiang Mai 50000 Thailand
A shot of the front desk.
Traveller (70)
Bedroom
Room & Suite (32)
Kavil Guesthouse
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

AU$34
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#147 of 507 hotels in Chiang Mai
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make Kavil Guesthouse their hotel of choice when visiting Chiang Mai. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a charming setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Chiang Mai, Kavil Guesthouse Hotel is located a short distance from Wat Phakhao Temple (0.2 mi) and Wat Pan Tao (0.2 mi).

Guest rooms offer air conditioning, and Kavil Guesthouse Hotel makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including baggage storage. In addition, guests can enjoy breakfast during their visit.

Chiang Mai has plenty of seafood restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Paak Dang Riverside Dining, Lert Ros, and Ugo Restaurant & Thai Craft Beer Bar, which are serving up some great dishes.

If you are interested in exploring Chiang Mai, check out a castle, such as Bhubing Palace.

At Kavil Guesthouse, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Chiang Mai.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Thai
143Reviews4Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 83
  • 45
  • 6
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
missmaths wrote a review Jan 2023
Hastings, United Kingdom36 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros - Fabulous location within the old town, close to all the restaurants, bars and the wicked Sunday night market. Room was clean with air con, staff were super friendly and helpful, a basic breakfast is provided and guests have use of the kitchen. The lobby area is a nice place to sit and have a drink. This is very good value.
Cons - None
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carol-Anne B wrote a review Nov 2018
Dundee, United Kingdom124 contributions44 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have just returned home after spending a week at the Kavil guest house. I found this hotel on trip advisor and booked on the basis that it is close to Tae Pae gate where the lantern festival celebrations would be taking place. What I found was that actually the location was perfect for everywhere that I wanted to go. The hotel was nice, airy and clean and had the comfiest bed that I slept in in all of Thailand and the staff were really friendly too. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Chiang Mai and would definitely recommend staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Escape682579, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Kavil Guesthouse
Responded 28 Nov 2018
Scottish gal, Thank you so much for your summary review of Kavil Guest House. We really try hard to accommodate our guests, and make them as satisfied and happy as possible. We choose a good beds and mattresses for guests because we like guests to feel comfortable here,so we are pleased that you appreciate it. We continue to improve, when ever we hear a good suggestion from a nice guest. Thanks.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeff H wrote a review Apr 2018
Rawai, Thailand43 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night at a place called Kristi guesthouse. (Big mistake what a dump! Rm 409) Anyway, after WASTING our time and money at that dump, we spent the day At Kavil guest house. What a difference! The Manager called NUII, let us stay there for approximately seven hours until our flight left in the evening. Not only did she give us an incredible price but was extremely nice. We told her we just needed the room to relax and take a shower before our flight. There are many many guest houses on the street so You can infer or tell which one I recommend not to go to and which one you want to go to. Enuff said
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coastal32304198942 wrote a review Oct 2018
9 contributions15 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We informed Kavil Guesthouse well ahead of time about our expected arrival time. We literally arrived a few minutes after 22:00 and then finally (after 22:00) received a reply from Kavil Guesthouse stating that we needed to pay a few hundred baht extra when arriving after 22:00.

An employee opened the door and gave us a phone with the owner on the line. She came across extremely rude and unprofessional, demanding the late arrival fee because she had to “wake her staff” - come on.

She then said it would probably be difficult to find another room in Chiang Mai, and when we told her we could probably get another one as of the low season and we had been before she suddenly said she could waive the late arrival fee. The extremely unprofessional attitude and the somewhat scam/extortion like behaviour made us decide to cancel our stay even though we were stranded on the side of the streets without a room.

I’ve read through every single line of text on the booking.com ad, nowhere it states an extra fee for a ‘late’ check-in. This was later confirmed by booking.com.

If this was made clear before booking we would have never booked this place. Felt like an absolute scam.

The rooms might be nice but if you get into any kind of trouble with the owner expect the absolute worst. Not worth the gamble!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Escape682579, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Kavil Guesthouse
Responded 1 Nov 2018
We close at 22:00 hours. It’s on the booking site. This customer came at 22:25. We should have turned him away, there was no one on duty, but because we felt sorry for him, we had a staff member go and meet him. We paid extra for the staff member to work over. We were very polite. He is lying about our attitude. We just said we are closed now, if you don’t want to pay late fee, it might be difficult to find another place, late like this. Your choice. Unfortunately we have bad and rude customers like this from time to time On the booking. com site have a guest house policies and important information guests should read.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Davehulona wrote a review July 2014
London, United Kingdom4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The price of July 2014
250 for small fan room (twinsbed, bathroom) 1-2 person
300 for large fan room (twinsbed, doublebed, bathroom) 1-2 person
350 for large A/C room (twinsbed, doublebed, bathroom) 1-2 person
400 for large fan room (triplebed, bathroom) 3 person
450 for large A/C room (triplebed, bathroom) 3 person

*(toilet paper, towel, cleanup room(10am-3pm), wifi problem, you can ask staff 24Hrs)
1st floor :have restaurant, a little place for chilling, for order some foods, some drinks
also have information for Booking tour, cooking , tracking, fishing, you can ask

not allowed smoke inside!
staff they are so nice, welcomely, friendly and warm
they have a slogan "everyone is family"
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: *(toilet paper, towel, cleanup room(10am-3pm), wifi problem, you can ask staff 24Hrs) 1st floor...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
quotas wrote a review July 2012
Amsterdam, The Netherlands229 contributions188 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
They have 3 types of rooms. double small, double big and tripple. The difference between small and big is not that much. The rooms are just a bit smaller and the beds are single ones.
Rates: small (fan) 200 tb, big (fan) 250 tb, tripple (fan) 350 tb. With a/c is 100 tb more for every roomtype.
We had a a big double room. enough space for everything. 2 chairs and a table a table. Spotless clean. The bedsheets - also clean. 3 big windows in the room with mosquito screens. So there was a lot of daylight. Just 1 lightbulb for the evening, that was not enough to read or something. Bathroom with hot shower. No powershower but enough to get wet :). Bathroom was clean but a little outdated. But it was ok for us.
No tv in the room but strong WiFi for free everywhere. That was a big plus.
The guesthouse is a family run guesthouse. The family is so friendly and willing to help you with everything. They can arrange all different kind of trekkings or daytrips for a good rate. They help there guest in any way possible. The breakfast is by far the best we had in a questhouse in Thailand. Lot of fruit, 2 sices of good bread, butter, jam, 2 eggs and coffee or tea for 80 tb. The food they prepare is also ok but there are also a lot of restaurants in the neighbourhood. Go to 'Bam boo' restaurant for real nice thai food (fe).
The guesthouse has a nice porch.
You can leave your luguage if you go trekking for free. You have to pay your room and bills every day. I rated 5 stars for the price of this guesthouse in relation with what you get. Other guesthouses in the neighbourhood are less but you pay double !!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
K2-BellyDancer wrote a review Feb 2018
London, United Kingdom68 contributions62 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very good location near Thapae Gate at the heart of downtown Chiang Mai - ideal for the main sights in the city. The premises have been freshly refurbished to a very good standard for the price, so a very pleasant stay was had. Very helpful and friendly desk staff and from the top floor my room had a great view over the city facing West.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TalRegev wrote a review Oct 2016
9 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived late at night after a long journey from Laos. Unfortunately we had a terrible experience. We took a double room with air conditioning on the top floor. The bathroom was dirty and there were ants crawling everywhere. Since it was already 23:00 at night we decided to spend the night and leave in the morning. During the night we could hear rats squeaking and running above us through the thin ceiling!!
Even though were planning on spending 3 nights here we found ourselves checking out early the next morning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashwin K wrote a review Aug 2014
3 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am so glad i found this. My experience in Chiang Mai would not have been the same without the people who took care of this place. Nui and Jarat were amazing managers who you felt close to and who really cared about the enterprise they have. Caring, friendly, helpful and oftentimes mischievous.
Accomodation is reasonable. Located in the heart of the old city near pratu tha phae, easy access to sunday night markets (30second walk), great cafes, restaurants and temples. Also located close to a few well known bars such as THC rooftop and Zoey in Yellows (if that's your cup of tea).
I will definately come back to visit again.

I forgot to mention that Nui and Jarat also take care of trip and adventures around Chiang mai and everything can be organised with them. They also do discounted prices and are very efficient.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LauravK91 wrote a review July 2013
82 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Kavil guesthouse had nice rooms, friendly furnished and is located at a nice spot. The price of the room was great, but you still don`t get a nice stay here. The sheets were dirty with spots on it and the water from the shower, as well from the toilet and the sink was really stinky. We heard a lot of people got sick in this hostel and expect it is because of the water. When someone in another room was showering, there was foam coming up in our toilet. The staff was very pushy to get us a trip and they started being really unfriendly when we didn't sign up for one. Not a recommendation.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Congococonut
Chiang Mai, Thailand109 contributions12 helpful votes
I did not stay at the guesthouse. I only ate at the restaurant because it has the most amazing food. But Thailand airports have shuttles, tuk tuk and taxis at the airport, so you'll find someone to get you to your hotel no worries! There are info or tourist help desks in the airport ask someone. As for the hotel, I don't think 7:30pm arrival is that late, but if you are worried send your the guesthouse a message. For instance I used booking a lot and they have a spot for special request and I would write early or late check in depending on my arrival. I never had any issues! Hope this helps!
Jordan asked a question Sept 2014
Ocean Shores, Australia5 contributions2 helpful votes
when does reception shut? how late can i arrive?? thank you
Answer from Dominik E
Chiang Mai, Thailand20 contributions9 helpful votes
Jordan I stayed their many times, owner family lives there and they are up early, or you wait in nice out side space. Evenings I have seen them till like 8pm,as they work early and long days, I would not be later than that....
santoshbh wrote a tip Oct 2018
Bengaluru, India179 contributions114 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No elevator to any floors."
Read full review
K2K11 wrote a tip Sept 2017
Chiang Mai70 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Top floor if you want views over the city & mountains."
Read full review
sudi01 wrote a tip Apr 2017
Jakarta, Indonesia2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Aircon room in the upper floors, have great views."
Read full review
Adventure with Bernie wrote a tip Dec 2016
Sunshine Coast, Australia12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"As mentioned in my review D3 offers great views, is quiet and had a nice breeze."
Read full review
Allan J wrote a tip Dec 2016
Chiang Mai, Thailand417 contributions101 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"3C was a good choice, quiet"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chiang Mai area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$26 - AU$40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kavil guesthouse hotel chiang mai
LOCATION
ThailandChiang Mai ProvinceChiang Mai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KAVIL GUESTHOUSE (AU$26): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Chiang Mai, Thailand) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kavil Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to Kavil Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include Elephant Rescue Park (0.4 km), Thailand Mountain Trail (0.08 km), and New Louis's Custom Tailor (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kavil Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Kavil Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Kavil Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hummus Chiang Mai, Khunkae's Juice Bar / Healthy By Khunkae Chiang Mai, and Renegade Craft Beer & Ciders.
Is Kavil Guesthouse located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Chiang Mai.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kavil Guesthouse?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.
Are there any historical sites close to Kavil Guesthouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chiang Mai Gate (2.4 km), Fort of Ka-Tham (0.9 km), and Fort of Ku-Hueang (0.9 km).
All Chiang Mai HotelsChiang Mai Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Chiang MaiHotels near Kavil Guesthouse
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars