We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Old Capital Bike Inn

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Capital Bike Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Old Capital Bike Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 390: English reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here and it was like staying at home. It is the warmest and more welcoming hotel we've ever been. We booked the garden suite that was great, we loved it! Position is very good to visit banglamphu and ko ratanakosin (center of bangkok). We also enjoyed the night bike tour arranged by the hotel for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francesca M
Old_Capital, Owner at Old Capital Bike Inn, responded to this review

Dear Francesca and Stefano Thank you for taking time to review us with your kind words and compliments. It's lovely to know you had a perfect stay in our Garden Suite, and our quirky, old-world style inn. And we are surely glad you got to do the night bike tour and see the hidden charms of Bangkok by night. Hopefully...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Keep calm: A nice location at the heart of old capital that you can see the clear sky, get rid of concrete jungle. And from this location you can also walk around or bike around to see the local market, visit the temple, enjoy local living, check the museum or even enjoy night life at Rambuttri road, near Khao San...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Old_Capital, Owner at Old Capital Bike Inn, responded to this review

Dearest Piaw, Thank you for visiting us with our dear friends and writing this kind review. It's always a delight to know you enjoyed your stay, even just for the one night escape in old Bangkok. We will make sure the firefly is still around the next time you come back :) Looking forward to welcome you again when you...

La Crescenta, California
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Our family of 4 recently stayed at the Old Capital Bike Inn for 3 nights during the busy Dec 106 holiday season. First, I would like to thank Jason for his helpful assistance in setting up our tours. I contacted Jason in advance of our stay, and he recommended a good guide who took us all over Bangkok and beyond...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LisaLovesTravel1013
Old_Capital, Owner at Old Capital Bike Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lisa and family, We would love to truly thank you again for spending your Bangkok vacation with us and for taking the time to write us this magnificent review :) Much appreciated! We're elated the tours and suggestions we arranged for you were very enjoyable and interesting for you. We hope you are enjoying the rest of your trip...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

What can I add to the great reviews for this place? The rooms are very pretty, staff very helpful and breakfast amazing. The hotel is located in a nice part of the city. Overall tip for travellers: taxi drivers in Bangkok are a bit incompetent so prepare to help them where you need to go to. The first taxi driver...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Remy_Dre
Old_Capital, Owner at Old Capital Bike Inn, responded to this review

Dear Remy, Thank you for spending your holiday in Bangkok with us and for sparing time to write us a kind review. We're happy you had a good stay with us. Looking forward to your next visit in the future! Warmest regards, Jason, Nantiya and OCBI staff

colombia
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

A very lovely hotel, with an amazing decoration and great atmosphere. Well located. Rooms are big and confortable. Very clean, very confortable bed and pillows. Jason and Nantiya were always very kind, and help us with all our questions and request. They have very good recommendations on restaurants in the near, SPA, etc. They also kept our luggage for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Querubin80
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Resume: FANTASTIC!!! Our stay was fantastic, the attention the staff had with us was sensational. An example was on the last day, we left very early for the airport, the cafe was not served yet, but we received a snack to leave the fast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jcrm1953
Old_Capital, Owner at Old Capital Bike Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us. We're glad you appreciate our little gestures to make your stay more comfortable. Warm regards, Jason, Nantiya and OCBI staff

Reviewed 6 January 2017

If you hate staying in high-end corporate hotels with their sterilized decor and many amenities that you do not need then this is the place for you. It is a home away from home with quirky furnishing and amazing breakfasts that keep you coming back for more. Plus the location is a bonus, it on an art mile and close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hiten B
Old_Capital, Owner at Old Capital Bike Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Bawa, Thank you again for staying with us and for your positive review of our little inn. We're glad you had a cozy stay with us and enjoyed the surroundings which does make for an interesting stay in old Bangkok. Hoping you enjoy the rest of your trip. Warm regards, Jason, Nantiya and OCBI staff

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay at the Old Capital Bike Inn from Christmas Eve to Boxing Day. My only complaint is that I wish we'd stayed longer. The OCBI was everything the website promised and more - a beautifully appointed, character filled, cosy, intimate hotel. Our room had more thoughtful touches than I can name, from the swing/seat in front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ABowman5
Old_Capital, Owner at Old Capital Bike Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr. & Mrs Bowman, Thank you for taking time to review us. We're glad the holiday season was as wonderful as you had wanted it to be staying with us. We're happy you enjoyed the design of our Honeymoon Suite and all the other little touches we had to offer. Hopefully we will see you again in the next...

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Lovely charming hotel with wonderful staff in a great location. Loved the free cycle tour too!. Wonderful welcome, couldn't do enough for us. Thoroughly recommend if you like small boutique hotels with personal service

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tessa E
Old_Capital, Owner at Old Capital Bike Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tessa, It was our pleasure having you with us for the few nights and it's delightful to know you enjoy our boutique inn and personal service. Because we're small we can afford to offer a cozier personal experience for our guests. Hope to see you again. Take care! Warmest regards, Jason

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

This lovely, small hotel is a gem, conveniently located in the heart of Bangkok's old section. The decor is a pleasing blend of Thai antiques, quirky artifacts, and comforting subdued colors. We felt at home the moment we stepped over the threshold. Each of the few rooms is unique in configuration and decor. The staff goes way beyond expectations, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P00bah
Old_Capital, Owner at Old Capital Bike Inn, responded to this review

We sincerely thank you for your heartwarming compliments of our hotel and service. It's delightful to know you appreciate the details we put into ensuring a good stay for you. Hopefully we will have the chance to host you on your next visit to Bangkok. Thank you! Warm regards, Jason, Nantiya and OCBI staff

524 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (304)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (133)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (175)
Viewed
Banglampu (51)
Viewed
Nang Loeng 2 (29)
Viewed
Pak Klong Talad (39)
Viewed
Songwat 1 (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#28 of 846 in Bangkok
1,592 reviews
Inn A Day
#5 of 600 in Bangkok
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
Loog Choob Homestay
Loog Choob Homestay
#3 of 600 in Bangkok
261 reviews
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Banglamphu

Neighbourhood Profile
Banglamphu
While you’ll see skyscrapers in most parts of Bangkok, it’s the gilded roofs of ancient pagodas that adorn the skyline of Banglamphu, the city’s historical and most touristic district. Hordes of tourists flock to this area to tick quite a few must-see attractions off their to-do list, with the Grand Palace being the most spectacular of them all. Banglamphu is also home to Bangkok’s infamous tourist ghetto, centered around Khao San Road. Visit at night to feast on road-side pad thai, cheap beers and if you’re up for it, some dancing fueled by buckets of Thai whiskey.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Formerly known as the award-winning Old Bangkok Inn, which was recommended by Conde Nast, The New York Times and TIME magazine, Old Capital Bike Inn is a boutique 10-room heritage bike inn set in Bangkok's yesteryears. Owned and operated by the same family of Old Bangkok Inn, we are located a stone's throw from Bangkok's major historical landmarks. What's new is we now offer free rentals of our fleet of restored vintage bikes as well as free night bike tours for our guests. We are a green and socially conscious establishment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Capital Bike Inn

Address: 607 Pra Sumen Road | Pra Nakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Old Bangkok Inn)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Price Range: $99 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Capital Bike Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Capital Bike Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Capital Bike Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Old Capital Bike Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family rooms are huge, but please do mind that the doors are not soundproof and are just next to the reception. We didn't mind though... :)”
 of 5 bubbles sebkez, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms are difficult to access for clients with mobility issues or with small children”
 of 5 bubbles kazzzy67, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The upstairs had a loft with very steep stairs to get to the bed. The downstairs room had natural light from a large skylight.”
 of 5 bubbles juliegY7106NP, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Beware of ongoing construction work, choose a room on the other side if you like to sleep over 8am.”
 of 5 bubbles 447gregoryd, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get in early as there are only about 4-5 rooms”
 of 5 bubbles bradturner2016, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5