We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Overstay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Overstay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 106: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A place full of beautiful people, amazing staff and a great atmosphere! The price is unbeatable, the facility's are more then needed! A kitchen, drum kits, guitars, art utensils, a pool table and so much more! Worth every cent you pay for the experience of great people and a great place. Not to be missed, in comparison to Khao San...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harolds G
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This place is terrible. The beds are horrible, the bathrooms are horrible, it smells like stray cat and garbage. I actually felt cleaner outside in the streets of Bangkok then laying in my bed. There is one fan in the middle of the big dorm that doesn't work properly, one plug in the dorm so you have to take turns...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jordan R
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Can't believe the bad reviews I've read.. I've stayed a month in Bangkok and did lots of research (and stayed and visited other hostels) before choosing this place. Facilities are way beyond the price. Of course you are not getting hot water, for this price how can u even ask for it??? I didn't have hot water in most places...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gabi C
Stony Plain, Canada
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Now I didn't go into this thinking I was staying at some 5 star hotel with room service or even going to have my own bathroom, when we first arrive it was dark as the power was out so I gave it a chance thought oh it'll probably seem better in the light but boy was I wrong! The place...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Hannaah21
Yuval S, Owner at The Overstay, responded to this review

Hi Hannah, we are deeply sorry if you felt unsafe i guess you could have asked us for another room if you didnt like the one we offered you : we upgrade people on regular basis as we actually do care for our people. I would like to take the time to answer point by point and maybe our readers...

Shah Alam, Malaysia
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The cheapest hostel with great environment in BKK. Super friendly staffs. Dormitory room is spacious. Bathrooms are clean (I personally like the one on 3rd? floor with tub). They always have some sorts of activities going on there. They have musical instruments, books, place to hang out, a vegetarian kitchen, gym equipment, second hand shirts, free Wifi, air-cond, and cats!!!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Muthannah88
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

DO NOT STAY HERE. whilst this is a cheap hostel the doors to the rooms were not secure, broken half way and fixed together with thin plywood. Our room was spacious but dark and too my horror there was faeces on the floor behind the bed. Not sure whether it was from a human or dog. Friends had private room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan W
Yuval S, Owner at The Overstay, responded to this review

Its always delightful to see people who have no idea what they are talking about emit "their opinion". You see we have thousands of customers from around the world who keep in touch with us, buy our merchandise or just send photos of their project that they got inspired to by staying at the overstay. They stayed here weeks, month...

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Let me start by saying I run a hostel and I wish I could steal the Overstay staff for my own hostel. They know Bangkok in and out and can show you the hidden gems of the city you wouldn't see normally. Sometimes the staff will even go out and explore with you! The owner is hilarious and helped me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vittle2482
Reviewed 5 September 2016

First off, if you stay here you will feel WELCOMED, you will feel SAFE, you will make FRIENDS and you will feel FREE. This owners of this establishment are downright the nicest and opened minded people I have met in Asia. Here is a list of things you would like to know before you go. 1. Kitchen to Cook. 2....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Felix R
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 25 August 2016

"...just be a decent human being". And with a place like this it can be a toss up, but the owners know how to cool things down and keep it steady. Spent a week here, when I thought it would only be a couple days - truly a place to overstay. A few friends and I cooked a huge meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarah w
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I spend like a week in this amazing place, it was full of art and diferent kind of people that I enjoyed to meet. Is not the place that you should go looking for tourism experience like comfortable and stuff, but is a magic place full of culture knowledge and respectfull people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albert F

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
MonkeyNap hostel
#172 of 998 in Bangkok
11 reviews
Bluefin Guesthouse
#102 of 582 in Bangkok
26 reviews
Sukhumvit
VX The Fifty Hostel
VX The Fifty Hostel
#124 of 998 in Bangkok
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Fun Wan Bangkok
Fun Wan Bangkok
#179 of 998 in Bangkok
27 reviews
Silom
Old Town Hostel
Old Town Hostel
#31 of 998 in Bangkok
170 reviews
Silom
New Road Guest House
New Road Guest House
#66 of 582 in Bangkok
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come Overstay with us in our six story converted shophouse, former brothel and now Bangkok Guesthouse, Art Space and live music venue located on the corner of Charan Sanit Wong 40 - just a short distance from Bangkok's famous backpacking precinct Khao San Road. Crash at our place either short term or long term with backpackers accommodation ranging from dorm rooms with air conditioning for budget conscious backpackers, guesthouse with private fan and artist rooms. Come jam in our ground floor bar, hosting decades of music spanning across Reggae, Jazz, Funk, Jungle & more. We regularly invite musicians who wish to showcase their talents during our weekly jam sessions. Local and international resident DJs spin at our bi monthly club nights, while Bangkok's best underground and indie bands take centre stage at our monthly live music nights. Hungry? Come hang with our resident cooks in our kitchen and join in while we cook amazing vegetarian feasts from around the world, or relax by the bar with a beer and take out from our local Thai, Indian & Italian restaurants. Our culinary delights have included Brazilian Mucacas, Spanish salsa nights, humming to the taste of Israeli Hummus, slicing and dicing China.... The list goes on... Our walls are covered in street art from Thai and expat or travelling Farang (Thai for Foreigner) artists such as Matt Diamond Expressive, Mista Bows, Do Mung Tam, TMC, Alex Face, Yam, Sweden Kevin, Yu Sing and is constantly evolving making it a beautiful mix of your local pub and the silver factory of Andy Warhol. Its time to Overstay... ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Overstay

Address: Charan Sanit Wong Rd Soi 40 | Pinklao, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Price Range: $13 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Overstay 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Overstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Overstay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only shared dorms have AirCon”
 of 5 bubbles felixr519, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter, choose the dorm or the top floor”
 of 5 bubbles benmV5657IK, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Le dortoir est équipé de la clim!”
 of 5 bubbles lizonj, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Do your self a favor, get a private room.”
 of 5 bubbles 1blakem, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The higher floor the better”
 of 5 bubbles 8fannyj, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay